Ross Dress For Less Employee Reviews

Found 5,241 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Retail Associate, Stock (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CA 95355February 25, 2017
A typical day at work is working together as a team to get all done, a friendly environment; while management is amazing always helps you in time of need. the most enjoyable part of working at Ross is the amazing coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Saugus, CAFebruary 25, 2017
did not really work here long enough to know much about it. great environment, cool employees. easy and fast job to learn and get a hang of. cleaning and closing was hardest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Malvern, PAFebruary 24, 2017
Job was okay except scheduling was not to employees advantage. Long hours of work and little pay. Enjoyed meeting new people and interacting with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected
Sr. Network Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAFebruary 24, 2017
This was more of a change control role and supporting another project manager in another state who knew nothing about project management. demanding and ambiguous environment - stay away!
Pros
none
Cons
too many lifers, old mentality, broken internal processes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Silverdale, WAFebruary 24, 2017
Answered customers' questions about merchandise

Stamped, attached and changed price tags on merchandise, referring to price list

Stocked shelves, racks, cases, bins, and tables with new or transferred merchandise

Compared merchandise invoices to items actually received to ensure that shipments are correct

Itemized and totaled customer merchandise selection at checkout counter, using cash register, and accepted cash or charge card for purchases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plenty of opportunities to keep busy with work and customers
Cash Office Clerk/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Morgan Hill, CAFebruary 24, 2017
If you enjoy working with people and helping them find what they need, this is a good retail store to work for. It's people based and enjoyable to work here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first time job with friendly co-workers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bountiful, UTFebruary 24, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job was associating with the people that I worked with. Ross was my first job and the people that I worked with really took me under their wings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun but chaotic place
Lost Prevention (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 23, 2017
I worked lost prevention which involved scouting for potential theft and informing the other associates. The lost prevention department was hard to mix with the other employees because of potential internal theft, but it was still a fun work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at.
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 23, 2017
A typical day at work at Ross, constitutes of assisting customers, and provide friendly customer service. Recover store continuously.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced holiday season
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Longview, WAFebruary 23, 2017
The hiring process took longer than most. They approved hiring then didnt start for a month. Once you started working, the morale of your co-workers seem to dissipate, seemingly fast. The friendly smiles, turned to empty eyes in the break room. They continued to hire more seasonal associates, up until after January 1st. The part time and full-time employees never came in or called out frequently and left the seasonal to pick up slack. The last week of Holiday season, they didnt notify anyone of empty schedules. Most of us showed up to find we were completely removed from the schedule. The assistant managers had zero voice in keeping anyone, and the over all store manager was rude, disrespectful, and didnt care that so many people were upset or had questions. Phone calls went unanswered. Even after trying to shop, as a customer, they still give attitude. Made no sense to get rid of those willing to put in hours and a smile on their face, than to keep the employees who were not reliable or considerate.
However, in the time i did work in the facility, i encountered a lot of amazing people everyday. Friendly, and understanding. The customers were the best part of my job.
Pros
Employee discount and customers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAFebruary 23, 2017
This is a good company and a very friendly place to work at. They couldnt work with my school schedule that is why i left but in overall was a good place to be at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with great staff
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAFebruary 23, 2017
While i was employed at Ross distribution i enjoyed working with the people that were there. Also the environment was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and everchanging
Area Supervisor (Home Department) (Current Employee) –  Panama City, FLFebruary 23, 2017
Well a typical day consists of opening or closing depending what my schedule calls for on that day. Also monitoring each associates work and making sure that each employee has been given all of their breaks according to the hours they work. Making sure customers have what they need and are being rang up properly and efficiently as well keeping up with the maintenance of each department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends what your position is
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dickson, TNFebruary 23, 2017
Different positions include cashier, stock and fitting room. Each position has its perks. Some positions are better than others.
Managers and employees are nice and helpful. It is easy work and can be fun at times.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
can be boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice company to work for
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Dunwoody, GAFebruary 22, 2017
I really enjoyed working for this company because the management staff was very good and respectful so it's made your experience as a employee OK and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
All Around Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Augusta, GAFebruary 22, 2017
A day at Ross is normally calm cool and collected. i enjoy working here and wouldnt change it for the world. there is nothing that they ask is to hard for anyone to do. it is well organize very easy to keep together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat hectic worplace
Cashier/Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 22, 2017
The store can be very be disorganized and unruly at times. Management can be much better. There is not much availability for full-time positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
CUSTOMER SUPPORT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSFebruary 22, 2017
A typical day at Ross included assisting and checking out guests, answering calls and directing them to managers, stocking shelves, and making sure the customers had a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different and fun at time
Manager (Former Employee) –  Canyon Country, CAFebruary 22, 2017
Job was fun and worked with really fun crew. With this company it really depends on where your store is located you can have a really nice one with good customers or a bad location with really bad customers that destroy your store daily. The work is easy and it is fast paced.
Pros
Good pay, fun, fast paced
Cons
Constant clean up, Politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 22, 2017
ROSS was a very positive experience for me. A very peaceful, pleasant place to work. Well managed and organized, clean and drama free. The store I worked at was filled with honest, hardworking people who I am honored to know. The only reason I left is because I needed full time. If you are looking for the perfect part time place, I highly recommend ROSS.
Pros
Great Management, peaceful environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ross Dress For Less. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,256 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4