Rodale Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing times in the media industry
Editor (Former Employee) –  Emmaus, PAJune 16, 2016
Rodale, the leader in the organic movement that stresses life balance has played a monumental part in the publishing industry. The company provides good work experience for young employees to hone their skills. However, job advancements are difficult to achieve. The continued departure of talented staff members who are leaders in their field should be a major concern for anyone considering employment.
Pros
Work-life balance, Company gym, HR is willing to rehire past employees who left because of budget cuts.
Cons
Constent reorganizational changes, Few opportunities for advancement, Unable to make changes to meet media needs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAAugust 17, 2016
Hands-on experience and independent working from management generous benefits. Worked with various products and 3rd party clients.
Pros
Free lunches and generous discounts
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work.
Front-end developer (Former Employee) –  Emmaus, PAApril 1, 2016
Worked here from Sept 1995 to Jan 2015. Flexible hours. Fast paced, tight deadlines... A great place to work if you're a workaholic like me. Great on-the-job training. People are great. We all got along very well. Sometimes expected to learn new application on your own.
Pros
Loved going to work everyday.
Cons
Was laid off with little to no notice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work but Little Job Security
Sales Analyst (Former Employee) –  Emmaus, PAOctober 2, 2013
Rodale is overall a great place to work, as long as you are employed there. In my 2 years, my division went through 3 regime changes - often I was stuck waiting for new management to get settled before being able to work on new initiatives. The culture is great - the company gym is close to the main office and there are usually a number of "field days" throughout the year. Overall, I enjoyed my experience there... but be warned - there is no such thing as job security there.
Pros
awesome (but expensive) cafeteria, gym, health and wellness programs
Cons
corporate structure has been constantly changing, frequent territory arguments between departments office-wise
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Integrated Sales (Current Employee) –  Emmaus, PAJune 3, 2014
Company culture and management truly reflects key corporate values.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Culture
Midwest Digital Sales Director (Current Employee) –  ChicagoMay 9, 2015
Most employees have a passion for health and wellness, which aligns with Rodale's corporate philosophy. I learned to effectively work with multiple stake holders within an organization, and customize advertising programs for clients based on pooling resources from throughout the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy environment but publishing company going through transition
Managing Editor, Runner's World (Former Employee) –  Emmaus, PAMay 29, 2014
If magazine publishing is going through an awkward phase, Rodale is the pimple-faced teenager on the poster. The company has shed a lot of staff and gone through a series of leadership changes. While there are plenty of people still there creating amazing content, Rodale remains somewhat adrift at the moment.
Pros
smart, talented co-workers and fun, healthy work environment
Cons
still trying to figure out what kind of publishing company it wants to be
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rodale
Team Leader / IVR Specialist (Former Employee) –  Emmaus, PAFebruary 21, 2013
Best company I have ever worked for. Career driven. Very staff. Very family oriented.
Pros
free training classes
Cons
cut backs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place but was hard to get ahead
Online & Print Editor (Former Employee) –  NYC NYJanuary 24, 2014
I had to leave because they didn't have the budget to keep me on full time and I needed to make more money. At that time online departments weren't getting enough attention. Times have changed however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Security Administrator (Former Employee) –  Emmaus, PAOctober 11, 2013
Great place to work. Outsourcing IT to India was put into effect.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Online Campaign Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 11, 2012
A typical day consisted of managing online media campaigns
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.4
Culture
4.1