Rio Grande Regional Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Hospital
NICU NURSE (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJune 19, 2017
This hospital is very small so you get to know all of the employees from the different departments by name. We also learn to work in close quarters which makes us very familial.
Pros
very welcoming
Cons
often short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Registrar (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJune 5, 2017
Good training was provided by the company and was given great benefits. worked long shifts but learned a lot from area that i worked in. Loved the environment and had different cultures to learn from as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Seasonal/ PRN Nurse (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 28, 2017
Fast paced environment, with up to 5 to 7 patients per nurse. Great resources available, and great teamwork. Diverse culture with staff and patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Manager of Food and Nutrition Services (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXApril 7, 2017
Productive fast paced work environment
Professional Development
Mngt.-Empowering Leadership
Culture - Focused /Friendly
Enjoyable Working Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rio grande valley
Texas PRN Staffing Agency Staff (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 4, 2017
rgrh is also a great place to work.awesome employees.a very busy upbeat environment.its on the Texas border and due to this it has its own unique challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great staff so so management
Registrar (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXFebruary 17, 2017
Staff is decent
Short staffed everyone is over worked no chance for advancing
Get written up for calling off for emergencies
30 min break in a 12 hr shift
Pros
Good differentials
Cons
30 min breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Rio
Nurses Assistant/ Trasporter (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXSeptember 14, 2016
Everyday is different I have learned to stay cool respect to all
enough time to do it all Love my job, is always a challenge any I enjoy it all of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXAugust 30, 2016
Working for HCA company was a good choice to make, working in the Lab you learn several things that are not in your job description. Supervisors are very understanding and always there to work with you in any way.
Pros
Good pay and good benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never enough nursing staff
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Rio Grande Regional HospitalJuly 25, 2016
Very concerning unit to work in. Patient safety was not the focus. Focus on documentation and reinbursement requirements. Not good hospital to work in.
Pros
Small hospital
Cons
High staff turnover of nurses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, amazing staff.
LVN (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXJuly 19, 2016
Everyone I work with is patient, friendly, and eager to teach. It's a positive environment where patients really come first. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about Rio Grande Regional Hospital?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 18, 2016
great place to work at, interesting and very upbeat. one learns how to deal with complicated patients and visitors in the proper manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing coworker which whom have taught me a lot
PICU UNIT CLERK (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 15, 2016
I've learned many things from the nursing perspective. A typical day at work, consists of restocking empty supplies, printing forms for patient reports, answering phone calls, filing xray and lab reports. I also help to set up patient's rooms for any incoming admissions, as well as making their charts and printing the necessary paper work.
Pros
great benefits, great coworkers, understandable manager, great hours
Cons
getting cancelled from work, or floating to different departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe place for patients and employees.
Unit Clerk (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXApril 20, 2016
Working at Rio Grande Regional has given me an oportunity to grow in many ways. It has made me a confident persona as well as it has given me the change to meet incredible Doctors, co-workers and learn a lot about labor and delivery.
Pros
It is a safe place to work.
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Learning Experience
Phlebotomist II (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXFebruary 5, 2016
Very productive place to work. Excellent quality of care. Excellent teamwork. Excellent level III Trauma team. Hardest part of my job was leaving to relocate to California
Pros
Excellent
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintaining errands
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXDecember 9, 2015
Simple, but at times, often a fast-paced work ethic. Co-volunteers are friendly, as well as the faculty. Learned many methods of interaction with patients, visitors, co-volunteers, physicians, nurses, other health care providers, faculty and management. The hardest part of the job is maintaining errands alone.
Pros
Free lunches.
Cons
Understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
RN (Current Employee) –  Mcallen, TXOctober 19, 2015
Great physicians and coworkers. Need to hire more staff to adjust for more admissions coming from freestanding facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am just going to say that I found a family in that Hospital
Respiratory Therapist Supervisor (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXOctober 9, 2015
Always a challenge, new day new adventure. A hospital with a lot of technology available to help people, excellent trainings for every area, and a good coordination among departments to help patient well being.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Poor human resorces skills to investigate the true and solve staff conflicts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Phlebotomist Technician (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXAugust 26, 2015
Nice place to work at. Clean environment. Friendly staff. Coworkers always had positive attitude and made work fun. Supervisors were supportive of new ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, excellent team
Physical therapist (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXJune 22, 2015
The schedule varies, some days are very productive and others are not because it is acute care. The other therapist are very knowledgable and easy to get along with.
Pros
PRN pay rate
Cons
Unpredictable work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 29, 2015
It was good to work for this hospital. I worked nights, I enjoyed working with co-workers that made my job easier and fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rio Grande Regional Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

Rio Grande Regional Hospital Reviews by Location