Find companies:
Rochester General Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
83 reviews

Rochester General Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 1, 2014
Great place to work.

Enjoyed brewing coffee each day, giving out the daily specials for lunch.

Enjoyed talking to people from all different occupations.

Most of all i enjoyed the people I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 24, 2014
Very fast past and challenging at times, but found it durable..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love RGH
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), monroe CountyJune 5, 2014
Pros: very nice work culture
Cons: drive all over the county on only an hrs notice/no full time positions
They have been very supportive of me being a full time student. But as I finish school I will need a full time job to provide for my family. or another part time. The managers are very warm and personable. If you love to drive meet new ppl daily and work at a new place daily this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't transfer out of department
customer service (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMay 7, 2014
Pros: onsite subway
Cons: no advancement, poor managment
Worked here for 4 years, while in school. when completed my degree I tried to transfer into a different department (accounting) , so that I can utilize my degree. I was told by HR that I don't qualify for an entry level position and need more experience. I was under the impression that entry level was considered a new graduate but any ways I am leaving – more... and will never come back to work for RGH. It took HR 3 months to tell me that. I could have been looking else where for employment. Management doesn't care much for how employees want to grow and move on so they block you from transferring out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't transfer out of department
customer service (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMay 7, 2014
Pros: onsite subway
Cons: no advancement, poor managment
Worked here for 4 years, while in school. when completed my degree I tried to transfer into a different department (accounting) , so that I can utilize my degree. I was told by HR that I don't qualify for an entry level position and need more experience. I was under the impression that entry level was considered a new graduate but any ways I am leaving – more... and will never come back to work for RGH. It took HR 3 months to tell me that. I could have been looking else where for employment. Management doesn't care much for how employees want to grow and move on so they block you from transferring out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting people around the hospital.
A.V.P (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 22, 2014
Pros: tips
Cons: working in bad weather.
Give directions around the hospital and park cars for employees and patients cars
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
access associate (Former Employee), radiologyMarch 27, 2014
Pros: getting free meal tickets and or gift certificates.
Cons: sometimes not taking a lunch in order to meet my workload for the day.
The people there most of them I worked with all of my twelve years there. It was a fun place to work most of the time. We would have lots of office parties and food. A typical day at work was very busy for me.The most enjoyable part of my job was helping people. The hardest part of my job was to complete all my duties for the day in a timely fashion.There – more... were only four of us in the office and I think we all managed to get along.My management had changed five times in my twelve years. Overall it was good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Supervisor, Senior Cook, Prep, Menu planning (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 12, 2014
a typical day would involve setup of daily items for breakfast, lunch, dinner, help menu planning food orders, bistro short order cooking as customers place orders and food is prepared and working with other co workers to make sure customers needs are met the most enjoyable part is customers leaving with a wonderful meal and a big smile
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work Invironment
Radiology Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 10, 2014
The staff at Rochester General hospital are friendly and proffessional. I look forward to each workday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intership
Internship (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 7, 2014
I enjoyed this intership. I learned many things like communicating with patients understanding there needs. The one thing I loved that most is overseeing the nurses and learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Health Information Technician (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 2, 2014
It is a great company to work for. Co-workers are very friendly and you get good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent pay
Staff RN (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 1, 2014
Pros: pay rate
Cons: nurse patient ratio
Co-workers are excellent, good team work, management is good. The hardest part of my job was to float every short period of time between different patient care units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gain experience here
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: as much hours as you could possibly want
Cons: difficult to get time off
Medical surgical experience, tele .
This hospital prides itself on caring for our elderly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest work environment
Parking and Transportation Manager (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Overall wonderful place to be a part of. The people are exceptional and the mood inspired is a very positive one. Love being a part of the Rochester General Health System.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainwreck
Clinical Nurse I Stroke unit (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: overworked, short staffed, underpaid, very poor managers who don't give a hoot about their staff
This hospital is very poorly managed and an absolute safety risk. Each nurse has 7 or 8 patients on a daily basis and all patients suffer due to the constant short staffing. They can't keep nurses on this floor and it's all due to the micromanaging nurse manager who follows her staff around and points out nothing but the negative. All the upper management – more... cares about is their Press Ganey scores. They throw new nurses into the mix with 7 and 8 patients. This floor lost 12 nurses in a matter of 8 weeks and not one administrator took the time to find out WHY. They all stick together. Micromanaging to the max on a daily basis. You are at risk of losing your license on a daily basis. Raises and recognition are nonexistent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-passed work environment.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 9, 2014
I learned how to:

Provided total care of patients afflicted with and/or recovering from Diabetes Mellitus, heart failure, acute and chronic renal failure, hepatic failure, respiratory failure

Provided wound care and assessment for patient with decubitus ulcers up to stage 4, amputations and recent surgical procedures such as grafts and debridement

Experienced – more... with alcohol and drug overdose and withdrawal patients including assessment using CIWA scale

Managed pain using necessary pain rating scale and collaborating with other members of patients’ care team to alleviate or reduce pain and anxiety

Provided infection control concerning the precautions necessary to prevent hospital acquired infections and the spread of C-Diff, MRSA, VRSA, from host sources.

Provided education to family members and visitors, if deemed necessary

Cared for patients with neutropenia from immunological infections such as HIV as well as those diagnosed with cancer undergoing treatments

Oversaw the care and safety of patients suffering from dementia
Administered prescribed medicines as per safe protocol via PO, IV, J-Tube, IM, SQ, rectal; assessed patient for needed PRN medications and, thereafter, the required reassessments

Delivered IV medications including antibiotics, electrolytes, saline solutions, IV nutrition as well as tube feedings through Kangaroo pump

Experienced with diabetes management; followed proper safety protocols when administering Insulin. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RGH offers a variety of nursing experiences
Call Center Communication Nurse (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: variety of nursing experiences
Cons: shortage of nurses at times prevented breaks and skipped lunches
I have been a nurse for 35 years and spent 25 of them at RGH. I have advanced from an LPN to an RN through an LPN sabbatical program at RGH. The learning experiences, with families, patients and co-workers have been invaluable.
I have learned a number of nursing skills, which we never stop learning as medical advances .
My most valuable skill is learning – more... how to work with people whether co-worker, family, or difficult patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN/BSN
Clinical I RN (Current Employee), Rochester General/Newark Wayne HospFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: make great friends
Cons: occassionally one as to stay later than scheduled shift
A typical day at work is that I work from 8:30 to 4:30p. I usual work are rooming patients for physician. I also work in the GI unit in the pre-op or post-op position.

I learned all about colonoscopies and gastroscopies.

I am not in any management position.

I work well with all of my co-workers. I work in a variety of different units and get along – more... well with everyone. I love that they can make me laugh and I can do the same for them. This makes the day go smoother and faster. The patients seem to enjoy it too.

The hardest part of my job is when we are behind on the schedule because patients come late or their are other delays and we try to get caught up.

The best part or most enjoyable part of my job are seeing and working with my friends. But, of course, making the patients feeling the best that I can before they go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronic Medical Record Support is an awesome position
Epic Go Live Support Tech (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 31, 2014
I enjoy being apart of a team environment. I also enjoy every opportunity to support or assist on Departmental Projects as well as staying busy and having the opportunity to provide great service to end users. Working directly with Analyst to receive proper knowledge and workflows that include customized builds on the Electronic Medical Record is something – more... i enjoy about working for Rochester General Hospital. As well as working in an environment with colleagues of various backgrounds create an atmosphere full of learning, peer teaching and resources readily available to assist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical unit
Secretary/Unit tech (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: short staff
being responsible for my work assignment taking care off my patients and helping my co-workers,learning how too better my skills by asking questions,the hardest part went we were short of staff but at the end off the day we did the best job we could and left work with a great feeling my job was done.i enjoy meeting new patients and family and being – more... there for everyone in need – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Rochester General Hospital

The buzz about the University of Rochester is music to some ears. While the private, upstate New York research university is nationally – Read more