Find companies:
Ricky's NYC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Ricky's NYC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 6, 2014
Loved it! i was friends with all my co-workers. Management is really understanding and helpful. I learned alot about working in a fast pace environment. the hardest part of the job was working through halloween
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable Revenues, high turnover rate,
Senior Accountant (Current Employee), Bellport, NYJuly 2, 2014
Cons: everyone was micromanaged because management didn't trust anyone to do their job
The hardest part of this job was management not understanding what the real world is like working with budgets and trying to stick to those budgets. The people who ran the company only worked at this establishment with no other real life experiences. The credit cards were used without thinking of the cash implications such as rent, payroll, sales tax – more... and more. Sales tax should always be covered and not a problem if you collect the appropriate sales tax rate at your stores and put it aside in order to pay it every month but that was not done either. Besides myself there were no accountants on staff there for 30 stores which made it very difficult to look at each store individually by revenue and expenses. Which stores should be closed down and what stores needed renovation. During Halloween there were 17 stores that opened up as pop up stores for only 3 weeks however they put in 3 to 4 times the amount of rent into improvements on a store that was only open for 3 weeks. The executives did not trust anyone so they micromanaged everyone across the board. There are no segregation of duties which caused lack of internal controls and increased productivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK work environment but no room to move up.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYJune 25, 2014
Nice place to work in but extremely under paid and no real manager is on staff. Due to that fact there is poor ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place that is the epitome of New York City culture.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 30, 2014
Pros: culture, great people
Cons: ultimately unproductive, unprogressive
Ricky's has a fun work environment that is widely based in customer service. Product knowledge is a must for interacting between customers and from store to store. Ricky's will keep you forever young physically and mentally with its up beat music and top notch beauty products. Ultimately Ricky's has its ups and it's downs like any company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ricky's
Store Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 13, 2014
Pros: fun atomosphere, great people, awesome customers
Cons: short breaks, little money
This company is best for people actively involved in the beauty industry. You get to experiment and experience brand new products hitting the shelves, as well as network with professionals in the beauty field. A very good company to grow in, but that does stop at a point.

Overall a good company, always something to do. you are either helping customers, – more... stocking shelves or remerchandising sections. some stores can be super busy and always packed with customers, other stores can have a lot of downtime. Those are the most challenging stores, because; you need to constantly look for a different approach to get new customers in and exceed sales goals. the busier stores are actually a little bit more laid back. the customers in the busier stores know what they want and why they want it, not much selling is necessary.

I would recommend to family or friends. The pay isn't great, but pay is pay and you can always ask for a raise. If you work hard they will proceed with the raise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at rickys
Assistant manager/ Beauty specialist (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 4, 2014
It is a good place to work if you are in school, they are very flexible with your schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 25, 2014
I only worked at Ricky's for a few weeks for the Halloween season, but I had a great time working there. I learned a lot about store and business management, including how much work it takes to keep the store looking as flawless as possible. The managers were friendly and understanding, and they had a task for you almost every minute of your shift. – more... The hardest part came around Halloween time when most of the customers would come to shop for costumes. Our shifts would go well past the usual closing time, but it was still an enjoyable experience despite that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont bother
assistant manager/store manager (Former Employee), new york,nyFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: opportunity for advancement.
Cons: everything else u can possibly think of.
EXTREMELY underpaid. All jobs have politics but this one is ridiculous. District managers on a witch hunt to fire people without cause. Hiring new store managers without a full thorough training. There is NO PROCEDURE so therefore there is overall inconsistency with rules and who to contact for help. Favoritism is also a big issue. If they dont like – more... you they will use any excuse to fire you. The people at the corporate office have the most ridiculous attitude problems and send out rude emails all the time, never understanding the difficulties of working at the store. Management needs to be prepared to have no social life and on your days off be flooded with emails. I love the vision of this company but things need to be more organized and they need to pay their staff more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for college student
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLFebruary 16, 2014
always on call. unorganized. management is awesome. long days on your feet. short breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Assistant Manager and Beauty Specialist (Former Employee), Astoria, NYFebruary 14, 2014
This company was awesome at making you comfortable. They made sure my location was convenient. I moved up very quickly in this company but eventually had to leave. The pay was VERY unreasonable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 12, 2014
I help customers find the costume/ products they were looking for. I handle minor inventory as well as operate the cash register. It was fun to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked and underpaid/underappreciated
Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: free samples, 40% discount
Cons: lots of busy work, low pay, under appreciation, incompetent corporate office
Ricky's sells itself as a fun, easy going place, but once you actually start working there, you find this to be completely untrue. First of all, if you enter the company as a temp during the Halloween season, prepare to be reminded how dispensable you are on almost a daily basis. Please know, they will not hesitate to fire you. You will be at the mercy – more... of not only managers, but associates who are just happy to have some one to push around for a change.
Once you survive the Halloween season, congratulations, you are now an associate, still being paid minimum wage. As an associate, prepare to do all kinds of tasks and duties that were clearly not included in your job description.
One positive of working at Ricky's is that you can be promoted to a manager fairly quickly, but for the low pay and under appreciation, the amount of work being thrown at you is simply not worth it. Amd when i say low pay, a typical assistant manager will make $9/h. Keep in mind, the minimum wage is now $8/h. Generally speaking, most store managers are fairly laid back, unless under pressure to make goal, which is something you will also feel the pressure of. Corporate is a joke, filled with a bunch of spoiled brats who generally have no idea what they are doing, but find ways to blame any and every one on the store level. Aside from that, enjoy all the gossip that flows down from corporate.
In my humble opinion, if you are desperate for work, it's a decent short term gig, but in the long run, the 40% discount and free samples are just not worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay workplace
RTV Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: hours (weekends & holidays off)
Cons: short breaks, inflexible hours, and compensation
I started off as a warehouse team member. My daily responsibilities included picking orders for other stores as well as customer online orders. I would also package these orders both for the stores and customers. I later started working on the online customer orders which involved picking, packing, and shipping the orders. I then became the RTV Coordinator. – more... I would receive customer returns from the store locations, file them using Microsoft Excel, and contact the vendors. The goal with contacting the vendors was to receive credit for the defective/ damaged merchandise. I would then send the merchandise back to those vendors. I would also help the manager and assistant managers with files involving the warehouse, such as store orders and new merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 8, 2014
Working at Ricky's NYC was an interesting experience. We never knew who was going to walk into our door considering the location we were in. Learned that are all types of walks of life at Ricky's. Learned to be open minded as well. As part of management, we made sure everyone was ready for the day and for everyone to be optimistic especially on slow – more... days. Most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know our very unique customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Rickys NYC
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 16, 2013
Pros: they employee's were fun and exciting.
Cons: did not receive paycheck on time the entire season.
This was a temp store. Management did not recognize employee's as individivals but as workers who are expendable at anytime time. But despite it my co workers were what kept us going back each and every day. They made the job fun and not about numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and Friendly work environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: halloween staff
Cons: costumers
Helping with Costumers
Learning Products
Able to work with staff well
Friendly and eager to work
Difficult costumers about the return policy
Fun work environment with staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if you're desperate.
❸ Beauty Specialist (Former Employee), New YorkAugust 29, 2013
Pros: intresting people
Cons: pretty much everything
I had a moderately good experience with Ricky's, I started with the company and got promoted and received a raise within 6 months of working there. However, Ricky's is just trying to make a buck- they'll cheat, lie- and frankly I wouldn't be surprised if they resorted to stealing. Their membership program is a JOKE and does NOTHING AT ALL- yet any manager – more... is beyond brainwashed to force their employees to sign people up, and of course you'll get customers that will ask you what its for or better yet will PICK UP on the fact that it does nothing at all and then will get annoyed. You'll ALWAYS have "store projects", shelf moves, merchandising, re-merchandising, moving things back, getting rid of shelves, cleaning shelves, merchandising again- it's all busy work, they just want you to look like your always busy and it ALWAYS ends up interfering with your interaction with customers. I could go on and on, but IN A NUTSHELL: It's fun, its relatively laid back- but you will work out of your mind and at minimum wage- it's barely worth it to work there. District managers spit out meaningless tasks and moves, favoritism is a huge problem among stores and managers, and after a while- I walked out the door an hour into my shift- after a whole YEAR of being there- because I realized its just. not. worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Great TEMPORARY Job
BEAUTY SPECIALIST/ CASHIER (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 26, 2013
Pros: brand trainings
Cons: no benefits
The only way to survive at Ricky's is to love what you do, plain and simple. The company itself has many flaws.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest opinion
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 18, 2013
Pros: you have the possibility to move up in the company
Cons: false promises, fires people for unrealistic reasons.
It depends on which store you get placed in and who your district manager is. There were a lot of people who were out to fire individuals for personal gain and elevation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun and educational job
Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 16, 2013
Pros: really good discounts as well as classes.
I learn a lot about the beauty industry and how to use products as well as appliance.