Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,808 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and co-workers
Sales Associate/MOD Plus (manager on duty) (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJuly 30, 2014
The most enjoyable are the customers! I have learned that if your customer comes in having a back day, that is your opportunity to turn things around and I absolutely love to see them walk with a smile on their faces! My co-workers are one of a find. The hardest part is that it doesn't seen to be enough hours in the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Busy Retail Environment, sometimes dealing w/hostile customers
Back-up Manager/ Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Albuquerque, New MexicoJuly 30, 2014
Pros: i was given more hours than i sometimes wanted.
Cons: messy store from customers and busy all the time, plan on late hours if you close
Environment is extremely busy and you must really think quickly as lines of customers (oftentimes angry for long line and wait) sometimes demand discounts and manager availability is difficult. High Stress Environment. For retail store, just be prepared for this because it's difficult when training is limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they provide equal opportunity for work advancement and is very understanding with availability for work
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Los angeles, CAJuly 30, 2014
Ross is a great place to start for work because they give an opportunity to people like me with no work experience. Once you are in the company, as long as you do good with your job, moving up is not a problem. They give everybody a chance to train and try to move up from their position (they even ask you where you wanna be trained!). And if your availability – more... for work changes, they will still accommodate you and give you schedules on the days you are available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company to work for.
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 30, 2014
Pros: 15 minute breaks after two hours of working
Cons: managers don't always remember to give you your breaks
In my opinion the managers need more communication with each other about schedules and other things. I also think that the managers should communicate more with their employees about changes made to the schedules. My co-workers at Ross are great. Most of them are friendly and always have a smile on their face. The managers are just as nice and friendly – more... as the rest of the staff. The hardest part of this job would be figuring out the daily routine. When being trained I don't think that you get a very good feel for how things are run and how you are expected to do certain things. Once you get the hang of it though it goes much more smoothly. The most enjoyable part of this job is speaking to the customers and getting to know them. They're all so friendly and love to talk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
stocker (Current Employee), Royal Palm BeachJuly 29, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule.
Cons: no healthcare benefits
I love working at Ross however, I'm looking for a different job experience. As much as I love my coworkers, I really want to work more professional environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive working day
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), San Juan Capistrano, CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great working environment, wonderful management.
Cons: short breaks, pay is not enough.
I really enjoy working for the company. The management team and all my co-workers are great, hardworking people, who love their job. I really enjoy helping customers find the items they are looking for. Many of the customers are regulars so we have all gotten to know each other, which makes working there ever more enjoyable. Ross is a fast paced environment, – more... which is nice because it make the day go by quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going workplace
Stock Associate (Former Employee), LawrenceJuly 29, 2014
Pros: positive pleople
Cons: bad scheduling
Work place was fine, although was a bit unorginized. Day to day picking and packing of goods and products wasnt bothersome at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough
Stockroom Area Supervisor (Former Employee), Stockton, CAJuly 29, 2014
Ross is a company that you can slightly advance with but the pay wasn't so great..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely hopeless
Manager (Current Employee), Fort Mill, SCJuly 28, 2014
So risk-averse they create the very issues they were trying to avoid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great connection bewteen Associates and Management
Department Manager (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great employee discount, designer clothes
Cons: short lunch
• Display signage for products and sales promotions according seasonal changes
• Insure racks are fully stocked with department merchandise
• Print various labels and tags for all merchandise including markdown tags
• Organize and locate inventory and update department spreadsheets
• Monitor and review associates in department as well as assist with – more... any customer concerns
• Operate cash register for cash, card, check, refund, and exchange purchases
• Assist customers on sales floor answering questions and customer concerns
• Monitor and maintain dressing room keeping it clean, organized and free of debris – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place to work at
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Menifee, CAJuly 27, 2014
A typical day would be working the cash register. If it gets slow, I put go backs away or work with the stock team.

Management is really nice.

Co Workers are super friendly and nice as well.

The hardest part of the job was in the beginning when I barely got hired. After I learned everything, it was a piece of cake.

The most enjoyable part of the – more... job would be helping customers out, assuring that they are finding everything ok. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, People Oriented, and Outgoing
Manager (Current Employee), Princeton, NJJuly 27, 2014
Pros: people oriented and promotions
Cons: no health insurance and low pay rate
My position is a backup manager/ stockroom associate. A typical workday starts with me hard-tagging clothes and assisting customers at the register and with other concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy .
Sales Associate/Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), McKinney, TXJuly 26, 2014
Pros: interaction with the community.
Atypical day at work consisted of me coming in in the morning and working the fitting rooms and the register. I learned how to access the register in no time. The hardest part of the job was dealing with some of our customers but i always handled the situation with ease, but don't get me wrong i also enjoyed dealing with my customers i learned something – more... new from each and every one of them every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: they respect your breaks and meals
Cons: no permanent schedule. new schedule every week
This employer encourages growth and managers see your potential. They speak in a professional manner instead of being rude. Everyone in the workplace is friendly and help each other. This is definitely a workplace in which you can go to and not be worried about not liking your day at work. They also have many benefits for full time associates and a – more... couple of benefits for part-time. All get a store discount which is a plus. I love it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Store Manager (Current Employee), Vernon Hills ILJuly 26, 2014
Cons: lack of time off and well being
different culture. I Understand that each company wants you to succeed, they make it difficult to communicate with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier (Former Employee), CaliforniaJuly 25, 2014
Its a great place to work. Its a great place to work. Its a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Cashier, Sales Associate, Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Mililani Town, HIJuly 25, 2014
Pros: meeting great people from all around the world.
Cons: lack of assistance sometimes with cashiers and workers for my front.
Maintaining the front end with sales and returns. The hardest part of my job is dealing with unhappy customers but with the help of my management team, I have learned to make sure to respectfully explain to the customers our policies and to call the higher management for further help. The most enjoyable part of my job is being recognized for my hard – more... work by management and customers. To always leave a lasting expression. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The waves of Retail
Front End Supervisor/Cash Office (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDJuly 25, 2014
I have learned to communicated effectly with customers, peers and management without becoming domineering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy job with loyal customers
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Skokie, ILJuly 24, 2014
Pros: very easy job
Cons: the hourly wage could be more
A typical day at work is very busy. Ive learned how to interact with customers on more of an easier level since my previous job was a bit more personal. Managers are really helpful. Co-workers are nice and everyone helps eachother. The hardest part is keeping the store clean. The most enjoyable part is being rewarded for doing good during the month – more... with bonuses and pizza parties – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run as fast as you can
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lake Jackson, TXJuly 24, 2014
Cons: messy, disorganized, poor management
If you're not of the Hispanic orientation, you will not move up in this company. Management can barely comprehend English. Disorganized and cluttered

1 2 3 4 5

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos