Find companies:
Rosemary Children's Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Rosemary Children's Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult work environment due to management/directors
Child Care Counselor to Supervisory position (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMarch 21, 2014
***Note the low ratings given by floor staff (Child Care Counselors) and the high ratings given by staff in higher ranking positions.

I first started as floor staff and then was promoted to a supervisory position. In my experience there was a clear hierarchal structure in which management and department directors did not make it a priority to be transparent – more... and communicative to floor staff. There is a high turnover rate for group homes in general, but unfortunately RCS has a much higher turn over rate due to these issues. A developed blame culture often pitted co-workers against each other.

When I was promoted to a supervisory position I received only 3 hours of direct training/shadowing and then was expected to start. In this position I was given negative feedback about my ability to meet the expectations of the job title. I asked for additional training and specific feedback regarding the vague directives I was given to better my performance. Even after meeting with HR, my supervisors decided that instead of training me they would restructure the department. When I decided to search for work elsewhere, 3 clinicians (out of the 4), a director, and a handful of residential staff left the agency within a period of a month. Hopefully things have changed since then and management has turned that into an opportunity to reevaluate the current structure of the mental health and residential department. This agency does have the potential to do great work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
ITFC Social Worker/Recertification Specialist (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAMarch 8, 2014
I enjoy being a part of Rosemary Children Services and making a difference in the lives of children and foster/adoptive parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAJanuary 11, 2014
Responsible for AR, journal entries, month end, reconciliation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency was able to give individual intensive treatment to it's clients.
Facilities Director (Former Employee), Pasadena, CADecember 4, 2013
Pros: mission to equip clients with education and social skills to become productive citizens.
Cons: the agency could only 40 residents at a time.
It was very rewarding to work for an agency that focused on given their clients the best resources to aid them in becoming positive and productive citizens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication and judgment from management. Revolving door job
Counselor (Former Employee), Pasadena CAApril 29, 2013
Pros: the pay and the long hours. the ideal location
Cons: long commute, and workers threatened and lack of protection
It's a revolving door job. Staff terminated for lame reasons based om sexual orientation, lack of motivation and inability to follow directions. Staff lives are in danger each day, prone to harassment, especially driving clients at night in shady areas of the inland empire. Management very judgmental. Some clients are refereed to as lost causes, with – more... negative derogatory attitudes. No support whatever. Some of the clients are a blessing and are provided a new start once they reach adult age. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with at-risk youth is great but little or no support from managment.
nurse (Former Employee), PasadenaMarch 16, 2013
Working here as a nurse definitely had its up and downs. So much is expected but little help is given. You have to often trust the counselors to pass out meds. Most, if not all of the counselors have no medical training. A lot of the girls here are on psych meds and do not receive them as they were prescribed. Then they wonder why these girls have behaivioral – more... and emotional problems. Most medical decisions are not even made by the nurses. Management makes most of these decisions. Nurses are mostly expected to bill, bill, and bill.$$$ – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of follow through and no team support
Child Care Counselor (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: very rewarding working with at-risk teens
Cons: lack of support, lack of follow-through
Consequences for poor behavior were often not enforced (leading to an increase in bad behavior).
Often left alone with 6 girls. When a situation would develop (including threats, throwing objects, running out of the house, breaking things) and the main office was called for assistance, they would most often offer little to no help.
Shifts ranged between – more... 10-14 hours. Very often was too busy to eat lunch. Never took a break. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with a diverse population in a professional setting
Intake Coordinator Assistant (Current Employee), Pasadena, CANovember 29, 2012
Pros: benefits, paid vacation
Cons: long hours
Typical day at work is following up on referrals, interviewing adolescent females to assess if they are suitable for our placement, closing files, and organizing internal data.

I have learned a tremendous amount of things, from working with a diverse poplulation, dealing with adolescents that have severe trauma or emotional and behavioral disorders, – more... and managing various files and deadlines.

My coworkers are amazing, professional, and team players. We all work together for a solution to getting the adolescents back home and work well together to complete the task. We have great communication and work ethic within Rosemary's and strive to always excel in that area.

The hardest part of my job is assessing a client and expressing to them that placement may not be the best plan for them due to a variety of behaviors (i.e. drug abuse, assualtive behavior, etc.).

The most enjoyable part of the job is working with such a diverse group of girls and having so many succesful discharge plans. Also, I could not ask for a better work environment and coworkers. When you have an awesome team that you work with, work becomes such a pleasurable experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Rosemary's
Child Care Counselor (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAOctober 10, 2012
Pros: free lunch/dinner, and free admission to various recreational activities
Cons: pay, and not being alloted at least 30 hours being part-time/on-call
After clocking in, you are given a debriefing of what is going on with all residents (school, AWOL, hospitalization, home pass, day pass, etc.) You then depending on your designated shift either go and drop residents off at school or you are picking up residents from school. After girls are picked up from school, they are then transported to P.E. at – more... the park. After P.E. the girls then attend their designated Day Treatment Class( anger management, cooking class, self-esteem class, etc.) Once Day treatment is over the girls are then ready to participate in GCL (Group Centered Leadership) where they have to present their goals, and a self report to the group. After GCL the girls eat dinner, have study hour and then complete their daily chores and then shower and get ready for the next school day. The weekends are a little different as they have night recreational activities that range from a night at the movies, go cart racing, comedy shows, fairs, and many others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication and team support
Counselor (Former Employee), Pasadena, CaAugust 31, 2011
Lack of communication and team support, need to improved more support from the management teams