River City Casino Employee Reviews

Showing all 50 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, reasonable money
Ex hotel inspector (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 31, 2017
HORRIBLE management!!! Hotel management sucks from supervisors on down. I have never worked with a team of liars like that, especially when it came down to pple who were supposed to be leaders. This is a place where if you don't kiss butt (management) they will eventually target you and you will be fired.... Horrible horrible horrible!!!!
Cons
Poor hotel management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting experience
Lead Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 1, 2016
Working as lead groundskeeper was a valuable experience in my exposure to different people. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Worked outside in all climates
Cons
Winter and sommer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Table Games Dealer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 24, 2016
We work as a team to please our guest. The hardest part of the job is shift changes. The most enjoyable part of the job is having fun with our guest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lacked good manigment
PBX Operator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 12, 2016
management changed hrs every week. i learned how how to work a PBX operators station. grate coworkers. free lunch was cool
Pros
free lunch was cool
Cons
ever changing hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serves with a smile
Server (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 10, 2016
On a typical day, I would set up the side stations and roll silverware. Check the reservation book, complete a game plan with my hostess and busser.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Fill Banker/Main Banker (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 8, 2016
A professional working environment that rewarded good work. Advancement opportunities were available and the company hired from within, giving opportunities to their employees first.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Stuck on night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good workplace
Buffet Server (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 27, 2016
The company is wonderful, however chances to move up are scarce. Job security at the management level is non-existent. In the 3 years I have worked there I have worked with 9 different managers. Managers are frequently fired or quit. I love my job and my co-workers, just the management end is terrible.
Pros
healthcare, good compensation
Cons
long hours, constantly changing management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse enviroment lots of noise and teamwork
Dealer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 21, 2015
packaging company products while maintaining a clean work area. i like working with alot of people because diversity is somethimg u have to get use to in the work place
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
SECURITY OFFICER (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 29, 2015
This is a fun place to work, but the pay for positions is not up to par. You are also required to work every weekend. Some of the management go out of their way to help you expand your career while others could care less about your development.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Work every weekend, crazy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Casino enviroment
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 25, 2015
Great company, with many benefits and lots of opportunity to advancement, decent pay though, good opportunity to gain experience across the board.
Pros
free lunch, consistent hours, job advancement
Cons
requires working most all hollidiays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Lead Surveillance Agent (Current Employee) –  Lemay, MOJuly 16, 2015
Everyday is awesome to go to work here. The management and supporting team members are great to work with. I highly recommend future prospective employees to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun place to work. Very friendly employees and casino guests.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 6, 2015
Really enjoy the casino guest inter action. The casino employees are really friendly and professional. Very easy to work along side of.
Pros
Free employees meals
Cons
Healthcare insurance could be a little better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
Revenue Auditor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 26, 2015
Very professional but fun atmosphere to work in. Supervisors/Leaders care about their employees. I would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 30, 2015
River City was a great place to work and the sky was the limit on how far you could go within that company.

I learned a lot about how to carry myself in a business setting. I also learned a lot about what not to do.

The hardest part of my job was, for me, keeping my cool with difficult guests. Mainly because I dealt with all types of guests. For example: Guests in need of directions, guests that were being arrested, intoxicated guests. I had to learn very quickly to always remain calm and not to escalate any situation.

The part I enjoyed most about my time with River City was spending time with the people I worked with. For the most part I enjoyed talking to, and getting to know my co-workers.
Pros
Free Lunches, Caring Management
Cons
None specific
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun company to work for.
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 13, 2015
Entertained thousands of patrons daily. I learned how to deal under pressure. My co-workers were all wonderful and polite. The most enjoyable part of my job was the people that I would meet from all across the world.
Pros
The best part of work was the free lunch and hotel stays.
Cons
The benefit packages were expensive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 8, 2015
It a decent place to work but has a revolving door when it comes to long term success. Often management falls short in interdepartmental communication and you are often given different answers depending on the person you talk to
Pros
Free lunches, Pto
Cons
Short lunch, takes a long time to be informed of approval
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work!
Casino Table Games Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 9, 2015
Beautiful Las Vegas style gambling! Very polite and courteous employees. Very smoothly ran establishment. Co-workers were very warm and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting place to work
Cage Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 4, 2015
River City was a wonderful company to work. There was always room to advance with higher pay. I worked with a wonderful management team. I wouldn't mind working for the company again. I would still be an employee however, my mother passed away before my departure,
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Past Environment
cook (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 27, 2015
River City has great health insurance and employees are appreciated. It has come a long way from when the casino first opened. It has offered many new jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Work as acting Pastry Chef for 1904 Steakhouse (Former Employee) –  Lemay, MOJanuary 19, 2015
Doing prep work for the 1904 Steakhouse.
Prepped, prepared and plated desserts and salads and 1904 Steakhouse in casino.
Worked pastry production for buffet and outlets of the casino
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at River City Casino. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

River City Casino Reviews by Location