Rio Grande Regional Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 18, 2016
great place to work at, interesting and very upbeat. one learns how to deal with complicated patients and visitors in the proper manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing coworker which whom have taught me a lot
PICU UNIT CLERK (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 15, 2016
I've learned many things from the nursing perspective. A typical day at work, consists of restocking empty supplies, printing forms for patient reports, answering phone calls, filing xray and lab reports. I also help to set up patient's rooms for any incoming admissions, as well as making their charts and printing the necessary paper work.
Pros
great benefits, great coworkers, understandable manager, great hours
Cons
getting cancelled from work, or floating to different departments
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe place for patients and employees.
Unit Clerk (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXApril 20, 2016
Working at Rio Grande Regional has given me an oportunity to grow in many ways. It has made me a confident persona as well as it has given me the change to meet incredible Doctors, co-workers and learn a lot about labor and delivery.
Pros
It is a safe place to work.
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Learning Experience
Phlebotomist II (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXFebruary 5, 2016
Very productive place to work. Excellent quality of care. Excellent teamwork. Excellent level III Trauma team. Hardest part of my job was leaving to relocate to California
Pros
Excellent
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintaining errands
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXDecember 9, 2015
Simple, but at times, often a fast-paced work ethic. Co-volunteers are friendly, as well as the faculty. Learned many methods of interaction with patients, visitors, co-volunteers, physicians, nurses, other health care providers, faculty and management. The hardest part of the job is maintaining errands alone.
Pros
Free lunches.
Cons
Understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
RN (Current Employee) –  Mcallen, TXOctober 19, 2015
Great physicians and coworkers. Need to hire more staff to adjust for more admissions coming from freestanding facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am just going to say that I found a family in that Hospital
Respiratory Therapist Supervisor (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXOctober 9, 2015
Always a challenge, new day new adventure. A hospital with a lot of technology available to help people, excellent trainings for every area, and a good coordination among departments to help patient well being.
Pros
EVERYTHING
Cons
POOR HUMAN RESORCES SKILLS TO INVESTIGATE THE TRUE AND SOLVE STAFF CONFLICTS
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Phlebotomist Technician (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXAugust 26, 2015
Nice place to work at. Clean environment. Friendly staff. Coworkers always had positive attitude and made work fun. Supervisors were supportive of new ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, excellent team
Physical therapist (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXJune 22, 2015
The schedule varies, some days are very productive and others are not because it is acute care. The other therapist are very knowledgable and easy to get along with.
Pros
PRN pay rate
Cons
Unpredictable work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 29, 2015
It was good to work for this hospital. I worked nights, I enjoyed working with co-workers that made my job easier and fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
food production (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXApril 8, 2015
great people, great management, great benefits, flexible hours. HCA is a great company to work for. Pay is not competitive.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Office Specialsit-Externship
Medical office Specialist (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi TxNovember 12, 2014
assisted receptionist on a daily basis by answering phones and other duties as requested. Loved my job as well
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management; Awesome co-workers
RN Catheterization Lab Supervisor (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXOctober 6, 2014
Pros: minimal micromanagement from management and pay descent compared to other areas in the hospital
Cons: hours are not guaranteed always; at times it
is difficult to make 40 hours a week and at other times the work week is long with 50+ hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to learn
Rehab Tech (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJune 9, 2014
Its a good place to learn a bit of everything with in the department you are working in, staff is helpful and nice
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting Place
Patient Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 21, 2014
Employees would get bonus's regarding their hard work. Compensation and benefits were good.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best......
Floor Nurse (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXApril 16, 2014
As a first year nurse, i learned so much at this hospital that i am forever thankful for. I would highly recommend this hospital as i work with incredible charge nurses and a great night shift team. Miss you all!
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees work together as a team, making it a very efficient environment.
Respiratory Care Practitioner (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXNovember 14, 2013
The staff is very knowledgeable in their respective areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and stable work place
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXOctober 11, 2013
I worked on a busy Telemetry floor with good charge nurse professionalism. I was able to transfer to work in the Emergency Room. I learned how to do effective patient care in a crisis situation
Pros
positive work place
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and always something to do
Registered Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXSeptember 10, 2013
As in any working environment, what makes the place somewhere you want to work, or clockout as soon as your time is up, is the people you work with. Sometimes it was great working there as everyone pitched in and things got done quickly and efficiently. At other times, so people just plain disliked working and would follow the rule of minimum effort. In all, keeping yourself busy and learning as much as possible, proved to be an ok place to work and sharpen your skills.
Pros
free lunch and gift cards
Cons
short breaks, health care for prn workers
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependable
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXAugust 16, 2013
Everyday is different. different patients , same routine and procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rio Grande Regional Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

Rio Grande Regional Hospital Reviews by Location