Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,153 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 11, 2014
Working for Ross Dress for Less was fun. I learned how to unload the truck, tag and sensor merchandise, as well as knowing where to put the merchandise after they have been tagged and sensor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: pay, schedule, management
This place was terrible to work at! Managers were rude, other employees were too, everyone looked miserable here which resulted in poor customer service and horrendous performance as a store. They don't try to work with your schedule even if you're a mom or a student. They refused to offer more than 20 hours a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Learned a lot!
Loss Prevention Agent (Former Employee), Whitehall, PANovember 10, 2014
The co-workers were great, some of the management needed improvement, but were overall amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Sales associate (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDNovember 9, 2014
Pros: 0
Cons: 0
* cashier, customer service, stocking, recovery, and clean up
* retail in different background
* lack of business manner
* nice and respectful
* not be able to help customers
* finding new items to stock
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a wonderful company to work with!!!
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Kingman, AZNovember 9, 2014
Pros: wonderful learning experience, great leaders, fun place to work.
Cons: not enough hours.
I've been seeing a lot of nasty reviews about this company, quit frankly I am tired of seeing It, and I thought I should give my point of view since I have been working with the company for almost one year. Ross Is a great place to not only work with but to learn! when I got hired at Ross I basically had no work experience at all. I knew nothing about – more... a register, I knew nothing about customer service. before Ross I was the person who never speaks, I was extremely shy beyond the point that If I didn't know you... you never heard a word come out of my mouth. Not only that I was struggling with paranoia to be around people In public places! (100% Truth) but once I started working with Ross not only did I come out of my shell I realized I had wonderful customer service, I've heard It from my store manager! So this job has helped me with many things and It's Improved my life! I went from the person who never talks to the person you can't shut up! Furthermore, Ross has great leaders they take there time to show you things you don't know and explain things so you will. Expect to learn many things, such as the fitting room, how to use a cash register, how to do stock, customer service and the sales floor. The biggest advice I would give someone who's just been hired or looking to get a job with Ross Is to simply have patience. It's the key with just about any retail job... especially Ross. one minute you could have two people In line and turn around and you've got 25! Not only that, dealing with rude customers... just stay calm, explain, keep a smile on your face and understand. Always bee cheerful and talkative when giving customer service being polite and respectful to a customer Is a big thing! Always say your manners even when you're dealing with a rude customer. Because no matter what, they'll still remember you were respectful. The hardest part of the job, Is when you expect to work a certain time and It can be changed at any giving moment. I was once scheduled at 4:00 PM and had two days off prior to that day, I got there around 3:40 checked my schedule and It got changed to 6:15 so I had to sit there for two hours. The most enjoyable thing about working with Ross and the store I work with Is It's always organized, clean and there's great leadership. I can be having a bad day beyond work and come to work and just feel happy and here and there have a great laugh with some co workers. It's best to have a fun enjoyable work place, but most of the time be serious. Overall, If you're are looking for a place to learn retail or you are simply looking for a great job... go with Ross Dress For Less! It's a great company and I am proud to say I work at Ross! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier (Former Employee), Portland, ORNovember 8, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: everything
Just wasnt my cup of tea. Managment was horrible, we never knew what our schedule were, they would not work with my schedule, they told me i would work 25-30 hours but I only worked 10-15 I got items from the store thrown at me by customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, great place to work.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Humble, TXNovember 8, 2014
Pros: teamwork and respect were number one.
Cons: minimal communication barier.
Treated with great respect from Store Manger, we made a great team.Very quickly built a great repoire with Store Associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The managers are great to work with and easy to talk to and flexible. Excellent benefits and employee discounts.
Manager On Duty+ (Current Employee), Kissimmee, Fl.November 8, 2014
A typical day of work at Ross is usually very diversified and you will accomplish 10-15 different assignments. The most enjoyable part of my job is providing an excellent customer service experience as well as an exciting treasure hunt shopping experience for our customers. The hardest part of my job is the recovery of the store at the end of the business – more... day. The store is always a mess and impossible to maintain cleanliness and organization because of this you are always working at 100 mph all day. Great place to work if you're beginning a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Below average working environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mays Landing, NJNovember 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Unwelcoming work environment as management does not take employees into consideration with decisions that directly affect them. Lack of communication often and rules are loosely applied most of time allowing for lack of consistency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail enviroment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta , GaNovember 7, 2014
Pros: i had a great crew. generous discount
Cons: long holiday hours, tight payroll
As a Manager, a typical day at Ross was coming in and performing opening procedures ( checking emails for company directives, checking sales from the previous day, Filling out the MOD checklist
during my store walks, assigning the associates various jobs for the day etc..). I was also MOD anytime that I was in the building. I enjoyed training and developing – more... the associates and interacting
with the other store managers in my district. The hardest part of the job was during the holiday season when the hours were extended trying to exceed the company's standards and keep the store in perfect condition. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Work Here.
Sales Associate/MOD Plus. (Former Employee), Sparks, NVNovember 7, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: everything.
Seriously, just don't. Management picks favorites and only cares about themselves, not the associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with a great staff
Stocker/Customer Service (Current Employee), Surprise, AZNovember 6, 2014
Pros: a first look at new merchandisel
Cons: none noted
I stock and sort merchandise, work with customers, and utilize the cash register. I have learned more organizational skills, the importance of each aspect of the job. Working together as a team makes the job much more enjoyable and accomplishes more each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company to work for
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Harker Heights TXNovember 6, 2014
Loved it, they ensured everyone was knowledgable about what was expected of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Stock Room, Sales and Cashier (Former Employee), Wichita, KSNovember 6, 2014
already did this one. The customer and my co-workers were the best thing in the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Security (Current Employee), Oakland, CANovember 5, 2014
great management and a wonderful place to work. Working wit a wonderful group of people, in a nice environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNNovember 5, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: short breaks, and sometimes rude customers
Restocking merchandise and cleaning work area. I've learned that its always good to work as a team. Because when someone calls out it is harder on everyone else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work, friendly co-workers, very flexible
Store Protection Specialist (Current Employee), Blue Springs, MONovember 5, 2014
Stock Room Logistics / Store Protection Specialist. Great place to learn and grow from within!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Puyallup, WANovember 5, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: theft
Loved working for this company. Only there for a month and moved up in the company of how efficient I was. Gained a lot of responsibility. Management was very understanding and easy to get along with. Co-workers worked well with each other. Dealing with customers who were unhappy or didnt get their way. Loved how much fun we can have even if we were – more... working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment with great people and fair promotion opportunities.
M.S.P.S. / District trainer (Current Employee), Goodyear, AZNovember 5, 2014
Pros: flexable scheduling.
Cons: long days.
I led the SPS team and had strong communication with them through out my shift keeping an eye out for suspicious activity and keeping the store safe. I learned a lot about myself especially how good of a leader and communicator i am. Great managers easy to approach with any type of problems. Great co workers with good work ethic. The job does get long, – more... you have to keep yourself busy. I enjoyed being a professional and looked up to in the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to call home
Customer Service Rep, Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, CONovember 4, 2014
I love everything about this job. my co workers are amazing and I enjoy my time at Ross.

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos