Find companies:
Rex Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Rex Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work in Raleigh!
Surgical Technician (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 28, 2014
An excellent place to work with an amazing team of professionals who always provide the utmost compassion and care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second shift was the best shift
Document Imaging Technician (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: second shift people, knowing what the goals were and achieving them
Cons: not always having a team lead and having too many interruptions
I would come in knowing what my job duties were. I would get the charts to prepare for prepping, scanning and indexing. As the time wore on, all of second shift would talk and work. This was the best time because we were able to work as a team, solve problems and support each other whether professionally or personally. It also helped that it was a comedic – more... relief to a long evening/night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Coordinator (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 1, 2014
Rex is nothing special, it's probably your average community hospital. It was an acceptable job for me because it was close to home and made childcare/family life easier, but not someplace to stay if you have degrees and are looking for a forward moving career. UNC is taking over more high level decisions, which is probably a good thing. UNC and Duke – more... are better choices for career minded healthcare professionals looking to work in a hospital setting, especially for non-clinical positions.
Stay away from the Cancer Center, it's a disorganized mess with inexperienced, non-functional management. You're not going to find the best and the brightest here. I would probably also avoid it as a patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing staff has us dues with back stabbing
RN (Former Employee), Maternal Child UnitJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great cafeteria open for night shift...nice facility
Cons: under staffed. .nurse patient ratios to high
Facility very nice most of nursing staff on mat/child very nice however, to many patients assigned to one nurse with very high expectations of providing excellent pt care..unrealistic at times..staff also had bad habit of undermining coworkers by constantly running to Manager s over every little concern versus handling situation s themselves. .very – more... juvenile.!...Did not even come close to following AWHONN..guidelines for nurse patient ratios. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work that values employees opinions and gives opportunity for advancement.
Staff RN (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 24, 2014
Cons: constantly busy so much so that lunch and breaks are not guarenteed, caring for hospital patients can be very stressful, night shift is difficult and interferes with family life
Rex is a positive place to work. Teamwork is a standard that is expected and done. Managment values the opinions of employees and there is a large drive from management and staff to make Rex a better hospital. Benefits are competitive to other major hospitals. As in any nursing job helping patients is a joy and made easier at Rex due to the positive – more... and progessive envionment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work.
Lab Assistant/Microbiology (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCMarch 18, 2014
Productive and enjoyable workplace. I looked forward to seeing my co-workers and learning new things daily. I learned how to work on a team made up of many different personalities. Management could use more training in the area of communication and management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and productive
Central Supply Technician (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCMarch 3, 2014
Pros: stabile
Cons: pay not enough for type of work
Hospital environment that is very busy all the time. Nice place to work at but pay is not enough for the amount of work that is done everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Practice Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 16, 2014
Large company, but very family friendly! Couldn't ask for better!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is an adventure
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Raleigh, North CarolinaFebruary 16, 2014
Everyday walking into work is a new adventure considering the patient population varies so much. My co-workers are hardworking and team players and are always there when you need them. The hardest part of the job is some of the realizing not everyone is going to go home, the most enjoyable part about the job is helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best hospital to work in the triad
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 5, 2013
Pros: yearly bonus; good salary; good health benefits
I am so impressed with the level of customer service here at Rex. The nurses truly care about their patient's and you will receive excellent service. There really is an atmosphere of caring and compassion. I work with some of the best technician's I have ever seen. (I've been in the field for 20 years and worked at 4 other pharmacies) I would definitely – more... recommend Rex to anyone looking for a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. Love flexibility of my job hours. i usually work very early in the a.m.
Medical Language Specialist/Transcriptionist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCNovember 6, 2013
Pros: yearly bonuses based on previous year's revenue.
Cons: job availability becoming limited due to epic implementation
I have worked here for 6+ years. My job as transcriptionist will be no longer needed when EPIC is implemented in early 2014. Great place with great benefits and a place that cares about its employees. This hospital has won many rewards mostly driven by employee and patient satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 20, 2013
Pros: food discount
Must be on time and be ready to provide excellent patient care!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
employee (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits, great pay
Rex was a great hospital for employees and for patients. Management cared about the employees and benefits were great considering the current economic situation. Hardest part of job was the commute in Raleigh traffic which really has nothing to do with the actual job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-scheduling with no shift rotation.Excellent benefits.
Staff RN (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 10, 2013
Pros: self-scheduling, modified full-time position, weekend differential is excellent.
Cons: required on calls
Very family-centered unit.Close relationship with physicians,manager,educators.Unit is relatively small and has advanced level of care recently to Level 4 NICU.
All RN.staff are cross-trained to a secondary area that provides similar care for patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it is a great environment and also people friendly,
Perinatal Technician (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 6, 2013
Pros: a big happy family is how they treat you. they really care about their workers.
Cons: i would have to say the twelve hours overnight was a con.
I love Rex as a company. I worked 7pm- 7am. I would have loved to work day shift, but with shift differential you noticed a big difference in your check. All my patients loved me and at this very point I am eligible for rehire. A typical day at work requires you being there for all your patient needs. The most enjoyable part was putting a smile on my – more... patient's face. I think the hardest thing was seeing some of my patient's trying to recover from surgery and a few that crossed over to meet our Creator. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Enjoyed the people
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Raliegh, NCJuly 23, 2013
Pros: being invovled with surgery
Cons: no cons
Dealing with doctors one on one. Learned something new every day. Management was great and new how to listen to employees. Co-workers were great. Loved everything about it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment, helpful co-workers, free classes
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCMay 4, 2013
Pros: free classes
Cons: i liked it all
Typical day was making bed, tending to patient needs, setting up IV bags for nurses to administer, apply heart monitors, urine cauterization patients, patient aftercare from heart cauterization, updated patient charts and charted heart monitors.
I learned how do more than just make beds and take temperatures.
Co-workers were mixed personalities; some – more... good to work with others were difficult to work with but I chocked it up to the work we did.
The hardest part was lifting patients.
The most enjoyable part of the job what learning and the free extra classes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
CNA (Former Employee), Raleigh,NCMay 3, 2013
had a great time working here the benefits were great wish I could go back to Rex
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE PLACE TO WORK.
MEDICAL TECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee), RALEIGH, NCApril 20, 2013
VERY REPUTABLE HOSPITAL. WAS PROUD TO SAY I WORKED THERE. TOO MANY CHANGES IN MANAGEMENT SINCE BEING THERE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place t work
Medical Record Specialist (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCMarch 17, 2013
Great benefits and coworkers are great people, enjoyed working with patients.

About Rex Healthcare

Rex is a king of health care in Raleigh. Part of the  UNC HealthCare System, Rex Healthcare is a not-for-profit health care provider – Read more