ROOSEVELT SCHOOL DISTRICT Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity
Kindergarten teacher (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 27, 2017
I loved working in Roosevelt. I learned so very much and loved the students and families there. I felt like there was an abundance of opportunity and that the administrators wanted us to learn and grow as teachers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership
School Administrator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 3, 2017
The organization is not consistent in policies, and fails to truly address the needs of the many great people who seeks to help the children. Need SOS
Pros
The People
Cons
Poor Leadership at the Very Top
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85042June 28, 2017
I enjoy interacting with the children every day, in the morning and also when they're dismissed fro school in the afternoon. Everyone at the job seems pretty friendly as well so it makes my day go by a lot easier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative forward focused district
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 30, 2017
Roosevelt is a good district to learn and grow as an educator. The teachers are highly committed to helping children learn and thrive, emotionally and academically.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-workers
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 5, 2017
No review needed, as I worked as a substitute teacher. I followed prescribed lesson plans and school duties, as assigned, per grade level. Most contact made was with the office staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 27, 2017
I love seeing the smiles on children faces, everyone is so friendly and theirs no hard part about it. Learning from others help me improve more and more each day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job experience
Unit Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 22, 2017
Great place to learn and enhance job skills but, the opportunity to grow is slim. A typical work day goes by quickly but the week is long with many jobs projects and duties added to ones schedule with no additional play or over time pay included.
Pros
Holiday pay and benfits
Cons
Growth opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Child Nutrition Specialist/ Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 17, 2017
Was a great stable job. Provided what I needed for that time. The people are great and friendly. Job stability is the best part about working for RSD.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opinion
Kitchen Custodian (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 8, 2016
a typical day of work is fast paste, I have learned to communicate with people that speak different langue management is great manager is teaching me the kitchen tech position there is no hard part of this job I love working with the children.
Pros
everything is great
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 6, 2016
great i loved it great company. Great benefits and i loived my co workers. They oudl of been more. And they need better mangers,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful collaboration
6th Grade Teacher (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 8, 2016
The district gives its educators ample opportunity to advance and grow withing their job so they in turn can help guide the students to success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging at times
Mainstream Kindergarten Teacher (Former Employee) –  27th Ave & Southern Ave in Phoenix, AZJune 1, 2016
Very strict in assessment of teachers and students. Must have lots of love and patience for teaching and for students from lower income families. Some very challenging students attend this school district & must be creative in classroom management skills.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
not enough planning time...too many meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and always interesting.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 9, 2016
The staff was the best part of this job although the Nutrition Administration was not as good as it could be. New director and others in the department did not delegate duties very well with those that needed accommodations.
Pros
Asrs
Cons
Rarely a week that does not have a day off or half day and all the holiday breaks and summer recess.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated workplace
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 5, 2016
It was a good place to work as everyone was concerned with helping the students become successful individuals. We all worked together toward that goal.

The hours were long and demanding. I often put in over 60 hours a week.

One think I learned here was the value of my peers. We often would discuss things going on at our campus. We worked together to find solutions to problems.

Our principal was kind and hard working. She led our school by example. She had an open door policy.

The hardest part of the job was when a student could not grasp the lessons.

The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the students succeed.
Pros
knowing I was making a difference and never had to work on Sunday
Cons
Long days, hard to take a restroom break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large school district
Community Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 28, 2015
Not a good place to work if you have children. A lot of time is spent at the district. Academic challenges, not helped by the politics behind the scenes. Very little parent involvement overall.
Pros
Important presence
Cons
Politics behind the scenes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training and mentoring others, and acting as a resource when help was needed.
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 20, 2015
Responsible for wide ground maintenance work including trimming trees, removing trees, cutting bushes, etc. on landscaping to insure reliability and the highest level of readiness.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
no healthcare until you have a contract with company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most presentable school in the district
Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 10, 2015
Arrive at work at 6:00 am to open the school. Put flag up, set-up cafeteria for lunch. Pick up trash on school grounds, review work orders scheduled for the day. Begin to work on work orders until 10:00 am, than from 10:00-1:30 monitor cafeteria and do clean-up of cafeteria. Complete work orders.
Supervise three custodians. Making sure all scheduled daily work orders are completed. Being on task with completing daily work orders.
Pros
Get along excellent with principal.
Cons
Employees calling off at the last minute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good work enviroment
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 10, 2015
Wonderful children, but admin staff at the school are terrible and immature! I would not suggest working here! looking for new employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organization is progressing
Nutrition Services (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 6, 2015
cultural shift is happening and will succeed; school scores are on the rise every year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides adequate support to staff
Educator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 7, 2014
Provides adequate support to new staff. Everyone is friendly
Cons
Retirement taxes too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ROOSEVELT SCHOOL DISTRICT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.8
Culture
3.3

ROOSEVELT SCHOOL DISTRICT Reviews by Location