Rio Grande State Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, On the Job Training in Nursing Assistant
Psychiatric Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TX 78552September 5, 2016
Was a great experience working here. I learned many medical field related tasks such as EKG, CPR, Restraints, Vital Signs, Excel Programs, Reports to Registered Nurses, Monitoring Patients, Assist with Blood Work, and Registering Patients
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not an easy job
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXAugust 25, 2016
This is a great work environment but the only issue i had was the fact that they are always understaffed. It is great for those who don't have a family and want plenty of overtime. The client are awesome!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
ICF- Clinic Nurse LVN (Current Employee) –  harlingen, TXJuly 8, 2015
Challenging yet fun although not much room for advancement. Management tries, co-workers are great but the learning experience is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Psychiatric Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMay 29, 2015
Loved what I did and who I worked with. Management was very rude and not willing to help anyone out. They were the main reason for leaving this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Psychiatric Nursing Asst III/ Floor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXApril 20, 2015
physically demanding job loved the job climbing the mountains see the wildlife and learning of wildlife that took place at the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place to work at.
Assist them (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXOctober 29, 2014
friendly place, good jobs opportunities. fast pace job. good experience. very informative.
Pros
nice lunch ins. great benfits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great with pay and benefits
Psychiatric Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 12, 2014
You got to help people who needed it and it meant something to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn new things.
Assist mentally (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 3, 2014
Is a nice place to help people with mental illness, and learn things that you never know about the life.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience with Mentally Challenged Individuals
Intermediate Care Facility - Nursing Clerk IV (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXJune 10, 2014
A great place to work if your heart is for those that can not help themselves.
Pros
Care for those who are left behind
Cons
Lack of professionalism, ethical manners, and low morals for the lest fortunate
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enviroment
Teller (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMarch 28, 2014
Overlooked the daily activity of patients who were admitted for mental health and/or drug abuse problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment with supportive staff
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 17, 2013
Psychosocial rehab for patients and family counseling is part of what I learned. I enjoyed my coworkers they all brought something different to the table. Hardest part of my job was knowing some patients did not have families for support systems. Enjoyable part of my job that you can learn something from the people you least expect to learn from.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive.
Practicum Student (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 2, 2013
Co-workers were eager to help you. The work flowed very smoothly.
Pros
Close to home.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting.
Registration Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXJuly 5, 2013
A typical day at work is mostly very rewarding,being able to assist people with their needs is one of the biggest benefits of my job.I have a hard time when I know a person needs our assistance and for various reasons we can not provide our services..
Pros
very understanding management
Cons
only a lunch break is given
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work for
Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMarch 17, 2013
learned new skill, professional people, good benefits, good insurance, paid holidays
Pros
gym for all staff to use
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was challanging and rewarding working with individuals with disabilities.
Psychiatric Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXOctober 19, 2012
My day started by greeting my clients and sitting down with them to talk for awhile. Management and co-workers were all great team players as we supported each other in times of need. The hardest part of this employment is that sometimes we did lose some of our clients either to group homes or to death. I learned how to step into their shoes and be compassionate to their needs.
Pros
working with an incredible team and helping our clients with their needs.
Cons
the sad feeling when losing a client.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people
CASE WORKER (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXOctober 9, 2012
long hours, poor pay, team work, hardest thing I encountered was behavior, helping people work with their mental illness
Pros
helping people
Cons
under payed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most exitment eight hours in the day.
Psychiatric Nurse Assistant 1 (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMay 23, 2012
every day at work in this place is a new chalenge, one learnes something new each day, the management is profesional, co-workers use to be team members in whole schift, heardest part of the job is when some resident is unlished. most enjoyable part of the job, when in a classroom mith the consumers.
Pros
over time
Cons
no over time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Psychaitric Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXFebruary 23, 2012
does not provide much opportuntity for advancement. Chanllenging place to work with indiviuals who have a developmental delays
Pros
good health benefits
Cons
pay grade could improve
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rio Grande State Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1

Rio Grande State Center Reviews by Location