Rochester Institute of Technology Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student-Worker
Learning Assistant/Tutor (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYFebruary 12, 2018
Decent hours. Was allowed to design my work schedule around school work. Manageable alongside school. Demanded a positive attitude. Inadequate compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYFebruary 5, 2018
An amazing college with plenty of opportunity to showcase your talent and explore new opportunities. Many different events where you can meet and network with people from different backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Grader (Current Employee) –  Rochester, MNFebruary 3, 2018
I work as a grader under professor for the Foundations of Computer Science theory course where I wil have to evaluate the homeworks of students. This helps me in putting my knowledge about the course into use. I get to learn new ways to approach a problem as each of the student will have a different approach to a problem in their homework.

I also work as an office worker at Dining Services in Rochester Institute of Technology where I am a part of the management and have to update the records. This job has taught me how to work with a team of people.
Pros
Free lunches and sufficient breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be and work
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 28, 2018
Rochester is a great city to live. RIT is a great place to work. It has limited budget for research but it is a relaxed place and the area has great schools for the children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Graduate Project Manager (Former Employee) –  W Henrietta, NYJanuary 22, 2018
This place was great and a lot of fun. I never work there full time but as a graduate student.

The environment was very laid back as it was a university learning center.

I would recommend to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 10, 2018
I worked with a professor in my department. The labs are self sufficient and the freedom and access given to the student is incredible. Great place to exhibit your value.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its always productive working there and definitely you learn a lot
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2018
Have learnt a lot from RIT like how to manage the work load and my studies side by side. The people are friendly and really helpful. And at the end i am capable enough to meet the dead lines by time without disturbing my academics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for college students
ADMINISTRATORS ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 9, 2018
Had a bunch of great colleagues to work with which made it very easy to come into work and have a great time. Work load was very manageable and found time to do homework as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2018
My job was a Teaching Assistant and i took a lab with undergraduate students. I learned to teach with different approaches and handle different lab situations. Hardest part of the job was time management as the most workload fell on days i had exams or assignments due.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy going with great professors to work with
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYDecember 25, 2017
I love my job as an office assistant in the Chemical Engineering Department because I get to help professors and students with their daily needs while being able to form close relationships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Rochester Institute of Technology?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Student Assistant, ASLIE (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 19, 2017
I've learned so much from this organization which gives me thoughts to what kind of career I wan to do.
The workplace culture is wonderful due to communication access and variety of cultures
Pros
Very welcoming place with variety of cultures
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Production Cook (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 18, 2017
Would be one of the best places to work if the paid more ..
I love the benefits they offer but at the end of the day money is why we work everyday ..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Art Gallery Manager (Former Employee) –  gallery, USANovember 13, 2017
i learned customer skills and experience with working in a busy environment. Also learned a lot of leadership qualities and and workplace culture. It was a social and profession work space which is a must.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 31, 2017
Good for student workers. I cannot give any additional reviews in the context of teaching here as I am only a student worker. Great school. Good for student workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at RIT
Scientist (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 31, 2017
This is a great place to work- nice, intelligent people, accommodating supervisors, relaxed environment. They have fantastic inexpensive wellness classes for faculty and staff. Good food on campus.
Pros
Flexible hours, good pay, intelligent professional people, relaxed atmosphere
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 24, 2017
The people and the benefits are great.
The pay is less than desired but they make up for it with benefits.
Very old school when it comes to division of duties
Pros
free lunches, Great benefits, great people
Cons
low pay, various additional hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RIT worked experience.
Graduate Assistant International Student Services (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 23, 2017
RIT is a great place to work. In the area where I worked, I had the chance to freely apply my knowledge and deliver my objectives.
My direct supervisor was very open to listening to my suggestions while guiding me along the way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment and great place to work
Fitness Center Attendant (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 23, 2017
Laid back place to work, and got to meet new and interesting people. Hours and shifts were flexible, and coworkers were more than willing to help each other out when in need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Adjunct Professor, YearOne (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 22, 2017
I am an adjunct professor at the college. I currently teach 3 classes a week. The University is very professional and maintains high standards regarding its approach to students, staff and faculty.
Pros
Great people and organization.
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Note Taker (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 5, 2017
Great place to work. A Very friendly environment where you can develop your customer services skills. Awesome managers and coworkers as well..........
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rochester Institute of Technology. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 245 reviews
5124
492
321
27
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture

Rochester Institute of Technology Reviews by Location