Find companies:
Riverside Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Riverside Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Riverside Health System was an awesome employer to have worked with.
Medical Transcriptionist/Editor (Former Employee), Newport News, VASeptember 6, 2014
Pros: a lot of benefits to include being recognized for a job well done, bonuses and, yes, free meals and ability to work from home.
Cons: a difficult report requiring extra time to transcribe, dictators misnaming a type of report requiring editing the whole report.
The Management and Human Resources Departments always held their employees in their best interests. A typical day at work would be greeting co-workers, then getting down to the nitty-gritty of the day. Great emphasis was placed on teamwork and management was always easy to approach. One of the hardest part of my job was understanding foreign accent – more... dictators which took a lot of patience and a lot of correspondence but would get easier with time. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with excellent co-workers who were willing to help at any time. Every employee that I had contact with, either at Riverside Walter Reed Hospital, Internal Medicine of Gloucester and Riverside Regional Medical Center were all a pleasure to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long time employee and loving it
lab (Current Employee), WilliamsburgAugust 31, 2014
Pros: there for the patient
Cons: low pay benefits
I have been employed by this organization for approx 13 years. I have worked for a competitor for approx 3 weeks and nothing compares. I love working for RHS. True every organization has its faults. Pay is low compared to competitors and health insurance isnt all that great but after working in a very stressful environment in a competitors lab I came – more... back to my home and family which was Riverside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Newport News, VAAugust 25, 2014
Protocol driven respiratory department. Very busy hospital. I worked nightshift. staff is friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat workplace
Patient Accounting- Customer Service (Current Employee), Newport News, VAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: full time
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work involves constant communications with patients regarding a bill or eob they received and would like an understanding of. I learned that patience is a learned behavior. Management is amazing! They are always there to assist you and make things as easy as possible for you. My coworkers are fun loving and knowledgeable of their job. – more... The hardest part of the job is when sometimes some patients don't fully understand the type of insurance they have and the contract that they are in. The most enjoyable part of the job is that I have one. Just kidding. It would be the fact that I can help people and/or someone everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is different from facility to facility, but health system human resources tries to train managers to be fair
Manager (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: lack of trust amongst managment
Management at each facility operates differently. Found the mgmt. team at specific facilities to show favorites. It was difficult for some employees to work in these conditions and moral was very low. Employee surveys were pushed to gather feedback but employees were often afraid to share in fear of retaliation from their direct report at smaller facilities. – more... Moral will remain low until this issue is addressed directly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Child Care Teacher (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJune 30, 2014
Fun place to work. The staff and clients were very nice. The best part was seeing the kids so happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly coworkers working together as a team
Sitter (Former Employee), Newport News, VAFebruary 27, 2014
Fun place to work, always something new going on. Management is great and super friendly! Learned the proper way to take care of a patient and how to maintain safety in a hospital environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was worse than being back in highschool.
staff (Former Employee), Riverside Behavioral HealthJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: some very great people to work with
Cons: the great coworkers dont stay around long
Each location is different, so I can only comment on the behavioral health center when I say that I have never encountered such under-handed, unprofessional, and narcissistic displays of political behavior - and I'm from the northeast!
Despite the mandate to voice concerns and to suggest improvements, management lables vocal employees as "trouble makers" – more... or "complainers" and then launches smear campaigns based on exaggeration, rumors, and poor communication to build grounds to terminate the employee.
If you choose to work there keep your head down, get EVERYTHING in writing, and keep records of ALL communication with management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Newport News, VAJanuary 18, 2014
A typical day on the job involves a lot of compassion and patience. The most enjoyable part of my day is being able to help someone. Not all interactions are favorable but when you get just one that expresses appreciation it makes it all worth it. To know that I had a hand it helping a patient get what they need is a reward in itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good business
Dietary Attendant (Current Employee), Smithfield, VAJanuary 11, 2014
You have to know the setting you are comfortable in, but once you find a staff that you fit in with I believe Riverside is a good choice for employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work enviroment
Centralized Scheduler/Insurance Verication (Former Employee), Tappahannock, VADecember 13, 2013
Pros: job sercurity
Chained to a desk for scheduling. Not a negative, just very busy and fast pace. Everyone worked great together an coverage was nice and a team atmospher..Patient care was gradifing..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Riverside
Riverside (Former Employee), Newport News, VADecember 2, 2013
Great people to work with. Very good environment. I wish there was more upward mobility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxed place to work
Director of Rehabilitation - The Orchard (Current Employee), Newport News, VANovember 12, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: long distance from home
Bright and cheerful environment, very patient centered. I supervise two PT's, two OT's, and 1 SLP. Manage overall profitability, compliance, productivity, quality, and equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DME is just a hot mess
Respiratory Therapist DME (Former Employee), Newport New, VAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: you can call out and have no consequence
Cons: no team work
The director is a non-clinical and does not back up her employees. She is never in the office and if she is there it’s like she is not there. She has her customer service reps run the company. There are too many chiefs and not enough Indians. You are the only one with a Licenses and customer service is given wrong info to customers concerning respiratory, – more... you present this to the director and she defends customer service. Delivery drivers set patients up on oxygen and do not follow policy of NC length to liter flow. They leave Oxygen tanks standing without any holders (VERY DANGERIOUS). The director will yell out her door if she is mad at you that she will firer you so all employees hear her. The customer service reps and reimbursement specialist do their work out (exercise) every 30 minutes whether boss is there or not. Not organized at all, one day you can do something but it’s different the next day. No consistency at ALL. If you do not care about your license as a Respiratory Therapist this is the job for you. When I started there I had no computer, no phone line and no Director to direct me what to do and where to go. And other employees had no clue what to have me do. I had to pretty much teach myself. There is no team work or any consequences for your actions. Staff brings their kids to work and so does the director if they do not have child care. The customer service reps are so loud you cannot even hear the patients when you are on the phone with them, because they are messing around. This has all been brought to the director’s attention and her response was “don’t worry about what they do”. I like to enjoy my work environment and have fun but there is a time and place for it. Never have I ever worked for a company that has been so unorganized and wasted so much un-needed over time and money. Employees dating each other and were married at the time. It’s just a mess. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PACE
Site Director, PACE (Current Employee), Petersburg, VAJuly 28, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
I had the opportunity to open a new PACE program in the Petersburg area. A typical day was very busy. The management was under a lot of stress in regards to making this new program successful. My co workers were like family. The environment created in Petersburg was very supportive. The hardest part of the job was growing the new program the most enjoyable – more... part of the job was being part of allowing people to age in place and have a quality life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to learn and work.
Procurement Agent II (Current Employee), Supply Chain ManagementJune 25, 2013
I have learned much in the Healthcare spectrum. I have worked in Supply Chain Management for close to 6 years as a buyer. I have enhanced my purchasing knowledge 10 fold.

Riverside Supply Chain is located in Newport News, VA. I enjoy knowing I am helping patients get their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding profession
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), riverside rehabilitationApril 29, 2013
This job was a great opportunity to build a nursing foundation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of It
EVS (Former Employee), NNMarch 25, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: check my review
-Lack of Customer Skills
-High Volumes of Disrespect
-Management is a joke
I use to work here and it's sad that they do not believe in second chances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Riverside is huge so this might vary from branch to branch
SW (Former Employee), VirginiaDecember 7, 2012
but I worked in their Lifelong Heath division. My local group was wonderful...great talent, great environment but, when numbers weren't as expected, hatchet men brought in and scare tactics employed. Benefits are bad. Two weeks vacation and "12' days of sick BUT you can't use your sick time until t
he THIRD day you are out...until then, you have to – more... use your vacation time. Never heard of anything so punitive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go any dept in Riverside but this one!!!!!!!
Insurance Verification Coordinator (Former Employee), Newport News, VANovember 16, 2012
Pros: 10 mins from home, coworkers are great!
Cons: black sheep dept of riverside, mngmnt was incredulous, uncaring
I moved from up north where I worked for 3 teaching hospitals for Harvard University. I quickly realized that hospitals in Virginia are VERY DIFFERENT. I believe Riverside is a decent place to work for but 1. It was hard for me to accept that after taking a $15,000 pay cut that I was still making less than I did 12yrs ago??? Not mention my medical premiums – more... doubled..(Am I still in the same country???) 2. Insurance Verification is in the Call Center which includes Pt Accts and Central Scheduling. I worked here 20 months and I was the 25th person to leave or be fired from this dept, starting from my 1st day. The quickest lasted 1 week and she decided she didn't like it, she had seen enough, a few just went to lunch after crying and never came back. This dept will over work you, stress you out, make you work overtime but not pay you, if you have an accident on the way to work you will get an occurence/be penalized for it, but a mngrs dog dies and she get 3 days off w/o an occurrence. The hopes of transferring will only happen if the director ABSOLUTELY LIKES YOU. I only saw this happen 2x, though more than 10 have tried. Mgmnt will micro manage you to no end, smile in your face and write you up for nonsense, then smile again, all in 1 day. I've had many stressful jobs in past but this was the worst job/dept I've EVER WORKED FOR!!! If you want a new job that will crush your joy of working ... then Riverside's call center is the place for you. If you read this an decide not to apply, just have sigh of relief, that a stranger just gave you a blessing. The 1 positive I will say about this dept., thought it is a Call Center with about 40 women, there was little to no caddiness and my former coworkers were some of the best women I've met! Ladies keep praying, you will get out of Alcatraz..

For those of you that dare venture into this dept.... Go with God! And remember, I told you so....... SORRY!!!!! – less