Richland School District One Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but also rewarding work place
French and ESOL teacher (Current Employee) –  Columbia , SCApril 6, 2014
Work hours from 8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. Diverse student population and co-workers. Adequate time allowed for planning and lunch. Smart Boards and other equipment provided for most classrooms. Competitive salaries and professional development opportunities. The hardest part of the job: some discipline issues. The most enjoyable part of the job: all conditions created for a good study environment.
Pros
instructional materials; good health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job site good people faculty is a little un professional
custodian (Former Employee) –  ee taylorOctober 21, 2014
a typical day at work i clocked in i started my day i would interact wit the kids and teachers until the bell ring. i started my work i dumped trash and swept floors. i mopped and cleaned walls. after i went throughout all my rooms i would go and dust mop my hallway then damp mop it. management was really bad tho they were not about teamwork. i got along with all my coworkers i was a very liked person amongst my co workers. the hardest part about my job was cleaning up the real bad messes. the mos enjoyable part was seeing all the smiling faces
Pros
holidays off
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience!!
School Social Worker Intern (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 20, 2015
I love interning at Heyward Gibbes Middle School. I learned so much about myself. The staff was so supportive and encouraging. The hardest part of the job was leaving. The most enjoyable part was working with the students.
Pros
supportive co-workers, student populations
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Bus Driver/Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Columbia ScApril 26, 2015
Enjoy job Need more money Typical co-workers Steady paced environment Supervisors understanding Very rewarding trips friendly teachers and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with great team members.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 2, 2012
Work environment is nice especially being around children helping them develope their full potential. Typical day of working with students following the lesson plan set fourth by teacher for that dday or week.
Pros
work hours were very good off on weekends.
Cons
not enough full time positions availiable or room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
Auto Collision Teacher (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 10, 2012
Education is a trying career, staying focused is most important. Not taking students bad days personal, and being able to offer solutions for situations that seem beyond a students understanding. Giving learners a fair chance to succeed in life with new learned skills.
Pros
making tax paying citizens
Cons
gangs, these groups must cease altogether
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Parent Community/Involvement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 18, 2015
Working for this school district is rewarding.I havelearned alot since working here. The school is great and the people too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCApril 6, 2014
On Call

Responsible for students in classrooms, halls, cafeterias, and school yard, execute administration protocol and rules guiding students, educate and monitor students in the use and care of equipment and materials to prevent injuries and damage, establish rules for behavior for maintaining order among students, advise through lectures, discussions, and demonstrations in one or more subjects, such as English, mathematics, or social studies.

Didn't have a co worker

Job wasn't hard at all

Most enjoyable part about my job was I was able to go to college and work at the same time because of the job hours.
Pros
set your own work time
Cons
substitute was close during the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Columbia, South CarolinaAugust 21, 2012
Class room management is the number one job of a substitute teacher. I enjoyed working the children daily. The staff at most schools were warm and welcoming. The hardest part of the job is it is not stable as substitutes teachers are on a as needed basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SC 29201August 28, 2012
Good location and Good School District for students and teachers.
Pros
location in columbia, sc
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast work place
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 2, 2013
Reviewed customer files, pull credit reports, work with late charges, help customer with extentions. Handle incoming and outgoing calls.
Learn about Leasing, worked with good group of co-workers, enjoyed helping the customer. Had to work some late nights.
Pros
lots of breakfast, lucheon and dinners, lots of company cook-outs
Cons
work was good, no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good group of co workers
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJune 19, 2014
good place to work. I enjoyed working with special need students but I need more structured hours and pay.
Pros
get to travel all around columbia to many fun events.
Cons
pay logs and system outdated
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A loving a day at richland school district one
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJune 27, 2014
I drive students to and from school safely. While interacting with the parents and teachers as well
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting to teach and watch children learn.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCApril 22, 2014
School days were not typical because each day was a learning experience as-well-as a teaching experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational experience
English Teacher (Former Employee) –  Hopkins, SCMarch 17, 2014
The kids were fun and this was challenging work, but the environment is not conducive to having students learn from quality teachers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 15, 2013
I really enjoyed the teaching experience and working with young people. Everyday was fulfilling and enjoyable.
Pros
teaching young minds
Cons
not being a full time teacher
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to work
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hyatt Park ElementaryNovember 16, 2011
I enjoyed every aspect of my job that I held with Richland School District One
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture