Find companies:
RJ Reynolds Tobacco
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

RJ Reynolds Tobacco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and really wonderful workplace to work with a gym to keep in shape.
Plant Sevice Attendant/Forklift Drive (Former Employee), Salem, NCFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: good salary, sick leave pay, bonus each year
Cons: wonderful healthcare benefits
It was an enjoyable place to work , the atmosphere was pleasant, the workers were great and always there there to help you. The management were awesome and always willing to listen to your ideas about things to improve the job.I learned a lot about safety and also the negativity about tobacco products. The hardest part of my job was saddened when after – more... 22 years in the tobacco corporation they came in and out sourced our jobs to temporary workers, and leaving from a Union job and going to a Non Union job, The most enjoyable part was that I enjoyed going to work each night with good benefits, sick leave pay, vacation pay, and good salary, and agood place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Territory Manager/ Trade Marketing (Former Employee), MidwestDecember 31, 2013
I very much enjoyed my time at RJ Reynolds. A very good company that really seems to care about their customers and employees alike.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside sales, proactive and independent culture.
Trade Marketing territory Manager (Former Employee), Miami Lakes, MiamiNovember 14, 2013
Pros: great health care beenfits, vehicle, flexible hours
Cons: worklife balance achievement was hard to accomplish
Working with Reynolds allowed me to embrace lonely work, every day I had to visit 8-10 stores and ensure that contract requirements were being fulfilled.

I learned how to manage pricing structures, how to address customers and consumers as well need base selling skills.

I participated in several Management seminars that included Presentation Skills – more... classes as well as Coaching and two way open communication with piers and Management. During my time at this company I was able to meet and work with our Regional Director as well as several Division Managers within the Region.

The hardest part of the job was managing work life balance because of the tasks that were asked by our customers, tasks such as working on a Saturday of during peak hours for sales.

The most enjoyable part was the recognition for all the hard work, we had meetings and luncheons in appreciation. I had a strong and wonderful bond with my co-workers and manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with strong Core Values and job flexibility
Territory Manager, North Texas & Dallas (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: flexible work times, great work life balance, excellent sales and marketing training.
Cons: no commission structure and bonus levels are determined by a ratings panel. (very pollitical)
This company is one of the market leaders in the tobacco industry. working here has given me great insights into the consumer product goods industry. RJ Reynolds is truly revolutionizing the tobacco industry in regards to both the tobacco products offered to consumers and in how they conduct business with their customers. On a typical day, we would – more... meet with our customers with the intentions of growing their sales on RJ Reynolds tobacco brands and increasing revenues for retailer selling our products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule and a good quality of life outside work
Account Manager, Richmond Region (Current Employee), Salem, NCSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: overnight hotel stays with meals expensed, company car, cell phone/ internet paid for. travel, meeting/creating new cusmers.
Cons: products we sell.
A typical day at work involves meeting with chain account owners, meeting with wholesalers, setting up meetings, relaying information to territory managers in the field.

Having multiple training in critical selling skills, customer engagement, manager training, and business development has furthered my knowledge and skills as a manager.

I work with – more... people all over the country who have left their hometowns to work for RJ Reynolds. My co-workers are very competitive and self motivated. We all feed off each others drive to create best business practices and bring the utmost professionalism to our customers.

The hardest part of the job is selling a product with no passion behind it. I want to sell/promote products I believe in, I care about, and am passionate about. This is my biggest challenge.

I love to travel and meet new people. I travel all over Virginia meeting new customers and new co-workers. I enjoy running meetings and bringing our company together to further our growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to start a sales career
Territory Manager III (Current Employee), New JerseyAugust 29, 2013
Its a decent place to start off but there are limited growth opportunities if you don't have 100% mobility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RJ Reynolds Tobacco
Territory Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 17, 2013
Pros: company car, full benefits
Cons: highly redundant, direct supervisor makes the or breaks the job
Good benefits, direct manager makes the job, no clear path to advancement, lot of rinse and repeat
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a good time working here
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 16, 2013
It was a great company to work for, Ok pay,9-5,m-f , company car but because of the goverment and coming down on tobacco co. my
job would have been one of the first to go
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent succession plan for the development of the employees
Supply Chain Manager (Former Employee), PRMay 6, 2013
Pros: teamwork and family ambient
Coordinate Shipments activities such as: booking, create BOL, shipment advisory and invoice process thru E Pass. Maintain Planning and Inventory Control records. Analyze MRP report and procure materials according to requirements. Develop Planning, production scheduling, logistic, Purchasing and warehouse operations (receiving, warehousing, and shipping). – more... Senior Operations Manager back up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great deal of tobacco process knowledge obtained
QA Auditor (Current Employee), Salem, NCMarch 3, 2013
Pros: excellent help from co-workers
Cons: expensive benefits
Typical day is learning different brands of tobacco and get help from retiring co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work. paid travel and business trips. company car with gas amex paid internet
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 4, 2012
Pros: company car free gas, free travel paid internet
Cons: managers job security and relocation
Great place to work if u have a good manager because your manager have to come on visits with you to view your work. Awesome benefits. Company car paid internet bill. Amex card
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere where every day is different!
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Salisbury, MDAugust 24, 2012
Pros: paid company car and fuel
Cons: isolation from co-workers and the feeling of being "alone on an island"
A typical day for me at RJ Reynolds would be visiting anywhere from 5 to 7 different locations where I oversee all of the product availability, pricing, presence, and promotions for the company. During my visits I speak with the key decision makers about where they stand in their market place and ways to improve and grow their respect businesses as – more... well develop relationships with them. Additionally, I will explain to them the profitability behind our brands in order to get them behind our programs and drive our business while I am not in the store to assist them.
During my time at Reynolds I have learned a multitude of things such as time managerment, multi-tasking, and become an expert at business building activities.
The hardest part of my job is the fact that I do not see any co-workers unless their is a large function for us all to get together which really isloates you from the rest of the team and makes it hard if you have a problem to really get clairfication on an opportunity that effects the business. Furthermore, RJ Reynolds empowers each Territory Manager to become the President of their territory and make the key decisions in order to grow the buiness and aid in the long term growth of our company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Quakertown, PAAugust 9, 2012
Pros: company car, salary, benefits
Cons: no overtime pay
A typical day at work was going into at least ten gas stations or stores that had a contract with us in my territory and make sure they were obiding by there contract, making sure the store was FDA compliant, and updating there marketing materials for our company. I leared a lot about the FDA requirements, how to write up a contract, and how to check – more... to make sure everyone was obiding by it. I also leared how to cancel contracts if requirements were not being met. My co-workers were very influencial, we were all a great team and worked well together. The hardest part of this job was keeping every single store compliant with the contract. Phillip Morris was our biggest competitor so always going up against them was difficult when they were always changing there contract around. The most enjoyable part of this job was the independent factor. I drove around all day and made my schedule the night before so I knew everyday waking up where I would be going and who I would seeing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Tobacco Industry is very challenging, but we were given proper training to help each employee suceed.
Territory Manager III (Current Employee), Berkeley, CAJune 26, 2012
Pros: company car, work from home
Cons: long hours, lots of alone time
It can be hard driving in your car every day to and from accounts. However, knowing that each of your coworkers experiences the same thing brings everyone closer. There is a different type of bond at RJRT that doesn't exist in many companies. We are all Type 'A' personalities, young, and driven. Because of this, I'm sure its a good thing that we don't – more... sit next to each other every day. Meetings are full of energy, great food, and team bonding activities. It's a great mixture or corporate America meets the Greek system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 31, 2012
Pros: yearly sales traiining
Cons: traveling
great 401K, I merchandise product , placed promotions and make sure that stock levels were according to contract compliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a great company to work for
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCMay 1, 2012
Pros: working on your own, meeting new people, great company overall
Cons: hiring new people from outside the company, no room for advancement
A typical day at work would be to plan my calls for the day,plan what had to be done in each call and what I would have to bring to the call.Working at this job showed me haow it is working with clustomers on the road and how to deal with customers.My co-workers were all very helpful whenever needed.The hardest part of the job was organizing your day – more... to make the most of your time.The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and helping them with the sale of our products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if you can't find anything else
Territory Marketing Manager (Current Employee), UtahApril 11, 2012
Pros: company car
Cons: declining industy, micro management, no advancement, bad compensation
The job is extremely micro managed, I actually had my customer complain on the way my manager micro manages when he works with me. Only good if you’re looking for some experience after college. I would not recommend this job unless it’s our last option. Advancement is limited, the industry is declining 3% a year, and the company keeps cutting cost. – more... The salary is not competitive. The whole job various on the manager you get, and your reviews are based on his/her mode on the day they work with you. The only good thing about the job is you get a company car and 401k, but that’s about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for in a Declining Industry
TERRITORY MANAGER (Current Employee), St Louis, MOApril 3, 2012
Pros: great people
Cons: admin
You establish your own work schedule that enhances the business within your organizational unit. You are the CEO of your assignment and it up to you to optimize sales.
I learned a considerable amount about retail and how to enhance sales, profitability and how to commit to the demand of customers' needs.
I have yet to meet an employee with RJ Reynolds – more... that I do not like and respect.
It's a wonderful job with great benefits and freedom. It's only negative is having a consistent goal and strategy on how to grow business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with awesome benefits.
Retail Representative (Former Employee), Denver, CODecember 7, 2011
Pros: great benefits!
Awesome company to work for! Unfortunately, I was laid off due to changes in job definitions.