Find companies:
Rite Aid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,446 reviews

Rite Aid Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Enterprise ALNovember 25, 2014
I do not feel that the rite aid corporate office cares about their employees. I would not recommend this job to anyone unless you have the highest possible stress tolerance level. I am generally a carefree happy person but this job sapped that away from my work life as well as my home life. We were not given time to take restroom or lunch breaks despite – more... the legality. When human resources were contacted regarding said issues they came down to visit but did nothing and asked more of our staff then what we were able to do with the amount of staff and hours we were given. The management was poor, uncoordinated, and cold. A typical day at work consisted of running around doing about 7 things at once; answering the phone, filling a prescription, assisting a customer, contacting insurance companies, checking in orders, assisting drive through, counting out pills, identifying pills, resolving issues with equiptment and various other duties. Most of which are all being done at the same time while you hope you dont forget to complete any very important tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supervisor
supervisor (Retail) (Former Employee), Granville, NYNovember 24, 2014
Pros: satified customers
Cons: working holidays
the most important part of my job was my customers.I learned alot of customer service and how important customer satisfaction is .Getting thier basic needs shopping at our store was a plus in customer satisfaction.Coworkers looked up to me for any help with customers or questions as sitting goal for employees for thier 8 hour shift was prompt and suceeded – more... my shifts – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and rewarding experience
Intern (Current Employee), SacramentoNovember 23, 2014
Internship responsibilities and duties included organizing daily medication orders and serving customers quickly. individual medication orders were prepared by bagging together ordered drugs along with their respective medication forms. The pharmacy operated a ScriptPro electronic medication dispensing machine, which I constantly maintained with by – more... supplying it with drugs and empty drug containers. Pharmacists at the work site filled medication orders very quickly and I helped them by keeping their supplies full and organizing the prepared orders together so technicians present can serve customers quicker. Pharmacists filling prescriptions constantly dispensed medication from a large inventory at the rear of the pharmacy, which I kept constantly organized to aid the pharmacists in their job. Occasionally, I was asked to use the telephone to notify customers that their prescriptions are ready to be picked up. Often times, I was tasked with processing medication orders for deliveries, which required organizing them into specific bags, printing out specific forms, and stapling them together on the bags. At the end of the shift, I often helped with emptying the trash bins and disposing them properly in containers specified for confidential information or biohazardous waste.

I learned a great deal while interning at Rite Aid Pharmacy as it was a very engaging experience. I was constantly tasked by the staff and to organize medication orders and serve customers. Doing so helped me in my attempt to acquire a pharmacy technician license. Since I was expected to be familiarized with many drug names and effects as part of the licensing exam, interning at Rite Aid exposed me to a variety of medications which acquainted me with many top generic drugs. Interning at Rite Aid improved my ability to pass the pharmacy technician exam and provided me with an engaging experience so I know what to expect in this field in the future.

The management and my coworkers were very friendly and teaching. When I occasionally made mistakes they would set aside some time to retrain me. When I asked for additional tasks to perform, they would take time to teach me new procedures

The work place was initially hard and daunting. Many customers arrive at the pharmacy daily and the staff is forced to be very aware of everything and always be on task. The fast tempo took some time to get use to in the beginning, but it became a lot of fun in a way because there was always something to do and I was rarely bored or idling even as an intern. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Current Employee), Sunnyside, WANovember 22, 2014
Pros: breaks and lunches when needed.
Cons: poor benefits.
I learn something new at work everyday such as receiving different types of coupons that I have to enter manually. I get different customers rude and really nice ones its such a great experience dealing with different people everyday. Management is good but very poor communication. Something that needs to be worked on
Hardest part of the job dealing – more... with rude customers no one likes to deal with a rude person but we have to do what we can to satisfy our customers! Co-workers at the store is not so great no one likes to communicate as much as they are suppose to when needed.
The most enjoyable part of my job is doing planograms they are very fun to do and a good way to organize your products, Also making a customer happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift Supervisor
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Red Lion, PANovember 20, 2014
- Delegated and helped perform daily tasks with employees.
- Made decisions toward the placement of effective sales items and promotions throughout the store.
- Had extensive knowledge of inventory and procedures of the store and stock.
- Oriented and trained new employees.
- Ensured profits earned each day were properly deposited into company funds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Customer Care Associate (Former Employee), Bristol, CTNovember 20, 2014
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Workflow is structured and they provided adequate training for an associate to be successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good stopping place to get experience and money for your family.
Customer service, Shift supervisor, sales clerk (Current Employee), New Salisbury, INNovember 20, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: management
Rite aid can give you experience with working with people, learn lower management skills. Earn some money to help your family out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Media, PANovember 20, 2014
Great place to work, Great place to work, Great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work environment but little opportunity to advance.
Cashier (Former Employee), Pittsfield, NHNovember 20, 2014
Working here is boring, but it is still a job. The location i worked at in Pittsfield had a wonderful manager that made the days go by faster. Overall it is a job, but opportunity for advancement is null and void. Unless you want to spend many many years ranking up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upper management, DM are idiots
Shift supervisor/ cashier (Former Employee), Wellington, OHNovember 19, 2014
Pros: meeting people, made friends, hands-on training
Cons: same discount as many customers, open holidays, cheap wages!!!!
Worked here over 2 years. LOVED my job was fired over using a extra wellness card for travelers & kids who didn't remember there parents phone # to get sale prices. Many used an extra card, gave family members discount who weren't living with them. Had people help unload truck who weren't employed by company....and I got fired
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Ewing, NJNovember 19, 2014
Pros: meaningful customer service experience
Cons: poor pay
As a shift manager I provided sensitive handling tasks and initial situation evaluation. Once opening procedures were completed the days needs were laid out and communicated from central office and reporting tools outwards to myself and co-workers. Management of associates, customer relationship building, and pharmacist needs for privacy concerns were – more... a constant day to day requirement, Debriefing employees of new communication bulletins from central office, whether new workplace policies or shrink awareness campaigns, was a great way to establish connection and teamwork with associates in addition to maintaining company policy for the industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy woking at the photo shop
Lead Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Newport News, VANovember 19, 2014
Pros: hard work
Cons: not enough hours
The management that was there at the time. He was the most wonderful man I had ever came in contact with. I really enjoyed coming into work knowing that he was going to be there I learn so much from him. I enjoy my co-worker as well we all work as a family in this place. The hardest part of this job was closing we could never get out of there on time – more... trying to make sure all of the customer was well satisfied. Once again I must say I learn how to run the front end of a store give the best customer service. By the time I left there I was able to run the store with no supervision. And for that I must thank the management team at rite aid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Cohoes, NYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: lack of opportunity advancement.
This position offered excellent health and dental benefits, but no opportunity for advancement. Compensation was also not as much as I feel I deserve. I would like a career opportunity where I can gain more knowlege and advance within a company or facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Time Management Skilled, Customer Service
Supervisor/Merchandising (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CANovember 18, 2014
Pros: fast paced, good enviroment to learn
Cons: management, not enough coverage, easily disposable
I am currently a supervisor at Rite Aid, it took about a year and half to get promoted from cashier to supervisor. The required age is 21 I'm 22. I have work at Rite Aid for three years and it was my first job. I have been through ten managers in my time with working this company so I would say everybody is disposal. So the typical day at work is upon – more... your arrival I would be bombarded with questions from customers and employees (we have a uniform so we are easily recognized). Next, when you have enough time or enough coverage I can count the safe and determine if its all good or not. Next I would have a list of duties from my manager of things to do, I was in charge of many things at the store like: supervise the employees, cashier, determine damages, go through recalls in the store, order makeup and female based items, reset of displays and aisles and help with new sales signs (AD) and occasionally help with freshness reports. As you can see very many things to be in charge in a eight hours in a shift on top of that helping with customers, covering lunches, watching over employees and reconcile registers at the end of the night. Rite Aid is a very fast paced store and is very dependent on the much older customers with the customer service. I've learned so much from this store that I am confident that it will help me in the retail business, I am very grateful that I was one of the lucky ones to be looked at and for them to see that I was willing to learn and work hard for it. For the most part I did enjoy my time at Rite Aid and I did learn so much from working there. Not recommended for someone who was a laidback job and Rite Aid does seem like an easy breezy job but behind that there is bunch of duties to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rite Aid
manager (Former Employee), new jerseyNovember 17, 2014
Pros: excellent benifits
Cons: the management and leadership needs much improvement
Rite Aid Pharmacy, a good company to start off your retail career. You must be goal oriented and always take command. This company has great benefits, vacation, and insurance. It is a rewarding to know that you are helping your community through great customer service and healthcare. With the right guidance, you can easily move up in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical warehouse
Group Lead receiving (Former Employee), Liverpool, NYNovember 17, 2014
Pros: my hours
Cons: annual vendor compliance test
>it had its ups and downs
>learned how to run a receiving department within a warehouse
>most of the management was good
>really liked my crew and the people who worked around us
>most of the paperwork and the annual vendor compliance test
>the most enjoyable part of the job was working with my crew, training, problem solving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Downingtown, PANovember 17, 2014
Pros: store discount
Cons: no breaks, low pay
I was a shift supervisor. While I did like my job there, the pay was very low, I was never guaranteed the hours that I needed to survive. There was very little life/work balance as I was expected to be available on my days off due to my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating, 3 stars, some work needs to be done in the upper Management, less favortism.
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Lowell, MINovember 17, 2014
Pros: health insurance
Cons: manager and one shift supervisor were extremely difficult to get along with, dictating daily tasks.
Opening store, getting drawers ready for day, stock shelves with items listed that sold prior day. Receiving new stock from pop, beer, wine or milk cooler stock, and putting on shelves, Giving breaks when needed, computer work and data entry daily. Keeping store clean and organized throughout the day. Night shift had cleaning and chores to be done, – more... walking store, making everything looked clean and tidy.
Worked well with others. Hardest part of the job was while training, I got thrown into a Supervisor position with very little training, including opening and closing the store alone in just a few weeks.
The part of the job I liked most was working with the public, the customers, making sure each time they came in our store they were being taken care of.
I learned how to supervise the store and enjoyed my job. It was a very physical job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rite Aid
Cashier (Former Employee), Rochester, NHNovember 16, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and making some money and it being my first job so it was exciting
Cons: the manager didn't really care about your well being
Management was ok, she didn't really care about your well being. All she really cared about is you being there at work. Everyone else at work was pretty nice. There really wasn't a hard part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was making money and meeting new people and seeing the regulars that would come in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
lead over the photo center (Former Employee), Fayetville, GANovember 16, 2014
Not exactly a place I enjoyed working but I did meet some wonderful people while doing so

1 2 3 4 5

About Rite Aid

Rite Aid is clinging to its position as a distant third (behind Walgreen and CVS) in the US retail drugstore business. The struggling – Read more