RICHARDSON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXApril 5, 2016
I really enjoyed working at Otto MS & miss working there. It is a beautiful school & has a great admin team. I miss the sped team I work with too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Elementary Teacher (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXMarch 21, 2016
Richardson ISD is an excellent place to educate a child. Any and all resources are available to teachers. Work hours are extremely long with all the daily duties and added responsibilities.
Pros
Summers off
Cons
Extremely long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer projects were the most productive time of the year.
AREA SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXMarch 9, 2016
The most important job I had, learned to supervise, directed a diverse group that enriched my life, the hands on training was fantastic.
Pros
Training second to none.
Cons
Small room to implement new strategies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Richardson ISD
Employee (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXFebruary 22, 2016
A typical day at work is filled with fun and great energy. I have enjoyed being an employee at the district. It is a great place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A passionate district with communication issues.
Curriculum Writer (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXJanuary 5, 2016
RISD is a great district to work for. They have grow and with that growth they have experienced a breakdown in communication between district policy makers and classroom teachers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, service-oriented, energetic staff
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXOctober 30, 2015
I enjoy working with kids and encouraging them to have fun cultivating their love for learning and personal growth.


The hardest part of my job is deciding when it is most helpful to just let the students help themselves and when it is not.
Pros
Manageable hours, enjoyable group of people to work with
Cons
Relatively low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace that promoted career advancement.
Accounting assistant (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXOctober 7, 2015
A typical day at work for me began with sorting and distributing mail. I learned many keyboard shortcuts for Microsoft Excel and how to use the ERP software, a business management software. For me the most enjoyable part of the job was all the accounting techniques and software that I learned.
Pros
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work!
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXJuly 16, 2015
I recommend to anyone wanting to enter into the education field. The administration is very knowledgeable and caring. My co-workers are the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving Work
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXMay 30, 2015
A typical day at work is ever-changing. no day is the same as the last or the approaching day. I learned a lot of new ways and activities to enjoy with children. The management and co-workers are very helpfulwith new ideas and group activities. They are very supportive as well.The hardest part of the job is saying goodbye every evening and the most enjoyable is saying hello. The progression we all had as a group was very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXMay 14, 2015
A typical day was very detailed and certainly not much deviation. I learned to work with children that had a deficiency in learning. Teachers were trained to assist students with disabilities and as an Aide I learned to understand and help control behaviors that characterize students with learning disabilities. Loving these student is how you help them achieve certain skills and to see the fruit of your labor is rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary sucks!
Paraprofessional/Teacher's Aide (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXMay 9, 2015
Salary was paraprofessionals is pathetic. Position more for married people with a help mate at home not a single person. No compensation for using your own personal cell phone to conduct daily business for job.
Pros
Free lunch when you have students that are interning at a school cafeteria.
Cons
Pay sucks big time!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
PACE Site Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXMarch 20, 2015
This is a good place to start off in the job industry, especially for those still in school and for those interested in becoming a teacher.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.close family
Paraprofessional Educator (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXDecember 11, 2014
Great school to work at, I love the staff, so supportive.. I love the office staff, and the people I worked with... I worked there for 17 years, Had positive feedback every year, got along with everyone...

I worked with the kids on job boxes, living skills, social skills, work development, community outings, manners Hygiene, proper manners, managed behavior, attend classes with student, lead group activities, art projects, and other activities.. Made job boxes for the kids, cleaned and maintained a safe working environment.
Pros
staff, kids
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed organization with excellent teachers.
Aide1 SPED and Resource Department (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXOctober 4, 2014
Great work environment in which children learning, achievements and safety always comes first.
Pros
great support from administration towards all teachers needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXAugust 13, 2014
I love working at RISD. they have great consistency with their employees. the work environment is fun, both with co-workers and students.
Pros
great co-operative and supportive atmosphere
Cons
no work during the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful team of teachers
Teacher of English (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TexasJune 8, 2014
The group of teachers with whom I worked were wonderful and helpful. The community is very supportive of the teachers and students.
Pros
wonderful people who love the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's just okay, you must know someone in district
Teacher (Former Employee) –  RichardsonMay 12, 2014
Hard work does not pay off, you must know someone to advance. If you're just looking for a job its okay.
Pros
low salaries
Cons
good students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
CFY SLP (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXApril 22, 2014
Great district to work for, enjoyed working with students and co-workers are very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Instructional Assistant (PACE) (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXMarch 17, 2014
You assist the kids with their homework, organize lesson plans, and provide games for physical education. Overall this was the best job I've ever had
Pros
3 1/2 work day
Cons
don't get healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
risd is a very well planned and educated place to work
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  dallas texasFebruary 17, 2014
working at RISD is very fun and educated and the environment is
very safe and secure the co-workers are very friendly and advanced in their teaching skills
Pros
the staff teaches arts and crafts and cooking classes
Cons
a very safe and friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture