RockTenn Employee Reviews in United States

Found 491 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and fast paced
Receiving Manager (Former Employee) –  Warrenton, MOJuly 20, 2016
This company was great to work for! It was a close knit group of people and I was sad when they were bought out and closed down
Pros
3 12 hour shift which meant the group you worked with depended on each other
Cons
I honestly didn't have any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced in CSR, Supervisor, Estimator, Scheduling
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Kimball, TNJune 30, 2016
Job starts 5 minutes early and doesn't end until all daily tasks are completed even if having to stay over.. On going training of people and improvements are the most rewarding part of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Human Resource Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hickory, NCJune 21, 2016
Wonderful Place to work and build a career. Advanced quickly based on out put of work. Rewarded and encouraged in many ways - mostly by compensation financially.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to wrok
Packer/stacker (Former Employee) –  Tulare, CAJune 14, 2016
It is much too hot because the machines are steam powered, and the overtime is mandatory and plentiful.The pay is not great enough for the work demanded.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westrock
Bander (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 8, 2016
Hardest part of this job was trying to stay focused and continuing working while all other employees took advantage of smoke breaks and were lazy. Management wants to learn what our problem are and why their not progressing in better quality going out but don't really want to hear what's really going on doesn't deal with issues that affect the job.
Pros
pay
Cons
no one listens, not organized
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to be employed.
Purchasing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 7, 2016
Very difficult time, work difficult to find. Enjoyed job, but only a temp.I was subbing for a associate on Med leave. When associate returned I was let go.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Work Environment
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAMay 16, 2016
Enjoyed working with everyone during my employment. Great team environment with everyone eager to help to get the work done. Everyone pitched in during month-end for customer billing.
Pros
Remote work
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Utility Operator level II (Current Employee) –  Marion, NCMay 15, 2016
I love my job at rocktenn. it has great pay and great morale. wish there was a company closer to my home. I can work all the overtime I want and feel trusted by my employer
Pros
great pay
Cons
long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweat shop
Fork lift operator (Former Employee) –  North Chicago, ILMay 5, 2016
The work there is very hard very physically demanding . The scheduling of the orders is constantly changing witch makes for a frustrating environment with little or no communication between management and employee and when mistakes are made the employee gets the blame . training is a unorganized joke !
Pros
It pays well and has good bennifits
Cons
It is very hot and very loud
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment is okay. No room for advancement
Logistics/CSR (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GAApril 25, 2016
A typical day for me would be servicing over 30 plus suppliers making sure they're shipments have been delivered. I have learned a lot about the recycling industry as well as rates for different shipments. My co-workers and management are okay. It is usually a friendly environment. The hardest part of my job is handling issues that I didn't create. The most enjoyable part of my job is the interaction with my co-workers and suppliers.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Healthcare is not good, and it is limited advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Package Handler
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PAApril 24, 2016
▪ Extremely proficient in picking, packing and moving duties
▪ Driving the forklift to move the packages to the necessary department
▪ Worked on the machine feeder for the paper
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved My JOB
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Kimball, TNApril 12, 2016
I loved my job there and the people were so nice. What I didn't like was a that a sister's plant employees could come in and bump you out of your position if they had more time, even if they were not qualified to do the job.
Pros
Nice Place To Work
Cons
Training someone else for your position
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Union Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 6, 2016
Difficult place to work for someone with a family. Pay and benefits were outstanding, however I basically lived there. I was scheduled 7 days per week on weekly rotating swing shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked that job, was a temp, and the plant closed months later
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Livingston, ALMarch 24, 2016
Was my first job..was a temp..the job closed. I liked working there. Really wish I could go there again or a job like that.
Pros
Work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Settlement Specialist, Trading (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAMarch 23, 2016
Working for West Rock is a pleasure and proud of where the company is and strongly agree with the core values. West rock creates a great platform for my career and awesome opportunity for growth.
Pros
Diversity
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you dont do drugs
Machine Operator/ forklift driver (Former Employee) –  Devens, MAMarch 9, 2016
the job is good and physical. the only problem is the hr personnel.like working for the company is is a good business and has good quality work from some big name customers
Pros
the job and the money
Cons
no advancement opertunities
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn'y have much of a family life.
Machine Operator (Floater) (Former Employee) –  Beloit, WIMarch 8, 2016
I worked there for 7 and a half years, Started on 3rd shift and made it to 2nd shift. No matter how hard i tried i could not get to first shift. I was one of the most flexible workers that they had. Worked 10-14 hours a day operating 10 different machines whenever they needed me to . The pay was nice but i would have rather been able to spend time with my newborn baby and wife. I tried talking with management about taking a pay cut or replacing some people who got terminated on first but they would never promote me.
Pros
good pay
Cons
everthing else
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with good benefits but a very negative culture to work in.
Feeder/Packer (Former Employee) –  Conover, NCMarch 5, 2016
A typical work day was spent "putting out fires"
Management was not very trustworthy in the eyes of most employee"s.The hardest part was working in a negative environment and the most enjoyable was gaining the trust of my peers and working as a team.
Pros
good pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCFebruary 29, 2016
to my knowledge this place isnt one of the best places to work. some times things may be great and other they are quick to take advantages of you and sort your hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was work, but got no where with it
Slitter Operator (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, INFebruary 24, 2016
ran machine, help other when needed. Did not learn to much. Management was not that great. To many lazy people and the manager would turn the blind eye. Got along with most of the employees, but to help one to many time.
Pros
took break when needed, able to take paper home
Cons
lazy people, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 524 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1