Rouses Supermarket Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier at a grocery store
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mandeville, LAJanuary 11, 2018
This job was fine for my first job, I was a cashier at a popular grocery store. so i would work long shifts of standing checking out customers. I had this job during the summer, and had to leave to go back to high school, and was told I could have my job back next summer, however when I went to go back to work the manager didn't remember me working there.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, very busy
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Thibodaux, LAJanuary 9, 2018
I loved working st rouses but had to relocate to Kentucky. I would highly recommend rouses as a job for a college student or a high school student. They work around any schedule you give them. Only thing is hours aren’t always promised.
Pros
Great management, worked around your schedule
Cons
Hours get cut a lot, don’t get paid what you should
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
Bakery Associate (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LADecember 12, 2017
i make it to work 10 minutes and i find we are pack with a line of guest out the .. so i clock in and help where my help is need ..the hard part was serving all those guest but we did it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at rouses
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Theodore, ALDecember 12, 2017
If rouses had a better management team the store would run better and be in better conduction. Need to hire more help in order to get more done. Otherwise it’s pretty good Environment.
Pros
Healthcare, paid week vacation
Cons
Yearly raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed employees are very friendly & helpful.
Seafood Associate (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LADecember 11, 2017
Rouses is supermarket that carries local items that major companies wouldn’t carry. Management could have use some improvement but overall the job duties were simple and took little time to do.
Pros
Close to home, relaxed, quick pace
Cons
No benefits, little break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fluent
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Youngsville, LADecember 7, 2017
I enjoyed working and Rouses Supermarket. They were very professional and able to be flexible with my school schedule. I cross trained in different diepartments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy wokplace
Marine Services (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALDecember 4, 2017
Rouse's is a great company to work for.
Management is really easy to deal with!
Love my department and the opportunity that it gave me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Retail Stocker (Former Employee) –  Mandeville, LANovember 27, 2017
Dont work at Rouses in Mandeville on hwy 22. The mgmnt is a joke, most employees are lazy and whiny, and the uppity wanna be high class customers are the biggest pains in the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LANovember 21, 2017
Very productive and busy. In charge of greeting customers, assisting them in their shopping experience. Checking customers out and money handling/ Keeping register clean for customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paces always something to do
Grocery Manager (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 17, 2017
Easy on the job learning. Movement of top management all the time. No holiday pay, or anything, lots of overtime, not good at promoting from within for top management positions.
Pros
Discount on lunch, lots of room to move up.
Cons
low pay, no good hr, lots of manager changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced, and original
Customer Service/Deli (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 13, 2017
One of the best places for a person to work. Original in everything they do. Rouses interact with their community more than often. It's more than a grocery store, it's a neighbor.
Pros
proper management
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Dairy Stocker (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LANovember 6, 2017
I worked at Rouses two times and both times I enjoyed my work experience there. The pay was pretty good the second time around. The first time I was 18 years old and part time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to learn new Recipes and Bake in my Department. Much Customer Interaction. A generous number Of Side duties depending on your department. Has
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Gretna, LANovember 2, 2017
Since the management switch, a typical work day is something no one at my job really looks forward to. It's very uncomfortable to have the store director nitpick about the tiniest of problems on top of being nice to a certain few and being unbearably mean to everyone else. There isn't really much else to say other than, it's a grocery store.
Pros
Good health benefits also rewarded all employees turkeys for Thanksgiving and Christmas
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a ok place to work
Melon Bar (Former Employee) –  Covington, LAOctober 18, 2017
I enjoyed the job I just didn't like the way that they treat some people. They have their picks and chooses with whom they get along with and whom the dislike.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gets to Meet New People Everyday
Bakery Associate (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSOctober 11, 2017
You get to learn new Recipes and Bake in my Department. Much Customer Interaction. A generous number Of Side duties depending on your department. Has a chance to move to different departments if needed.
Pros
Paydays
Cons
Rather not discuss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and messy!!!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAOctober 8, 2017
Too much go on,the workers is very messy and all the managers,lie.someone stole my money and they fired me for it .was very stressed out,had no time for my kids,they play on your innocent and used u.
Pros
Lies
Cons
More lies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical supermarket in Louisiana
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LAOctober 4, 2017
i had a fine experience working here. managers were a-ok, and i needed it to support myself getting an associates degree. slow paced workplace, and i enjoyed that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm not sure how to put it...
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAOctober 3, 2017
Since the management switch, a typical work day is something no one at my job really looks forward to. It's very uncomfortable to have the store director nitpick about the tiniest of problems on top of being nice to a certain few and being unbearably mean to everyone else. There isn't really much else to say other than, it's a grocery store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a nice place to work. All the workers are friendly
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Metairie, LASeptember 29, 2017
Clean Store, Always stocked, and helpful employees. I like all of my managers. They are always there to help you. My co workers are super nice as well.
Pros
Some discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a first job, not great for a career
Dairy Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LASeptember 23, 2017
Management swindled their way out of promotions and raises, did not know how to handle tense situations properly. Coworkers were nice, but it's definitely a job for first-timers and not someone looking for a career
Pros
Discounted lounch
Cons
Poor management, horrible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rouses Supermarket. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 150 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5