Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Drain Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Findlay, OHNovember 20, 2017
The owner was very rude with all employees , I felt he also took advantage of customers. I had no issues with the work I did , I love using Quickbooks. but he was rude to me and the guys and made me feel like I was stupid .
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
be-littled
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned plumbing here. Very grateful
Technician (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVNovember 19, 2017
Learned sewer and drain cleaning and then plumbing here. Was a great small group to work in. I sign up and set up night calls while working for this company. I trained both my sons the business and one of them is the director now for Roto-Rooter in Chattanooga TN
This company is a good well balanced company with great training practices.
Pros
Flexable work and fun to work for.
Cons
Dirty. Takes a while to learn how to keep from getting dirty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Lombard, ILNovember 15, 2017
Job is good if you’re able to do 10 things at once. Pay is fair. Stress is high. Little direction from management or too much direction. Company expects miracles. 401k is really good. Benefits are decent. Overall not a bad place to work but there is room for improvement.
Pros
Great schedule. Decent salary.
Cons
Stress. Stress. Stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need sleep
Plumbing and Drain Technician (Former Employee) –  Springdale, ARNovember 15, 2017
commission based. can make money but no sleep and no life. you need to be able to be on call every other week and you need to be a hard worker with a really strong back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For drain guys only
Master Plumber (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 14, 2017
Dont expect to work at this company, even with several licenses an certs , 2 year drain guys make more $ working same hours , made me sub out certain calls , refused to pay me for calls managment sent me on as cust service
Cons
Cut throat, poor managment, high pressure sales
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work there unless you just want experience
Plumber And Drain Technician (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LA 70123November 9, 2017
You have to buy van for them to put their name all over and keep their equipment while they keep 77.5% of all your labor earnings and you get the rest no guaranteed money all commission based
Pros
Free cell phone to use for work and personal....They train guys that lack experience.
Cons
The system they have in place everything effects the technicians
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hickory, NCNovember 3, 2017
I went down south to hickory north carolina and found this job working for roto rooter and you couldnt ask for a better boss great people to work for and new service vans and machines I was with the company for 10 years very good benifits and bonases the owner of the company sold the franchice back to the holding company for a good sum and when that happened that was the end of a good buisness one by one we began to quit because the office was changing everything around and myself to I quite and came back up home to pa.
Pros
Lots
Cons
He sold the co.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Plumber (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALOctober 29, 2017
very easy going work place, company really gets the job done and workers are very committed. Would recommend this as a good starter job but need something with quicker advancement and better hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poorly managed. Heavy favoritism. New people don't have a chance
Water damage sales (Current Employee) –  Levittown, PAOctober 28, 2017
Hundreds of leads per week BUT.....
90% of the leads are nothing. Travel about 3 to 4 hundred miles per week.
This is the kind of job where you need to be available 24 hours a day 7 days a week to actually make any real money. If you're not accustomed to this your whole life style will change. Traveling from lead to lead is sometimes up to 40 minutes and there is no guarantee you will walk away with a sale even if the home is flooded 6 in. Most insurance companies do not want to do business with this company. Most homeowners are told not to use us.

Manager has no idea in Sales Management. Everyone is left to fend for themselves. There is absolutely no training whatsoever
Pros
Work from home
Cons
Name it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CAOctober 27, 2017
The branch manager is a joke. Morale is low, they keep lowering pay and people are wanting leave. Do not work here. The company keeps getting bought out and they micro manage like crazy
Pros
You get a van
Cons
You name it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good place to work
Water restoration (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 24, 2017
Listen in training get all of the information that you can work at the plumbing side and you will be successful be a piece full person treat customers good with respect and you will be okay God bless
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Service Plumber (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 19, 2017
I really enjoyed working there and would tell any plumber that is looking for work to try them but there are a couple things that would try people away. but other than those two things great place to be with
Pros
bonuses other rewards in training paid by the hr first one or two they wilkl give u gas
Cons
start commission pay you have to buy your own service van
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not well manged
Office Assistant/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Grove City, PAOctober 19, 2017
manger was not a personable person!! treated unfairly. hours suck. pay is minimal. no room for advancement. everything is put onto you and you make the least amount of money
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Plumbing Technician (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAOctober 16, 2017
Worked with this company for a little over three years and never had a complaint. My lifestyle was great, never once felt as if my job was in jeopardy. The company switched owners from Hoffman-Southwest to sterling in the middle of my employment and things went very smooth. Sterling switched from full commission salary to a hourly based salary with some commission and thing did not change. lifestyle and pay remained the same. Overall great company would definitely return.
Pros
salary
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxed and productive
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Concord, CASeptember 30, 2017
Family operated and treated the employees as family as well. Room for growth training was excellent and if you needed to earn extra cash shifts were available and given to help those in need. Loved working here the entire family was onboard and you felt like family when walking through the doors coming to work.
Pros
Can be yourself
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Drain Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Providence, RISeptember 24, 2017
Its a good company to work for. A lot of training and support. Your van is your office. Freedom to work on your own. pay is good. Hours are flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Dispatcher-Evening Ops (Former Employee) –  Linthicum, MDSeptember 24, 2017
The worst. You are nothing but a number to them. They only care about what benefits them and your concerns fall on deaf ears. Call center environment. Limited work area and zero respect or privacy given.
Pros
Free meals frequently
Cons
Long hours with little break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roto Rooter
Assistant Division Manager/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Levittown, PASeptember 18, 2017
This was a job that was very fast paced and required very long hours. I made several significant contribution during my tenure there. I definitely acquired significant management skills during my employment there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Plumbing Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 12, 2017
long hours little to know true understanding of life besides work and just overall a very shady and greedy work environment. they make you work to a point of not wanting to work at all they just really do not care about any if their employees.
Pros
good hours
Cons
lunch take out of pay everyday make you pay for your own uniforms and the list goes on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Professional Plumber (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 4, 2017
I think it is a great company to work for and the company offers competitve wages and benefits. Roto-Rooter is a perfect company to work for if your looking for a good career change and advancement into a new field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Drain Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 314 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2