Reuters Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Life Balance
Senior Executive Assistant/Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 1, 2015
Excellent creative financial news organization, worked in various groups and learned a lot about the company.good manager, was an expert in his field and highly regarded. Was a nice place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and strong culture
Editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 30, 2014
I recommend Thomson Reuters as a good employer where career opportunities abound, the culture is positive and the pay/benefits are quite attractive. As a truly global company, it is an attractive option for truly talented employees seeking experiences in different areas and countries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work environment
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MI. U.S.AOctober 21, 2014
The management staff at Thomson is one to remember. They were by far the most professional team I had the pleasure of working with and learn from.

While at Thomson I was able to shine quite rapidly. I developed a quite a reputation for producing rapid results with the most challenging cold calling lists. Other managers requested that I share my technique with new hires from time to time.

As a result I was hand picked to be 1 of 5 employees chosen for the accelerated track from a sales floor or 80 Account representative
Pros
took advantage of the basketball court regularly during lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reuters was the world's leading wire service & one of the world's leading electronic news services for many years. Product declined after acquisition.
writer/editor (Former Employee) –  Washington DCApril 27, 2014
The day was all day, all night & overnight. A 24/7 shop.

Learning was constant and across all disciplines, from sports and entertainment to economics, diplomacy, politics, government, health and science, personal finance and lifestyle.

Management quality and insight into the news business has declined in recent years after acquisition in 2010 by Thomson Corp.

My co-workers were world-class journalists, but many left the company since the acquisition, with a grand exodus in 2013 when many accepted a buy-out package. I was among them.

The overnight shift, where we were expected to manage and coordinate coverage of the entire western hemisphere, often alone, was the hardest part.

The most enjoyable aspect of the job was chasing major breaking news as part of a world-class and widely diverse team of professionals.
Pros
constant and continuing higher education
Cons
sometimes incompetent management; long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial, Commodity and world news feeds. basic investment tools.
Marketing (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYApril 18, 2014
Reuters was a very different company 35 years ago. I am sure it is very different now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company
Director - Strategic Planning and Market Research (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTApril 3, 2014
Solid company that has refocued itself and merged with Thomson to form a strong entity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for 25 years
Client Administration Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2014
I was happy to work at Reuters for all those 25 years I dedicated myself to this wonderful company. Unfortunately, due to economic downturns I was laid off in December 2011. I miss working there mostly the staff I used to deal with and the environment which led me to work flexible while still able to look for other opportunities in and outside of the company.
Pros
great benefits, 401k, medical, vacations, personal/sick days
Cons
difficult to move up the ladder
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
CMO Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 3, 2013
Perfect job location, the heart of Times Square. Learn a lot about prospectuses. Manager and coworkers are very relax and enjoyable environment.
Pros
relaxing
Cons
tourist attraction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality of work
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTAugust 17, 2013
It started with Writng test plans and executed them on test bed. Then it would be followed by Programming of real time fixed income data warehouse project "Benchmark Treasury Yield Systems" in C. Used rational rose to re-engineer and learn BTYS system and recode it C++
Pros
large organization
Cons
was 2-3 hours away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work in
Senior Programmer, Programmer (Former Employee) –  Hauppauge, NYMay 10, 2013
This was my first job right out of college and I learned a great deal about using the technologies I was learning about in school. They encouraged learning and new ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reuters - not Thomson Reuters - was a great place to work
Vice President, Americas Head of Technology (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 23, 2013
Reuters no longer exists. Thomson Reuters is a different place that is still struggling to fully merge the two organizations from 2008.
Pros
a true news and information services organization that brings unbiased coverage to the world
Cons
the merge with thomson, a completely different cultural organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be
SOFTWARE ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAJanuary 28, 2013
Good colleagues. Smart and ambitious team. It was a fun and exciting place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job of setting up all of th global client visits.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMay 15, 2012
This was a great company to work for. I interacted with Executive Assistants globally.
Pros
met a lot of diverse people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Reuters reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0