Richmond American Homes Employee Reviews

Showing all 67 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment
Land Acquisition Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDAugust 18, 2017
The best job I ever had. Very productive, professional environment.
Great compensation and incentives.
Good personnel and work environment.
Good balance of work and family environment.
Pros
Good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment in the Corporate office
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 10, 2017
Selling the homes was the easy part, the trouble is in the inner office and construction. No one listens to the salesperson or the customer, they build the home the way they want, not the way the customer bought it. I had over 28 years of New Home Sales in Jacksonville Florida and this is one of the worst companies I have ever worked for.
Pros
The homes have a great look
Cons
They run this office like a drive thru car wash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 10, 2017
Management makes it almost impossible to sell, they blame the sales people for everything including their own short comings. The homes are stripped down and everything is extra. All of the top sales people quit, need I say more.
Pros
None
Cons
The competition will always beat Richmond
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Sales Training
New Home Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 2, 2017
Typical day at Model Homes in community. Learned about the closing truths and over coming objections . Good management supportive
Sometimes construction delays cost customer service scores to drop but overall a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, poor executive management
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 28, 2017
I am not very happy with the way the subcontractors were treated by this company. They would get cheated out of payment for services. I left because of the unfairness I saw in how they would get away with this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I made great money at Richmond but it was a cut throat environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 13, 2017
Typical on-site sales agent job. Issue was if a buyer bought from you they could buy from another Richmond community which seemed to all be competing with each other which was a terrible work environment. Another issue was how many different sales managers and divisions presidents came and went. It felt like the division I was in was a constantly sinking ship. I had some amazing months selling at Richmond and some horrible. Overall, the best part of the experience was getting my real estate license and meeting a great sales person who helped me learn and grow. Worst part about the experience was arguing over how much commissions I was supposed to get paid each pay period!
Pros
Good commissions if you got them.
Cons
Had very strong disagreements with upper management over many issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and enjoyed being part of a great team
Licensed New Home Consultant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 18, 2017
Self-Generation & Digital Marketing was a must
New Construction Sales
Educate potential buyers about product during Presentations
Negotiations
Closing
Weekly Follow-up
Team phone calls every morning to boost ourselves up
Making sure the Model Home was clean & staged

The most enjoyable part of this job was the daily interactions with potential buyers, giving tours and educating them on Richmond American Homes
Pros
Great Sales Team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Community Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Reston, VA 20191April 17, 2017
Great company to work for , I would go back to work their again. Co-workers worked as a team. The hours worked with my family life. The pay was good the benefits worked well.
Pros
Love working with people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Management (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 11, 2017
I would not for for them. New management has caused the company culture to diminish. Looking from a job advancement point of view, managment will do everything they can to keep you in one spot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Norco, CAMarch 28, 2017
Good place to work. Management was fair and equitable. Flexible schedules were authorized if needed. The people were great to work with. Awesome construction staff to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor example of Management. Very inept
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 16, 2017
The worst Builder in Las Vegas period. Unprofessional and unskilled managers. They have never been successful Real Estate Agents so they don't know how to help you with anything. They play favorites and it is a toxic work environment. Fear based management style. Hello help this company fast. They build a nice house but wait a train wreck of a division.....
Pros
Buyers, Clients
Cons
Manamagent inexperienced. Poor leadership. Its like high school. Lacks professional ethical conduct.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized, lack of communication, management avoids upset customers,
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 7, 2017
too much to write, do not work here. If you don't have 2 sales a month they will fire you. Management unresponsive, terrible customer reviews.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Innovative place to work. Overtime was expected as well as volunteering for team building
Regional Trade Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 9, 2017
The most enjoyable part of working at Richmond American Homes in the many positions I held, is that it was always changing.

I learned many skills from wonderful mentors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with great pay/benefits!
Sales Associate in Training (Former Employee) –  Thornton, CODecember 6, 2016
The people who work here are so helpful and willing to help with the newcomers. I learned how to be a great salesman, and how to operate the CRM and E1 computer systems, in which training really helps teach this. Training is very extensive, but well worth it once on the sales floor. The hardest part of this job would be the computer systems.
Pros
Training is very helpful, and the pay is great!
Cons
Have to work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Director of Land Acquisition (Former Employee) –  Orange Park, FLNovember 20, 2016
This is a good company, but division leadership changed from interview to my on-boarding. Land acquisitions and development were put on hold...would have liked to be acquiring and developing for the construction team!
Pros
Good company, great reputation
Cons
Got caught between division leadership which was unfortunate!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company you can grow with
VP National Merchandising - Operations (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 3, 2016
It was a great company to work for and I learned a great deal with them. They were good about continuing education through classes offered through the company. Great benefits and made you feel appreciated.
Pros
Great company overall to work for
Cons
When business is slowing major layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tons of Freedom, Just learn to harness the freedome.
Warranty Technician (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 25, 2016
No office to check into everyday,
Make sure you are very proficient on writing things down.
nights and weekends are not out of the questions, I work them often.
Lots of home owner and vendors to keep track of.
Driving around at least 300-400 miles a week.
Lots of handyman work to deal with.
Overall good job,
Structure for warranty is very out of hand. not very organized.
Turnover rate is quite high .
Pros
Huge bonuses
Cons
Lots of driving, and pleasing of unhappy home owners.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment for fostering creativity while maintaining professionalism
Design Consultant (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CASeptember 11, 2016
I LOVE my job, but my husbands work is forcing this relocation. RAH is a wonderful place to work for all departments. It truly fosters a team-building environment and the entire division's ability to band together during challenging times is testament to our achievements in AVID.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company and Fun work environment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  MDJuly 24, 2016
Professional and great company to work with! Great employees, Outstanding managers, Awesome culture! Everyone likes helping each other, Very competitive and results driven company, which is to be expected. Best home design, complete with in house designer and in house architect, home care specialist and a new home consultant specialist!
Pros
Fun work environment
Cons
Work on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Recommended
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 24, 2016
This is a great company to work for. Like any opportunity, make the best of it and give it 100% and you will receive the benefits.
Pros
Excellent Pay and Amazing Upper Management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Richmond American Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

71%
21 ratings
Add your rating

Richmond American Homes Reviews by Location