RJ Reynolds Tobacco Co

50 reviews

RJ Reynolds Tobacco Co Employee Reviews

Showing all 50 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Job
Line Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tobaccoville, NCFebruary 5, 2016
It's was a job before I enlisted in the army. Wasn't too stressful nor demanding. Pretty good working environment. I would work there again if I had too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start for new grads
Territory Manager/ Trade Marketing (Current Employee) –  Northglenn, COJanuary 4, 2016
Its a great company with an awesome culture. You will have a lot of great experience while you're there. You will learn a lot from a 500 fortune company. A lot of room to grow if you are looking for a long term career.
Pros
a lot of great benefits
Cons
work life balance is not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that looks after their people
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  ColoradoDecember 26, 2015
The company takes care of their employees and makes sure that your well-being is put first. They have a great benefits structure and if you work hard you will be promoted.

Management was fantastic as they made the culture a high performing environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid job
Trade Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WADecember 8, 2015
I work for RJ Reynolds for 7 years. The job is basically fighting for merchandising space and consumer engagements. Evil industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Letdown
IT Dept (Former Employee) –  Winston SalemNovember 20, 2015
I was an employee at RJR and could not think of a worse work environment or workplace to be a part of. This company offers you little training in your role, has unrealistic expectations and deadlines within the IT dept. and has a hostile and racist culture I have never seen before. There have been minority employees in the same role for many years without being considered for any promotions whatsoever, all the while other non-minority employees coming in from other non-related departments and fields that were unrelated to the IT dept. got consistent raises and/or promotions almost every 2 years. I would not encourage any one who is a minority to come to this company. Bad culture, bad management, extra thick glass ceiling for minorities. The belief is that if you are a minority there that you should just be happy that they have employed you or else.
Pros
Professionalism
Cons
Management structure, Culture, Diversity in management, Unfair treatment towards minorities
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work history covers many different types of jobs
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCOctober 31, 2015
I worked for RJR for 25 years and enjoyed working with the all
of my jobs, it was a wonderful company to work for.
I took early retirement when they started downsizing.
Since my reirement I have done several things, I ran and owned
a gift shop and after that went into florist business and enjoyed
meeting and helping customers with flower orders,after closing
florist I have been doing demos for different company's, I am a people
person and like doing this type of work, it is enjoyable to meet
and talk with people while giving and talking about the samples.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandised in chain accounts
Retail Representative (Former Employee) –  Winston Salem NCOctober 23, 2015
I was responsible for making retail calls in chains. My accountablities was merchandising to make sure product was instore. Really liked my team members. The company management was well informed on direction in work environment. Received awards for Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Person of the year for 2 years.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
downsized
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a hard job
Territory Manager Level 3 (Former Employee) –  grand rapids, miOctober 6, 2015
it was ok, good pay. managers were short sighted. company struggled in competing with Philip morris. had to buy another competitor in order to survive. sales are steadily dropping and they are struggling to make enough money to pacify stock holders.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Work Life Balance
Territory Manager / Trade Marketing (Current Employee) –  TexasOctober 6, 2015
Micro Management Over Worked,Heavy work load, and promotions are based on who you know. Use to be a great place to work however, will not refer any of my friends or family.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Direct Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forklift skill stand up an seated Electric and Protane
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Salem, NCSeptember 25, 2015
Forklift inspection before operating load trucks unload 45-1 hour always looking booth ways safety first motivational place to work very friendly scanner bulk orders
Pros
Company Gym
Cons
Benefits are wonderful
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3

Want to know more about RJ Reynolds Tobacco Co?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tobacco sales
Territory Manager III (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 15, 2015
High performing culture
Flexible work life balance
Very little training, responsible for your own development
Declining MARKET
Great benefits/ descent compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work at your own pace as long as you get the job done.
Territory Manager III (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 2, 2015
My goal is to come up with ways to grow our promoted brands (Camel, Pall Mall and Newport) within my market place / territory.
Pros
3 wks. vacation 1st yr., 4 wks vacation after 5 yrs., 5 wks after 10 yrs.
Cons
Declining industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Marks for RJR
Boxbuilder (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJuly 30, 2015
I enjoyed working at RJR. I got to learn the process of how the tobacco product is blended, sent through a wet, then drying process. The finished product is then sent to what is called the stock chest where there are two chargers that alternate to fill the boxes. The boxes are brought to the scales at the platform by conveyer where they are weighed and shipped out. I would say the hardest part of this job was dealing with the extreme heat, temperatures at times reaching 110 degrees. I mostly enjoyed working the platform as it was more mentally challenging for me.
I couldn't have asked for better co-workers or people in management to work with. We all worked very well together as a team to ensure that production was a success every 12 hours of our four-day week.
Pros
Loved the management & their sincerity and pride they take in their jobs
Cons
The heat and the job so physically draining at times
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be prepared for no life you will take tests on line and then manager will quiz you also
territory manager III (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVMay 17, 2015
be prepared for not having any free time you will have to be certified as a tobacco expert do online testing and your manager will test you also if you dont pass you will not be able to advance. Constantly calculating penny profit or margin make sure accounts follow contract, if not you pentalize them (basically you are tobacco police) be prepared to be hard core to your accounts if they do not follow contract
Pros
expense account all paid
Cons
fighting for shelf space and you must know competitor contract ie marlboro
Was this review helpful?Yes16No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJApril 7, 2015
You don't have to worry about a boss on your back daily, you get to control your day and you are empowered to make decisions that will benefit your territory. I learned how to manage my day without supervision, reach out to teammates for assistance/decision making and to maximize my relationships to ensure that I am getting the best out of any circumstance.
Pros
work life balance/ advancement opportunities
Cons
hard to relocate
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of freedom
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  BurbankMarch 19, 2015
Very about the employee. Very willing to work with you. As long as you showed you know how to do your job, no one would mess with you. Awesome management.
Pros
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unclear Expectations, Unclear vision
Trade Marketing Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Midwest RegionDecember 1, 2014
RJ Reynolds sets forth unclear guidelines and expectations for their employees, expecting growth and results in an overall declining marketplace. You are constantly "on call", always required to answer calls from your manager and clients, and answer emails at all times of the day/night/weekend.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
TERRITORY MANAGER III (Current Employee) –  AZOctober 6, 2014
Ability to be your own boss and manage your sales territory.
Cons
stalled promotions with little to no merit based promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes11No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Territory Manager Stockton Ca
Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  Stockton CaSeptember 18, 2014
No time for personnel life, micro Manage, Manager not approachable,
only communicates through e-mail, training is terrible.
Pros
car
Cons
management, trainning, gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start off but not stay
Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  College Station, TXSeptember 10, 2014
Good company to start at right after college, but not a place you want to stay at forever. While the job has a lot of autonomy, the day-to-day gets repetitive and boring. The compensation is competitive (9% 401k matching, free car for personal use), but it's really the only reason to stick it out.
Pros
free car, good benefits, autonomy
Cons
repetitive job, not a lot of creativity
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture