Find companies:
Riverside Community Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Riverside Community Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place to work and supports employee training
Employee health, Liaison, Case management (Current Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 31, 2014
Riverside Community Hospital has been a good place to work for myself. I have been fortunate to learn many different roles with the support of my supervisor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working @ RCH
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 13, 2014
Riverside gives one many learning opportunities. Many co-workers are willing to teach/educate as well as physicians. Its a great hospital to encounter & get experience caring for trauma code, code ice, code stroke, CABG & many other critical patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn while your a student.
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 12, 2014
I was not an employee at Riverside Community Hospital, I was doing my externship program for school there. The staff at the hospital were very helpful and answered all my questions; which was very nice because being new in the field I had a lot!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality trauma hospital
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 2, 2014
During my time at Riverside Community Hospital I was afforded the opportunity to scrub many cases in different specialties such as; general, vascular, orthopedics, ENT, and GYN. I was responsible to checking my case carts and setting up the room using sterile techniques. I assisted the surgeons during the procedures by passing instruments, retracting, – more... and maintaining sterility and identifying any contamination. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Biomedical Technician (Former Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: management, and the staff
Cons: pay, smog, and earthquakes
Other than the smog, and earthquakes it was nice place to work and challenging as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 29, 2014
Everyday is filled with something different to do. My experience here was wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 17, 2014
My day is very busy. With a combination of organization and time management the day runs smoothly. I am getting the experience I need to be a well rounding job. My co-workers are all team players which makes the job a bit easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enjoyed working with patients, satisfying
L MT; Physical Therapist Aide (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJune 20, 2014
Pros: helping people with disabilities
Patient physical Rehab
Document charting
Learning on the job
Assisted Dr of Physical Therapy
Managed incoming patients and therapy programs
Knowing their would be great outcomes for the care of patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy pharmacy but no leadership
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: good team work, always busy
Cons: bad leadership, took 5 years to become full-time
Trauma hospital so it is always busy, but the pharmacy lacks leadership from the director. Never a dull moment just problems were never solved if.you have a complaint you had to come up with a solution. (Weird i thought thats why the director got paid the big $$$$) but a great bunch of people that work hard and go unrecognized. Lead Tech deserves more – more... $$$ for all she deals with, she practically is doing the directors job. Once director is changed i believe that pharmacy will be great once again! Nurses are bad mannered and demand respect without giving it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy PACU. 90% Adults, 10% Peds
Staff Nurse, Part Time (Current Employee), Riverside, CAMay 22, 2014
Pros: we have our own transporters to take the patients up to the rooms.
Cons: frequent bed delays for the patients, environment can be loud.
Average day is about 25-35 cases. We recover all types of patients, C-sections to Cath Lab (if general anesthesia is used). All open heart patients go directed to surgical ICU. All computerized charting and just changed to computer order entry. My manager is very good. She gets our schedules out early and is very flexible if you need to charge things. – more... All my coworkers get along great and work well as a team! The hardest part of the job is when we have to hold the patients in pacu on bed delays while waiting for rooms to become available. We try to make it as comfortable for them as possible, but it is a busy, loud unit at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Surgical Technologist - Clinical Rotation (Former Employee), Riverside, CAMay 15, 2014
Completed my student clinical rotation at this location. Was able to scrub in on a variety of cases, from general surgery, orthopedic, obstetric and gynecologic, reconstructive, and neurosurgery. Observed, learned, and performed sterile procedures, donning gown and gloves, proper patient care, and responsibilities as the surgical tech in the scrub role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Food service worker (Current Employee), Riverside, CAApril 28, 2014
very challanging work area. wish i there still employed but laid off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and outstanding learning experience
Externship Surgical technology (Former Employee), Riverside, CAApril 15, 2014
I arrive at the hospital at 6am to change into my scrubs and to see what were my cases for the day. Next I would do my daily scrub and then go into the core to check the case cart for my first case. Once I check the case cart, I pull the items and instruments I knew were needed for the case. Once I have everything that I need I start setting up for – more... my cases. I open the backtable, ringstand and instruments. I open the items (ex. sutures, blades, hypo, ect.) in the ringstand and I open my gown and gloves on the mayo stand. When everything is open I scrub in and place all my counted items out so I can count with my circulator. Once the items are counted I set up my backtable and mayo stand to my liking. I drape any devices that will be used for the case. After the patient is under and the surgeon is not present I would drape the patient. Next I would drape the surgeon and/or the assistant. I would bring up my mayo stand with the the bovie, suction, ect. to attach to the drapes. I bring my backtable up too. I helped assist the surgeon by retracting, suctioning, and handing instruments. When the surgeon closes I count with my circulator and ask for my dressing. When the surgery was over I removed the drapes, help clean the patient and move the patient. When the patient is out I help turnover the room and prepare for my next case.
I got along well with my co-workers and I learned a lot from them too. They taught me the sooner you count with the circulator the more time you have to set up and you don't have to worry about having to count later.They also taught me to be fearless when participating in the cases. The hardest part of the job is remembering the new instruments that I was not expose to in school. For example it was difficult for me to remember some of the instruments used for nureo cases but with the help of the surgical tech that I was with, I was able to remember them. I enjoyed working at Riverside Community Hospital because I was fortunate to experience multiple types of surgeries and I was grateful to scrub into the cases as well – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), Riverside, CAApril 10, 2014
It was a great place to work the only downfall was i was working through a temp angency and my boss was
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Work/Life Balance, Severely Short-Staffed in Accounting/Finance
Accountant (Former Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 21, 2014
CONS:
- No work life balance, worked almost all weekends and very late evenings. Very uncommon schedule for non-managerial accounting positions. No time for anything but work.
- PTO includes holidays and sick time - this means you won't get paid for holidays until you have been there a few months and you probably won't want to take sick time because – more... that will cut into your vacation time
- Deceptive Job Posting. Beware of short job posting details, doesn't describe half the actual work or the workload. Won't find out until you're already working. Mine didn't mention payroll once, and I ended up being responsible for the review and accuracy of +1,900 employees' payroll.
- Very cutthroat & High Turnover. Many senior management or tenured employees termed or demoted often, little notice. I printed termination checks everyday.
- Budget cuts as bad as elsewhere. Bring your own coffee, water, cups, etc..or stop by cafeteria

PROS: - Free HMO Medical, Cheap Dental & Vision
- Awesome Cafeteria. Great Food w/ constant new menu options. 30% employee discount
- Free Parking and Nearby
- Rare Concierge Service that will run errands for you while you work. Cheap Admission Tickets to movies, theme parks, etc.
- Employees who have been there for many years have a great heart and are very descent people. They are usually kind,friendly and helpful. It's those new management people you have to be careful with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 18, 2014
A typical day at work was filing charts, putting loose paper in charts, locating charts for physicians, picking charts from all the floors from the hospital and also making copies of the charts and sending them out to the facilities that the patient will be transferring to. I had a good experience at the hospital. I learned new things and met new people. – more... My co-workers were very nice to me and helped me in things where I needed help on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to intern....learing a lot of different areas of the hospital
Clinical Care Volunteer/CNA (Current Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: parking and shuttles
The CCV program at Riverside Community Hospital is a great learning experience to learn about all different sorts of care within each department. Every three months I get to rotate to a different floor, allowing for a large variety of care and experience. Along with the different floors I also get to meet a variety of staff. It is a great opportunity – more... and fun as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Staff RN (Former Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 11, 2014
Cons: too busy, wants a change and challenge
4 Mother-babies assignment
Assessment, Diagnosis, Plan, Intervention and evaluation of mother and her baby.
Post partum or Cesarean section and their babies.
Assisting with bonding, skin to skin, breastfeeding.
Education for post-op, complications prevention, ambulation, infection prevention in abdominal incision or perineum with hygiene, nutrition, – more... post partum depression.
Assist co-worker as needed when they are too loaded.
Excellent manager, occasionally overworked, over ratio,
Love teaching and educating and see that they absorbs your teaching seeing changes in their deeds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and always learning environment
RN preceptor (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: quiet environment
Cons: night shift mixed with school
This was my preceptorship and I worked night shifts with a nurse on a telemetry unit. I would begin my night by learning all I could about the patients we would be caring for that night and getting shift report from the previous nurse. We would do our rounds to check on each patient, we usually had 4 and we would do the first set of vitals. We would – more... then look and see what medications were due first and to which patient and distribute those. I learned a lot during this time about time management and caring for the needs of four patients. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the nurses on the shift, getting to know them and also being there for the patients. The hardest part of this time was working at night. It was my first night shift job and was difficult to manage with school during the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital to work for.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: being a team player. the hospital overall takes care of the employees.
Cons: working double shifts.
Get report from a tape recorder and then go assess my patients. Administer medicines and assess wounds. This hospital is on a computer system for all patient information and I had to learn how to use it. They were short staffed at times which I worked double shifts. The hardest part of the job is having patients that are combative and having to restrain – more... them to the bed. I like helping patients get better any way that I can. Wound care is easy for me to handle so that when another nurse can't , I will help out and do it. – less

About Riverside Community Hospital

HCA dispenses TLC for a profit. HCA Holdings, through HCA, Inc. (Hospital Corporation of America) operates more than 160 acute – Read more