Find companies:
Rochester General Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
93 reviews

Rochester General Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Health Information Technician (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 2, 2014
It is a great company to work for. Co-workers are very friendly and you get good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent pay
Staff RN (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 1, 2014
Pros: pay rate
Cons: nurse patient ratio
Co-workers are excellent, good team work, management is good. The hardest part of my job was to float every short period of time between different patient care units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gain experience here
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: as much hours as you could possibly want
Cons: difficult to get time off
Medical surgical experience, tele .
This hospital prides itself on caring for our elderly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest work environment
Parking and Transportation Manager (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Overall wonderful place to be a part of. The people are exceptional and the mood inspired is a very positive one. Love being a part of the Rochester General Health System.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainwreck
Clinical Nurse I Stroke unit (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: overworked, short staffed, underpaid, very poor managers who don't give a hoot about their staff
This hospital is very poorly managed and an absolute safety risk. Each nurse has 7 or 8 patients on a daily basis and all patients suffer due to the constant short staffing. They can't keep nurses on this floor and it's all due to the micromanaging nurse manager who follows her staff around and points out nothing but the negative. All the upper management – more... cares about is their Press Ganey scores. They throw new nurses into the mix with 7 and 8 patients. This floor lost 12 nurses in a matter of 8 weeks and not one administrator took the time to find out WHY. They all stick together. Micromanaging to the max on a daily basis. You are at risk of losing your license on a daily basis. Raises and recognition are nonexistent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-passed work environment.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 9, 2014
I learned how to:

Provided total care of patients afflicted with and/or recovering from Diabetes Mellitus, heart failure, acute and chronic renal failure, hepatic failure, respiratory failure

Provided wound care and assessment for patient with decubitus ulcers up to stage 4, amputations and recent surgical procedures such as grafts and debridement

Experienced – more... with alcohol and drug overdose and withdrawal patients including assessment using CIWA scale

Managed pain using necessary pain rating scale and collaborating with other members of patients’ care team to alleviate or reduce pain and anxiety

Provided infection control concerning the precautions necessary to prevent hospital acquired infections and the spread of C-Diff, MRSA, VRSA, from host sources.

Provided education to family members and visitors, if deemed necessary

Cared for patients with neutropenia from immunological infections such as HIV as well as those diagnosed with cancer undergoing treatments

Oversaw the care and safety of patients suffering from dementia
Administered prescribed medicines as per safe protocol via PO, IV, J-Tube, IM, SQ, rectal; assessed patient for needed PRN medications and, thereafter, the required reassessments

Delivered IV medications including antibiotics, electrolytes, saline solutions, IV nutrition as well as tube feedings through Kangaroo pump

Experienced with diabetes management; followed proper safety protocols when administering Insulin. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RGH offers a variety of nursing experiences
Call Center Communication Nurse (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: variety of nursing experiences
Cons: shortage of nurses at times prevented breaks and skipped lunches
I have been a nurse for 35 years and spent 25 of them at RGH. I have advanced from an LPN to an RN through an LPN sabbatical program at RGH. The learning experiences, with families, patients and co-workers have been invaluable.
I have learned a number of nursing skills, which we never stop learning as medical advances .
My most valuable skill is learning – more... how to work with people whether co-worker, family, or difficult patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN/BSN
Clinical I RN (Current Employee), Rochester General/Newark Wayne HospFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: make great friends
Cons: occassionally one as to stay later than scheduled shift
A typical day at work is that I work from 8:30 to 4:30p. I usual work are rooming patients for physician. I also work in the GI unit in the pre-op or post-op position.

I learned all about colonoscopies and gastroscopies.

I am not in any management position.

I work well with all of my co-workers. I work in a variety of different units and get along – more... well with everyone. I love that they can make me laugh and I can do the same for them. This makes the day go smoother and faster. The patients seem to enjoy it too.

The hardest part of my job is when we are behind on the schedule because patients come late or their are other delays and we try to get caught up.

The best part or most enjoyable part of my job are seeing and working with my friends. But, of course, making the patients feeling the best that I can before they go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronic Medical Record Support is an awesome position
Epic Go Live Support Tech (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 31, 2014
I enjoy being apart of a team environment. I also enjoy every opportunity to support or assist on Departmental Projects as well as staying busy and having the opportunity to provide great service to end users. Working directly with Analyst to receive proper knowledge and workflows that include customized builds on the Electronic Medical Record is something – more... i enjoy about working for Rochester General Hospital. As well as working in an environment with colleagues of various backgrounds create an atmosphere full of learning, peer teaching and resources readily available to assist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical unit
Secretary/Unit tech (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: short staff
being responsible for my work assignment taking care off my patients and helping my co-workers,learning how too better my skills by asking questions,the hardest part went we were short of staff but at the end off the day we did the best job we could and left work with a great feeling my job was done.i enjoy meeting new patients and family and being – more... there for everyone in need – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No management support, Uncomfortable to speak to management
Access Associate (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: no breaks, t
The department I was employed in was difficult to work in. There was favoritism in the office when it cam to management. The most enjoyable part of the position was working with the patients. I worked a front end position and enjoyed it. Depending on the day the office was continually busy, especially with the implementation of the electronic medical – more... record. This allowed me to learn the new electronic medical record as well as scanning documentation into this record. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ive had so far, great people, great important job
Specimen Processor (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 17, 2014
I go into work at 5. As i walk in i see if i am working in microbiology for that day, if so i proceed to microbiology that only a certain number of people are trained in. If not i enter the lab and go into m pod. the lab is split into pods that have different responsibilities that rotate each week. the different pods are the urine and add on tests to – more... specimen. The second is sweeper, where a person goes around o collect samples and distribute them to the different departments that they go to. The third is the stat area where the inpatient samples are dealt with. There is a tube system, much like at a bank, and a blood pour off center. These responsibilities are determined by the tech 2. or pod leader. the samples are processed and at the end of the night there are closing tasks such as deal with problem sample requisitions. i have learned many things about lab work and what it means to work in a hospital and what really matters. The hardest part of the job is remembering all tests and all the little exceptions to each. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, with wonderful co-workers
Patient Access Associate - Emergency Dept (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 16, 2014
A good place to work 3rd shift. Great people to work with regardless of title. A great supervisor, very helpful and understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Phlebotomist/Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 14, 2014
I have achieved great experience working for Rochester General
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant
Radiology Tech Assistant (Former Employee), rochester,nyDecember 30, 2013
I would get the patients for their exams and run films to other offices in the hosptial. And help the techs with patient exams. It was a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lucky guy to work with such good people.
Radiology Tech Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 3, 2013
Great people are what make for a great job. Everyone at Rochester General Hospital is professional, friendly and passionate about helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where careers are promoted and created
Senior Patient Care Technician lll (Current Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 29, 2013
Pros: positive people, flexibility and clean environment
Cons: under staffed, parking and senus max'ed
I have been employed with RGHS for roughly 3 yrs and undeniably this have been a Job I've found most gratifying and rewarding for Rochester General has not only allowed me the oppirtunity as an employee to enhance in knowledge of healthcare but it is a requirement preparing me for modern day healthcare advances. Not too mention the atmosphere is uncompared – more... to any other in there region it's a warm, friendly and caring place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unit Secretary
Medical Secretary, Medical ICU Department (Former Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 20, 2013
Pros: lots of over time
Loved working the over night shift . Lots of great nurses.
Loved being there to see them save lives everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCELLENT COMPANY
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Rochester NYNovember 6, 2013
I ENJOY WORKING WITH MY TEAM AND MY MANAGEMENT LEADERS ARE FOR HELPFUL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Children
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 5, 2013
Knowing that this is their forming years, playing a part in their education was wonderful.

About Rochester General Hospital

The buzz about the University of Rochester is music to some ears. While the private, upstate New York research university is nationally – Read more