RMSI Employee Reviews

Found 61 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guaranteed easy filler work for in between school/work
Night Stocker (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAFebruary 20, 2017
As simply as I can say, it is the easiest job in the world to get if you can just get through the application process and have reliable transportation. Be aware, that this company hires mostly people with little to no education, the work hours will turn your days upside down, and the work is dull and boring. That being said I would really only recommend this job to someone who was truly in need of work and is willing to tolerate with a lot of negatives in order to make some money.
Pros
Travel pay
Cons
hours, occasional tight quarters, too many uneducated people with political opinions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conversion Project in Safeways across NorCal
Conversion Scanner (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAJanuary 25, 2017
We work in 2 teams, fronters and scanners. The fronters position each product to have the barcode facing outside while the scanners come by and scan each product bay by bay. If a product is missing we use the products upc code.
Pros
Relaxed Work Enviroment
Cons
Late night hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job
Mandate Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 19, 2017
the work environment always seemed stressful always short handed. Supervisor was not prepared or on time for work. Just one good supervisor out of 3.

I learned a lot there. Employees came and went as they please leaving us with more work then we could handle.

I like doing resets and working on a team or independently. Managements behavior was too much.
Pros
good work experience
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Remote Recruiter Position
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 5, 2017
Absolutely terrible micro management from a inexperienced recruiter manager at corporate office who was hired as a friend of the HR director. Continually hired inexperienced people based on personal preference not merit or talent.

Recruiter manager did not know tax regulations, labor laws or even how to remotely recruit. Nepotism runs rampant in this company with little to no experience of upper management employees.

Rule of thumb at Rmsi is not what you know but who you know.

Turnover is nearly at 90%. Both my Trainer, my direct Supervisor and my co-recruiter all quit within 12 months.

Employee beware.
Pros
Excellent Remote Recruiting Position
Cons
Everything else...
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy bodies overnight in a relaxing atmosphere
RESET CREW (Current Employee) –  Ventura County, CADecember 31, 2016
We work overnights from 10 pm - 6 am (or whenever finished) reorganizing shelves and product too match the given schematics at different Vons around the county. Management is very straight forward, relaxed, and all around makes you feel comfortable. My coworkers all aim to get the job done as efficiently as possible and are great communicating needs too. The most enjoyable part of the job is how relaxed it is; you go in, get your schematic, grab the necessary tools, and get to work. There is not much stress because the work is pretty straight forward and there isn't much of a distraction to sway you from your job since it's overnight. The hardest part of the job would be the fact that its overnight. You get used to it eventually but it can be to stay awake if you didn't nap prior to your shift.
Pros
relaxed environment, easy work, small crew, no drama
Cons
low pay, no benefits, gas wasted to travel around the county
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tolerable work environment
Retail Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 5, 2016
While the job can be fast paced at times, there is a lot of "hurry up and wait" where nothing can get done for a few days, but you have to show up anyway.
Management leaves a lot to be desired, with lack of direction towards the lower employees. The company will preach low tolerance of misbehavior, and yet does nothing to control the employees that choose not to follow the rules.
The most enjoyable part of the job in the general interaction with customers and store employees.
Pros
Decent pay and a relative guarantee of full time work
Cons
no health care for the first year
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to work for
Wave Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 25, 2016
The job itself is pretty straight forward. However, due to the lack of communication between the client stores & RMSI leadership; you were never guaranteed to be working on any night, even when scheduled. Usually you'd find out you weren't working, after you had already arrived at the client location. For people that drove long distances to get to the location, this was very frustrating.
Pros
Good teams
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for people with no family
entry level (Former Employee) –  so calAugust 25, 2016
no training,poor field managers.If you like your family this job is not for you.If you want to avoid a drug test this is the job for you.You can do better in fast food or any construcion job.BEWARE
Pros
if you cant pass a drug test this is the place to work
Cons
expected to know what to do with no training/sneaky manager-ROBERTO
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be a fun and perfect job if communication and equality were present
Merchandiser/Sales (Current Employee) –  northern ca.July 28, 2016
Grab your schematic (reset project and go) Iearnrd just because a person has a job title doesn't mean they are fit. it is basically trial and error. some crews do not warm to new people or differentially. where i work they are clicked up and there is no one to bring your issues. things are one-sided and fabled. The co workers not friendly at all. out of 4 to 8 on my crew there is 1 person who is warming. the hardest part about the nor cal crew is knowing your peers and management don't want you there there is no assistance what so ever.you are told to call yet your calls and msgs are never answered let alone returned. the same goes with the person who oversees this sector. over all Rmsi could be awesome company if it actually mirrored/ reflected what it is promoted to be
Pros
mileage, and hotels
Cons
unorganized, inconsistent, no equality, no training or assistance, your voice is not heard when brung to a superior
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rmsi
Merchandising (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 23, 2016
RMSI is a good company to work for with flexible scheduling. Pay and communication could be a little better though. Great people to work with.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Lead Manager (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 23, 2016
Reset shelves and manage store shelf space.
Nice secondary job
Constant work on feet
Hours are not consistent
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and friendly enviroment
MERCHANDISER (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 27, 2016
every night id work the employees I worked with were very friendly and easy to work with. Days at work were very long and exhausting but long as the work got done. Hardest part was sometimes big crates that were really heavy.
Pros
nice lunch breaks
Cons
time periods
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Reset Specialist and Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia PAJune 18, 2016
A typical day consists of hard work. This is not an easy job but it is fulfilling and it keeps you on your toes. If you're flexible and can adapt this is a great job.
Pros
Different envronment, good pay
Cons
Work can be stressful, people can bepetty
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, friendly co-workers
Merchandiser, Team member (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CAJune 5, 2016
A typical day or night at work depending on which position you get is always an 8 hour shift. You are kept busy and on your feet the whole time, great way to get through the work day is to stay busy. I learned a lot of things about vendors and improving my customer service skills. The management is great, they really care about their employees.
Pros
Get to travel, Paid for mileage
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a side job its great, as the main source of income do not apply
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  OregonMarch 23, 2016
Making your own schedule is great and if you do not mind driving that is great as well. However the projects can be very quick and therefore not clock in very many hours, even though managers will tell you other wise. They will let you believe you will work almost 40 hours when there are times you will work barely 5 hours in some weeks. Also, during holidays you will not work the whole week and management does not say this when you are being hired. If you want this as a side job its great, as the main source of income do not apply, they do not comply with that they agree upon. They keep saying next will you will get more hours and have you like that for months. Now I understand why they are frequently hiring people.
Pros
You make your own schedule
Cons
Not enough hours and management does not tell you exactly what is happening.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Overview
Logistics Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Livermore, CAJanuary 31, 2016
The work is fun and intense. Mostly the work hours are at night and early in the morning. Hard to work schedule sometimes. The scheduling is usually a last minute priority. The hours are not steady. They can range from -0- to 40. Can't depend on a regular work schedule. The company is aggressive and working to produce more work. Very little promotion structure .
Pros
Work is fun and you get some satisfaction in this type of work.
Cons
No regular hours or promotion structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  So CalDecember 30, 2015
Worked here for 3 years and never received a raise.
How employees don't complain to the EDD for not being reimbursed properly. Always had to buy my own paper and cartridge. Company was too cheap to reimburse.

Time to move on to better companies to work for!
Pros
none
Cons
everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes28No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like the work but they dont treat their employees very good
re-set merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CANovember 21, 2015
doing resets in grocery stores
i enjoy the work just wish they treated people better
if you make your lead mad they cut your hours..
Was this review helpful?Yes22No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mislead at the beginning and after
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Bend/Redmond/Madras/Burns OregonNovember 20, 2015
Well, first off, I lasted two day with these people. First, I was misinformed of the scheduled days. I was told Sun-Weds which fit great. Then it went to Mon-Thurs which did not at all. I also found out after starting and asking questions, that there were a significant number of "breaks" in-between the work schedule. Most were two weeks in length and the fourth quarter was a joke if you have bills to pay. No benefits what so ever and you are PT. You can do a lot better elsewhere. BEWARE!!
Pros
None
Cons
Part time only, no benefits, unknown schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes23No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was part of a great team of people and it was a fun atmosphere to work .
Retail Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CASeptember 5, 2015
I worked with some really great people, I learned so much more with this company, the night shift was the perfect shift for me. The company didn't inform us that there is no hours available because of the Albertson's buy out so they left so many employee's jobless, not happy with the way they handled the situation at all.
Pros
made new friends
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RMSI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 88 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4