Find companies:
Rochester General Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
82 reviews

Rochester General Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficulty with benefits
Internal Medicine (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 17, 2013
I worked there for a year as I was transitioning a another position. It was known when I came I would only be there for a short time. Prior to joining I had been contributing to a IRA traditional. They have also a retirement package that you are not allowed to opt out of where they contribute for you that I was not even aware of. However, you are only – more... eligible to receive benefits if you have been there for years. Because of the "contributions" they were making on my behalf- none of which I could receive- the contributions I was making personally didn't count towards my taxes. HR was incredibly unhelpful and even rude about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Diet Clerk (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 12, 2013
Pros: indepently trust worthy
Cons: activity based compensation
practice Hippanizing mail documents Printing faxing indepently the best coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the type of work I did
Financial Specialist/Medical Billing (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 12, 2013
Pros: pto time
Cons: terrible management and unreasonable demands on employees
day to day work was processing claims and resubmitting claims per rejections. Calling Providers for resolution, working AR reports daily and wroking under time lines

Management unfortunately did not play an active role in team building and working with team members on ways to improve daily work, reduce waste and time taken to process work. No open – more... door polilcy.

The hardest part of this job was working under a great deal of demands and pressure from management and not having any communication

The part I enjoyed was the work I did and to make a difference in how the patient was being helped because their bills were processed correctly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of opportunity and advancement
services IT / Help Desk Rep (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 28, 2013
Pros: everyone is willing to help
Cons: alot of system issues and downtimes
Assisting nurses and providers with technical issues as well as informational request. Co workers were very helpful and always a team environment. Hardest part of the job is not being able to come up with a solutions with all the resources and then having to form a work order to further assist. Most enjoyable part of the job, is that its very laid back – more... and a comfortable environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: the team members
I work in payroll processing payroll for over 8,000 employee's. It's a crazy busy typical day. If It's not,somethings wrong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and productive place.
Nuclear Medicine Technologist (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: good amount of staff.
Well run and busy place. Good co-workers. Good management and availablity to learn more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant
Access Associate-Temp (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 25, 2013
Great Place to work. The supervisors were reasonable and the co-workers were great. Temp-assignment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and friendly place to work
Research Associate, Lead- Laboratory Manager, (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
The lab was somewhat independent from the hospital.
Co-workers were good to work with, very team oriented work. Also had opportunity to be independent.
Coordinating the needs of clients with needs of supervisor was the hardest part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital non-profit orgainization therefore pay isn't that great.
Floor Specialist (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: family oriented hospital
Cons: work every other weekend
Great Hospital team members are awesome. Managment is also very great and fun people to work for. Recommend anyone to work for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RGHS is a fine place to work
Senior Office Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 12, 2013
I'am always open to learning new and to refresh what I presently know in reguards to the software programs that I work with. Security access is growing in the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diagnostic Imaging @ RGH
Diagnostic Imaging Tech (Current Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 26, 2012
Pros: great place to get various experience.various personalities.a dry, warm, heated and cooled work environment. ability to work independently as well as in a team.
Cons: low salaries for ny area. pay for parking. social politics in promotions/advancment, fraternization and unequal division of labor.
High volume case loads. Very dynamic work environment. High attention to timeliness and scheduling. A lot of work to be done. Great place to gain routine work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LPN
LPN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 22, 2012
Pros: learned a lot, great co-workers, obtained assessment skills working there.
Cons: none to speak of.
I had a great dedicated group of medical professionals at RGH.
It was a great 10 years of working with surgical and medical patients.
Definitely Fast paced and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Pleasant place to work
Medical Technologist - Microbiology Lab (Former Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 16, 2012
Pros: wonderful people and lots of variety in the work
Cons: little opportunity for advancement
A typical day at work would be pulling a report for the particular area that you were assigned. I would then pull the specimens that were on the report and begin analyzing. I would plan my day but what tests were required for particular specimens.
There was two wonderful parts of this job. The first is the people there were tremendously caring, outgoing, – more... and team oriented. We always helped each other as much as we could. I felt as though I was part of a family. The management was also outstanding. They went to great lengths to obtain tools we needed to get the job done. I keep in touch with many individuals from my tenure at Rochester General Hospital.
The other wonderful element of the job was the variety. We rotated through various sections of the lab. Each week was different. I was able to learn a variety of areas of microbiology.
The hardest part of the job was that there was little opportunity for advancement. I really enjoyed my tenure there and hated to leave but I was looking for advancement within my career. The lab was unable to offer that at that time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not what you know...
associate (Current Employee), rochester, nyDecember 11, 2012
Absolutely no room for advancement for employeess, its all about who you know, lots of backstabbing, not the best work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
attentive
Unit Tech III (Former Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 6, 2012
Great place to work, very good for patients , i only left because of job advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No change of advancement
Technical staff (Former Employee), rochesterOctober 21, 2012
Pros: drugs are cheaper
Cons: don't expect any raise for performance, max raise is 1.25%, promotions only go to relatives of medical staff. it's not what you know its who you know
I worked mainly in the technical/IT department I found that many of the managers are nice people but clueless when it comes to managing people and projects. Too many people have been in positions for many years. No accountability, doing min work with no one really caring or being responsible. New change in IT executive leadership didn't bring any new – more... changes. They seem to talk the talk but no one walks it. If you want to work there I suggest that you either be related to some one in leadership or have – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional & Productive
Project Team Member (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 30, 2012
Efficiency and using time effectively are the main objectives here as being part of the health care systems in Rochester.
Resourceful, communicative, and well-prepared people & environment..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Office
Volunteer (Current Employee), Pain CenterSeptember 17, 2012
Pros: volunteers get a credit toward meals.
Cons: i have not been employed at rochester general health systems
A typical work day is a steady work pace with a flow of patients in and out. The office consist of 7 staff members and myself, everyone is friendly and work as a team. I have learned how to maintain and service the patient charts, how to greet patients and give them the necessary forms to complete before treatment, how to issue prescription slips upon – more... receipt of proper ID, how to collect proper insurance information, copayments and how to schedule patients for thier next appt.. I have made followup calls, prepared billing for worker's comp and no fault patients and sent the billing info to the health management department, I've done excel projects to archive old charts. Learned how to scan documents from the copier to email, file patient daily acquisition forms in charts, thin charts that are over flowing, pull and file charts, process mail, deliver and pickup mail in mailroom and I have been a chaparone for the doctor/patient. My co-workers have been very helpful in teaching me what I need to know to become an active Access Associate. The hardest part of the job is locating missing files. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things from people who feel good about having you around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is repetitive
Business Office Associate (Current Employee), Rochester,NYSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: co-workers
Cons: repetitive
• Ensure optimal reimbursement is received by the organization for services rendered, includes but not limited to inpatient, outpatient and physician services in accordance with HIPPA guidelines
• Perform billing related functions in a timely, accurate and customer service oriented manner while meeting all standards
• Thorough account evaluation and – more... diligent follow-up of accounts receivables daily
• Research and resolve all account problems received by telephone and correspondence

The most enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers.
I do not find any part of my job hard. I am looking for a challenge. – less

K123 – October 2, 2012

What type of experience do they look for in regards to this job? I've been denied for this position countless times. I have a Bachelor's in Business Admin, and I know I can do the job if I'm just given a chance. It seems hopeless at this point.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, especially if you are new. You will receive great training.
Registered Nurse (Staff Nurse) (Current Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 9, 2012
Pros: great opportunities for learning, supportive environment
Cons: poor scheduling (varying hours)
I learned a lot from my work at RGH. My coworkers were very helpful in assisting me with the transition of being a new nurse. My only complaint would be that my schedule was very erratic and never consistent in any way. I worked days, evenings, nights, 8 hour and 12 hour shifts. This was difficult at times.

About Rochester General Hospital

The buzz about the University of Rochester is music to some ears. While the private, upstate New York research university is nationally – Read more