ROOSEVELT SCHOOL DISTRICT Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opinion
Kitchen Custodian (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 8, 2016
a typical day of work is fast paste, I have learned to communicate with people that speak different langue management is great manager is teaching me the kitchen tech position there is no hard part of this job I love working with the children.
Pros
everything is great
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging at times
Mainstream Kindergarten Teacher (Former Employee) –  27th Ave & Southern Ave in Phoenix, AZJune 1, 2016
Very strict in assessment of teachers and students. Must have lots of love and patience for teaching and for students from lower income families. Some very challenging students attend this school district & must be creative in classroom management skills.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
not enough planning time...too many meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated workplace
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 5, 2016
It was a good place to work as everyone was concerned with helping the students become successful individuals. We all worked together toward that goal.

The hours were long and demanding. I often put in over 60 hours a week.

One think I learned here was the value of my peers. We often would discuss things going on at our campus. We worked together to find solutions to problems.

Our principal was kind and hard working. She led our school by example. She had an open door policy.

The hardest part of the job was when a student could not grasp the lessons.

The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the students succeed.
Pros
knowing I was making a difference and never had to work on Sunday
Cons
Long days, hard to take a restroom break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and always interesting.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 9, 2016
The staff was the best part of this job although the Nutrition Administration was not as good as it could be. New director and others in the department did not delegate duties very well with those that needed accommodations.
Pros
ASRS
Cons
Rarely a week that does not have a day off or half day and all the holiday breaks and summer recess.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 6, 2016
great i loved it great company. Great benefits and i loived my co workers. They oudl of been more. And they need better mangers,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful collaboration
6th Grade Teacher (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 8, 2016
The district gives its educators ample opportunity to advance and grow withing their job so they in turn can help guide the students to success.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training and mentoring others, and acting as a resource when help was needed.
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 20, 2015
Responsible for wide ground maintenance work including trimming trees, removing trees, cutting bushes, etc. on landscaping to insure reliability and the highest level of readiness.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
no healthcare until you have a contract with company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most presentable school in the district
Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 10, 2015
Arrive at work at 6:00 am to open the school. Put flag up, set-up cafeteria for lunch. Pick up trash on school grounds, review work orders scheduled for the day. Begin to work on work orders until 10:00 am, than from 10:00-1:30 monitor cafeteria and do clean-up of cafeteria. Complete work orders.
Supervise three custodians. Making sure all scheduled daily work orders are completed. Being on task with completing daily work orders.
Pros
Get along excellent with principal.
Cons
Employees calling off at the last minute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large school district
Community Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 28, 2015
Not a good place to work if you have children. A lot of time is spent at the district. Academic challenges, not helped by the politics behind the scenes. Very little parent involvement overall.
Pros
Important presence
Cons
Politics behind the scenes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 26, 2012
.
As as substitute teacher, the lessons plans for me were followed as directed. There were no complatints from the students, teachers nor the administration about my professionalism in the classroom. My co-workers were very helpful and available when in need of assistence. The hardest part of the job is knowing you may not be able to save every child but it is worth the effort. The most enjoyable part of the is knowing I have done my best at the end of the day to have educated and prepared the students for their futures.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great void that need to be filled
7th/8th Grade Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 13, 2013
The students need leaders. The entire organization seems to be a bit unorganized but seems to get what needs to be done complete even if at the last minute

Coworkers can be poisonous and loving at the same time

The students are very challenging but can be reached
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice people to work with
Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  PhoenixJuly 24, 2013
Watch the upper managers.

HR will not be on your side of anything here and there is no way to get around them.

Campuses were fun and campus staff and administrators were always good people to have to deal with.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
HR
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Paraprofessional II (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 25, 2013
Very flexible when you need time off. When asked to assist I did not refuse and jumped in with both feet to help keep everything running smoothly.
Pros
great staff
Cons
wishy washy on rules
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has potential to become a great district, if the higher administration was replaced.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 13, 2013
My work began at 7:45 and ended at 4:00 p.m. I usually stayed until 7 p.m., sometimes 8 p.m. grading and/or adjusting lesson plans to better assist my students. I learned a lot of new skills which enhanced my current knowledge in the field of education. I am thankful form my co-workers for always working as a team to meet our AYP, Annual Yearly Plan. Especial thanks to my Principal/Mentor for always supporting the staff, and trusting in us regardless of the situation. Enjoyed helping my students, their parents, and PTO. The hardest part dealing with additional requirements from both the Department of Education and District Administration politics. I love to teach! It is my passion. I just hope someday, they have more appreciation and value their teachers for their commitment, hard work, and dedication to children who will someday become productive members of our society.
Pros
Free breakfast/lunch for our students & training for teachers
Cons
Not having enough time to finish all requirements, due to feeling overwhelmed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good work enviroment
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 10, 2015
Wonderful children, but admin staff at the school are terrible and immature! I would not suggest working here! looking for new employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 13, 2014
Greet children; breakfast; assist in reading, writing, and math.
Pros
fun with children; funny personality
Cons
lack of respect from some children
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organization is progressing
Nutrition Services (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 6, 2015
cultural shift is happening and will succeed; school scores are on the rise every year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides adequate support to staff
Educator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 7, 2014
Provides adequate support to new staff. Everyone is friendly
Cons
Retirement taxes too much
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 20, 2013
Slow boring always the same, hot outside. got along with co-workers.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive friendly people
Janitor (Former Employee) –  phoenix azOctober 27, 2013
clean
buff floors
do the laundry
friendly co workers
the people
Pros
the
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ROOSEVELT SCHOOL DISTRICT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1

ROOSEVELT SCHOOL DISTRICT Reviews by Location