Find companies:
River Island
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
214 reviews

River Island Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
retail assistant (Former Employee), CarlisleJuly 28, 2014
Fun working environment, friendly team. Learnt many skills incuding dealing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place i have ever worked at
Internship (Former Employee), LondonJuly 27, 2014
working in River Island was the most excited experience i have ever hade during my experience as a designer.
the team i was working with guided me how to worh in a big company. i designed in the dresses departmet and be a part of the team meetings, i have learnd so much about how to design for a big, trand, fashion brand, and so i improved myself day – more... after day.
working in River Island helped me realize thet i want to work as afashion designer, keep learning and growing up in a big fashion company in London. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience if you love fashion
Christmas temp (Former Employee), WoodgreenJuly 27, 2014
Working with River Island was a great experience because I have a passion for fashion and I got to learn new things, the staffs was very helpful and welcoming. the hardest part of the job was on the Christmas holiday, trying to make things go to plan, trying to satisfy the customers, controlling the fitting rooms, Etc. The management was very good. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was getting the job done and getting paid at the end of the month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and social
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Newcastle upon TyneJuly 24, 2014
Pros: 30 % discount
Cons: repetitive tasks
River Island is a great company to work for, due to the strict professionalism yet socially open balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good If You're Into Fashion
Stockroom/Delivery Assistant (Former Employee), Reading, ENGJuly 21, 2014
Pros: always something to do and the jobs enjoyable
Cons: some staff let the place down and the stockroom is dirty
I Unfortunately didn't enjoy my time at River Island, due to many factors...If you're a shy, sensitive person who's allergic to dust then this isn't the place for you. I can't speak for all stores obviously.

However, if you are a young, hip, attractive young male or female. Who's confident within themselves and really wants to excel in the fashion – more... industry then don't be afraid! with in a few months of being a temp, I was taken on as a delivery and stockroom assistant and I very much enjoyed the job, you learned a lot and you were never bored. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
river island
Sales advisor (Current Employee), birminghamJuly 20, 2014
Pros: friendly
Cons: own opinion is not considered
its a good company slow progression. managers do not take you thoughts and ideas in account. company behind doors does not know what is going on and who is doing what
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK HERE!!!!!!!
Senior Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Glasgow, SCTJuly 17, 2014
Work here full time and have no life! Management treat staff like dirt and bully, Shifts are posted 1 day in advance, minimum wage for ridiculously hard work and only benefit is 30% discount.

Wouldn't advice it to anyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick progression
Ladies product sales manager (Current Employee), FarehamJuly 17, 2014
progressed quickly upto management worked with some lovely people can be long hours and hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Wakefield, ENGJuly 16, 2014
Pros: good job for a school leaver
Cons: low pay
This was my first role as a school leaver. I had always wanted to work in retail and this job gave me my first taste of this type of role. I enjoyed my time here and only left as my family moved to a new area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Temp (Former Employee), Oxford Street, ENGJuly 16, 2014
Pros: good breaks
Cons: long journey
The staff were great, supportive and very helpful in teaching me how to be productive and help customers to meet their needs. In doing so I have learned many skills and increased my knowledge in how to help increase sales and promote products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but serious work place
Retail assistant-Duties (Former Employee), walsallJuly 15, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: always worked over and didnt get paid, sometimes pay wasnt correct
The clothes were a decent price when the discount was taken off and the only decent thing to look at were some of the woman. if youre thinking about working their be prepared for lots of bitchiness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fab
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), hullJuly 10, 2014
Gained an NVQ during my time there. Longest job I have had to date. Really enjoyed working as part of the River Island team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun busy ever changing workplace
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Oxford Street, ENGJuly 8, 2014
Pros: surrounded by amazing new fashion trends
Cons: salary
A typical day at work was busy but very exciting i enjoyed the 'hustle and bustle" of the city and the various different fashion trends. I also had a lot of fun with customers the most enjoyable part of my job was during the boxing day sale as that was my most busy shift and i always had a customer to tend to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Advisor
Retail Assistant (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGJuly 6, 2014
I worked on the fitting rooms mainly but was trained on all sections of the shop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
assisting customers and merchandising (Former Employee), DublinJuly 4, 2014
Pros: discount
Great environment to work in. Loved all the clothes and worked with a great team of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt enojy working there one bit
Sales Associate (Former Employee), CroydonJuly 1, 2014
Pros: never got a lunch break
Cons: long hours and all over the place mixed shifts
Only paying £4.65 and hour taxed me when hey should never of done and also a memeber of staff stole my phone. not a place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Burton on TrentJune 24, 2014
Pros: one of my favourite retailers
Cons: very tiring
I worked during the christmas sales therefore it was very busy and everything had to be done accordingly. The staff was very friendly and I got the chance to see more of what the company sells.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Great
River Island Sales and Service (Current Employee), Prestatyn, WLSJune 18, 2014
I've learned how to properly set up a store to maximize profits, learning too proper speak too customer. Cross selling, Stock replenishment ect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging working environment
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), London, ENGJune 15, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: long hours
This was a very busy work environment, with many interesting challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RIver Island Review
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), LeicesterJune 11, 2014
• Processing purchasing orders.
• Monthly stock take and reconciliation of stock.
• Reconciling Delivery notes with purchase orders.

1 2 3 4 5

About River Island

River Island is one of Britain's best known high street fashion brands and can be found in most cities across the UK. The youth-oriented – Read more