Find companies:
Rochester Institute of Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

Rochester Institute of Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun study place
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 17, 2014
Assisted students technical issues and maintained lab as a Computer Lab Technician.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Lifeguard (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJune 14, 2014
• Keep pool area clean
• Handle people calmly and respectfully when they are not following the rules
• Responsible for the close motoring of pool chemicals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office for Student's registerations and help.
Secretary Assistant, Liberal Studies (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 11, 2014
Pros: great breaks.
Cons: none.
Great tasks. No typical schedule because every day changes when I go to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
PC Systems Administrator / Lab Manager - ITS (Former Employee), Rochester NYJune 3, 2014
Great benefits. Campus access. Fun place to work and learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned the meaning of Responsibility
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 1, 2014
My job is Graduate Assistant, my responsibilities is teaching assistant, studio monitor, safety, inventory. I learned the meaning of responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Experience
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 27, 2014
This was one of the most rewarding experiences I had in school. Highly recommended for anyone interested in teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The technical work is always challenging and interesting. The management is terrible.
Staff Engineer (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMay 13, 2014
Pros: we have great interaction with manufacturers all over new york state, we seldom lack for technical challenges to make the job interesting
Cons: over-managed.
The management size compared to the number engineers is grossly unbalanced. We have as many managers as we have engineers, ranging from contract managers to time keepers to account managers. We are salaried employees with upper level degrees but are sometimes treated like hourly employees. Our work in the form of project statements of work and final – more... reports is checked by multiple managers before the documents are sent out. We also have minimal flex in our hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on Multi-Object Spectrometer(MOS) based on DMD
Research assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMay 7, 2014
The initial aim for this research is to build a Multi-Object Spectrometer (MOS) based on DMD. The MOS should be able to let people change the direction of the micro mirror of DMD in any regions of interest. The MOS doesn't need to flip the micro mirrors in a very high frequency. It usually keeps in position for a few seconds or longer, and it only change – more... the direction of the mirrors when one needs to change the selection of the objects examined.
Texas Instruments (TI) has some starter kit for DMD. The DLP Discovery 4000 starter kit provides a solution for developer to use DMD, including LVDS- based DMD, Digital Controller and DMD Power and Reset Driver. However, this starter kit is not suitable for our application. Because for our project, the MOS is supposed to work in space, and there are radiation problems in space, which would possibly affect the performance of the MOS. Therefore, the whole system including all the chips should be radiation-hard in order to avoid the influence of the radiation in the universe. At the same time, the Discovery 4000 starter kit is also not flexible enough to meet the need for our application.
Therefore, the aim for the research is to build a customized controller for the DMD for a MOS. It should meet the requirements for the application and also maintain performance in space – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't anything like I thought it would be
Facilities Management Technician (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, free education, stable job
Cons: management sucks, pay isn't the greatest- u of r has better pay
The facilities management department is a joke as far as organization, communication, employee recognition and appreciation. As far as co-workers there is not a lot of motivation from many as they are there to just collect a pay check. I learned a lot from the industrial equipment that is on campus as well as the importance that someone must always – more... be on duty. The best part of this job though or being apart of RIT is the education and the retirement. For anyone looking to learn, Highly recommend working for a contractor first before considering a position such as this – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Hyderabad, INApril 23, 2014
My job was simply to research. A typical day would start out with searching references all over internet and submit the ones which I found interesting. Learnt a lot about the life in college as a postgraduate and had the opportunity to work at the best college in India.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creativity abounds
Professional Writing Consultant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYApril 21, 2014
A typical day at RIT involves helping a variety of students from a wide array of disciplines to work on any level of the writing process. Every day, I learn more about the local culture on campus and what it means to be part of an institute of technology. The management is a little hazy, as I work for a smaller division of the University Writing Program. – more... My co-workers are amazingly skilled individuals, all of whom are passionate about helping others and promoting the mission of the University Writing Commons. The hardest part of the job is assisting students who want most of the work to be done for them. The most enjoyable part of the job is when students come back to the Commons to express gratitude after doing well on an assignment; they know that they did most of the work, but they are appreciative to have had someone else review their writing with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
orientation assistant
Orientation Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 13, 2014
Pros: a lot of activities, help with students.
Cons: do nothing during students are in workshop.
I help kids for making decision of future, tour them on the college campus, and create activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 27, 2014
Good benefits. Pay was not the greatest. Can make more at U of R
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and creative
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 27, 2014
Talents geeks
Practice and fast to learn
Competitive atmosphere
Great opportunitiew
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduate work
Research Associate (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 19, 2014
Pros: very hands on with lots of guidance
Fantastic learning environment with lots of support. The tools, equipment and training you learn here will carry you well through any future work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college!
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 25, 2014
Working with professor for multiple projects. Support packaging test, material test and writing test reports. working with team members from different majors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt like a home away from home
Student Employee (Current Employee), Rochester NYFebruary 22, 2014
Had a great time here.
Colleagues were always helpful and let me learn from my mistakes while improving my communication skills, while working in a multi diverse environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment, people are easy to talk to and it is not to formal
Student Staff Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours, lunch meetings
The work environment was very friendly and people always smiled and said hello. Management was very easy to talk to and treated me as their equal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment supporting the campus
IT Project Manager (Former Employee), Rochester NYFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: campus life
Cons: conflicting support teams
Typical project management duties.

Belonged to the System Services support team delivery campus solutions.

College environment offered opportunities for taking classes that I participated in,.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Its a great place to work with.Work atmosphere is great.Teahcers are helpful and good to be with.

1 2 3 4