Rio Tinto Employee Reviews in United States

Found 75 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great union job for our region
Janitor (Current Employee) –  Boron, CAMay 14, 2016
In my opinion this is an above average experience, but I hear a lot of people who miss the Old Days, when it was US BORAX.
I get that, but honestly it could be said by most companies today. I came from the real world, with those who hadn't worked at the mine since highschool. I know there are few areas with a lot!!!!!!of overtime but some love that. Not me, but I don't have it. I hope to retire in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mining is cyclical
Finance Manager Copper & Coal Projects (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMay 2, 2016
good company but it is cyclical and staffing levels follow the cycle. Good in the good times. Difficult in the down times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work while I was in high school
Sr. Supervisor/ Production Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Boron, CAApril 29, 2016
Good place o work right after high school. I learned a hard lesson when managing the service station right after graduating high school
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Technical Systems Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 22, 2016
This is a fast paced environment. there is always something new to learn and to. you will be working hard but feel accomplished at the end of the day. I would stay here longer if i was not being outsourced. that is part of the down economy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, very high safety culture
Master Data Specialist / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South Jordan, UTApril 15, 2016
Loved working there at Rio Tinto, they had a great safety culture with a goal to always be improving the process. The management took care of its workers and was aware of there needs. very professional people to work with, that had a high level of education and knowledge of the process.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Boron, CAMarch 28, 2016
safe place to work. good people and good work place. thanks but that is all i should need to say!!!
bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb.
Pros
12 hour shifts
Cons
don't always get the days of you want do to seniority.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Company
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Boron, CAMarch 25, 2016
I enjoyed working out on the field and on the lock-out, tag-out project. It was very educational on a new process that I had not experienced. My co-workers were enjoyable to be with and would have preferred to stay, but I was contract and needed a full-time permanent job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work envioment and co workers
Planner Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Magna, UTMarch 23, 2016
Safety oriented, proactive I would plan maintenance notifications and schedule the work needed to keep production running smoothly maintain back log and standard task list up dated the Bill of Materials as needed attended planning and scheduling meetings and did yearly budgets as well as shutdown
Pros
good wage and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Maintenance Super/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Boron, CAFebruary 29, 2016
On the maintenance supervision side of things it is extremely busy. You are the middle man between the represented employees and upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing/For Information Technology Resources only
SAP (Former Employee) –  AmericasJanuary 22, 2016
Corporate culture around profit control rather than market share and new products. IT model is offshoring at all cost. In previous life, once did an SAP support job supporting 250 users, Rio's requirement was for around 10k users. This corporation shed a lot of people in the past 10 years so lots of friends got some intermediate manager roles. Result you will likely have to answer to a large number of individuals and spend a lot of time in meetings and yet you must meet deadlines. Rio's IT operation runs around the clock since on all continents. This means you will likely have meeting at odd hours to catch up with Australian and Indian folks. Their business solution was built by Indian low cost junior resources and by so called contractors that for the most part could not get a contractor's job in the current market conditions. User acceptance of the solution can be labelled as spotty. Conclusion, this solution is extremely complex and worthy of a complete rewrite. You can easily expect 6 months before being comfortable with such a custom solution and it does get very frustrating since so much has been Zed. If you happen to be very proficient, you will make lots of friends fast and Office Communicator will drive the number of interruptions through the roof.
All in all mining is in a terrible situation at the moment and this is not a place for the faint of heart. The above reflection might have been influenced by local realities and may not be generalized throughout for their various groups. Like others have mentioned, some groups may be better than others. Finally,
  more... I would definitely recommend it for junior/intermediate resources looking at a real challenge. You can learn a great deal in such an environment.  less
Pros
Pays well and on time, never miss.
Cons
Disappointing culture / High Stress Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Pot Operator, Carbon Craneman, Head Pourer (Former Employee) –  Sebree, KYJanuary 19, 2016
If you worked hard you had a decent chance at moving up in the company, they are Japanese owned and are very big on 5s. Lots of cleaning, and short breaks, always raising production goals whenever you reach them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
by rich mesterheide
PLC and controls, advanced craftman (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 7, 2016
typical day get work orders prep job as required do all necessary checks to be safe i usually work in isolated places. i like to finish jobs and be finished in a timely manner. i enjoy trouble shooting and completing jobs. Hardest part of job is waiting for parts
Pros
work with people who are professionals
Cons
parts and drama
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, amazing people, friendly all around.
Reliability Engineer, Mobile Equipment Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Paraburdoo, WADecember 16, 2015
A wonderful company that is very much people oriented. The focus on people goes beyond the words, and reflects in the culture every single day. My years here have been nothing but fun. Good pay for the role you do, and enough flexibility to make you feel cared for.

Not much structure for a new person to gain varied experience, especially for a grad. You start in one position and unless you fight your way out, chances of an easy transition into another department or commodity are slim. BHP does this part much better, but Rio does have a much better focus at keeping its people happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics
Industrial Instrumentation/Electrical Technician (Current Employee) –  Boron, CANovember 19, 2015
There is a lack of cohesion between the departments in a supervisory level which rolls downhill to the workforce and disables you from being productive in your daily tasks due to constant required authorizations. Too many unqualified chiefs and definitely not enough Indians!
Pros
decent pay for the work
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience working for rio tinto
assistant chemist (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTNovember 5, 2015
very busy, efficient well organized work place.Tim work, codependent of each other, rotating job duties,Supportive management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to learn new or more skills
Operator c (Current Employee) –  Magna UtahOctober 14, 2015
A typical day of work at the power plant includes: Blowing soot on the boilers, Running coal, Shoveling, Dumping out the rock traps, Performing rounds (inspecting equipment), Slagging the molten coal out of the boiler, Inspecting the boilers. When the boilers are offline for maintenance you use a vacuum truck, shoot plugs through the condensers tubes, Perform housekeeping items (sweeping, moving debri, ect).

At this job I learned a great deal about boilers, forklift/dozer operations, coal, and coal quality, Some Physical labor techniques.

Management is great and willing to work with and for you.

Co-workers are good but can be prone to childish behaviors.

Hardest part of the job is slagging out the boilers. Or trying to catch up if a malfunction occurs in the plant.

Best part of this job is what is available to be learned. The skills and qualifications they give freely.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sourcing Specialist/Bulk Commodity Specialist (Current Employee) –  South Jordan, UtOctober 14, 2015
Enjoy all Aspects about the job, great people good management, benefits Co-workers are very enjoyable to work with and be around.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job in a bad market
Senior Supervisor - Open Pit Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Rio TintoOctober 8, 2015
Rio Tinto is one of the leaders in mining. The mining world is changing though due to the compliance industry (ie insurance). Rio Tinto is a great company even in these changing times. Due to their size, it is easy to become a number. The diversity of the company is a bonus. This diversity is shown by the company being multi-national, which adds different ideas and input.
Mining is a fast paced, dangerous environment that requires the utmost attention. Anyone that does not respect this mindset can and will cause personal harm to themselves or others.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and learning envirnment
A/P Scanner & Processor, EM Processor (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 28, 2015
busy all the time, no down time, always learning new positions, management doesn't have great communication with other departments
Pros
room to learn new things because
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Haulage Truck Diver
Haulage Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Bingham Canyon, UTSeptember 2, 2015
What was once a company of integrity known as Kennecott became a place of poor morale. One bought out by Rio Tinto they contracted out union work to Lewis Stages to get drivers that they could pay half the wage. They took away all of the pension plans and they fire long time workers for slight infractions to get them out of there. It is your typical Corperate America of today. The managment are young college graduates that know nothing about mining but are highly "educated" and impersonal!! After 36 years of employment the changes had become unbrarable so I retired! I had LOVED my job until it became Rio Tinto!
Pros
Good Pay, 4 on 4 off
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 275 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8