Find companies:
Royal Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Royal Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes it was a nice place to work other times it was not
Teller (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 13, 2012
Pros: free lunches on training days
Cons: only had 45 minutes for lunch
A day at Royal was unpredictable you had your good days and bad days i was the fastest teller there and also accurate some of my coworkers were very lazy would put things on me to do for them the hardest part of the job was maybe handling bad customers i enjoyed that i could go outside to smoke if it was not busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work and great people
Teller (Former Employee), Elroy, WIJanuary 23, 2012
Pros: variety of different tasks
Cons: part time position
Royal Bank was a part-time position. Customers and co-workers were enjoyable and easy to get along with. The position had a variety of different tasks involved. Royal Bank conducted themselves in a very professional and friendly environment.
There was very little chance of becoming full time in the position, which was one of the downfalls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company to work for
Account Manager/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Uxbridge, ONJuly 10, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: sometime stressful
It's your typical bankers hours, which is great for a work/life balance. There was always opportunity for advancement, and the pay is quite good. They will train you and pay for training when required. My co-workers were amazing and I have kept in touch with them since leaving. The Management is extremely supportive. I am sad I ever left there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Delta, BCJuly 10, 2014
Pros: the discount
Cons: hours
Managing staff, stock, lp, customer service, merchindising. I learned alot about how to run a successful business and being a manager. I felt supported and appreciated by upper management. My co workers once motivated and re-trained loved there job and worked ver hard and well as a team. The hardest part of my job was coming in as a store manager and – more... implementing the necessary changes and policies and proedures. The most enjoyable part of my job was the sucessful store it became once i made the necessary changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting job
Central Teller (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCApril 15, 2014
A typical day consist of a lot of moving up and down running around constantly on my feet. The serving of business clients and responding to the every need of the bank, from balancing cashes to loading ATM machines.

I learned how to be more organize, how to train staff and how to manage the stress of a major position.

Some of management made it such – more... a pleasure to work there and others not so much unfortunately.

The hardest part of the job was getting a moment sometimes to yourself, getting time to breathe. However the most enjoyable part was the meeting and greeting of new clients and helping them with their everyday banking needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with lots of learning opportunity and lots of fun.
Project Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great growing opportunities for your career
Cons: some long hours
Worked for a span of 15 years and moved up through various positions whereby my introduction to business analysis and project management started.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trade finance experience and international payment system
Sr officer GTOps (International Payments) (Former Employee), Delhi, DLJanuary 27, 2014
gained in-depth knowledge of SWIFT and international payment system
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive
Manager of Client Care Service (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCOctober 22, 2013
Pros: room for advancement
Cons: expectations
scheduling, providing support to team members through their transactions. Customer support, training.
I learned to ask questions when unclear, find ways to support myself (keeping cheat sheets, or quick references handy)
Management was average.
Co-workers were average
Hardest part of the job was trying to make all the staff happy with scheduling.
The – more... most enjoyable part was when I got to go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service/Clerical (Former Employee), VancouverSeptember 21, 2013
It was a great company to work for but to far from home. It was a good company to start a career in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace meeting/helping people daily
Teller/ Secretary (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: i worked at the different branches
Cons: it was part time, no full time in the near future
This was actually two different jobs, whichever branch they needed me as a teller, I worked there, and then when I was needed as a Secretary I was there.
I enjoyed being a Part Time Teller, I helped customer with deposits, withdrawals, and foreign currency,
I also enjoyed the Secretary part working with different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as a co-op student in highschool
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONSeptember 10, 2013
worked as a teller, greeted customers, answered phones and booked appointments, helped customers with questions they have and also did there banking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive of personal growth and advancement, providing a variety of career paths to enhance both knowledge and experience.
Financial Manager (Former Employee), Thorold, ONJuly 27, 2013
Pros: i loved teaching and training and conducting the seminars, reviewing the case studies and drawing on my own experiences, sharing them to help others gain knowledge.
Cons: arriving at toronto airport late friday night, and having to pack up again sunday after lunch, for an early flight out.
I started in 1975 as a Loans Officer and in three months was enlisted as trainer for other lenders within the Bank. I was promoted to Sr. Lender at Hamilton Main Branch within 15 months, and then to Development Officer in Burlington a year and a half later. As a Development Officer I engaged in sales and marketing of bank loans, mortgages, and investment – more... products, for 34 Branches from Burlington to Owen Sound. One year later I was accepted to the Management Training Program, became a Manager in Stoney Creek, and after two and a half years promoted to Business Banking at Grey's & Hwy 8 as a Commercial Account Manager. My next Branch was Portage & O'Neill in Niagara Falls for two years, then Ontario District Collections, where we conducted Credit Risk Seminars throughout the Province and monitored the quality of lending practices of branches in Ontario from our offices at the Burlington Collection Center. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Data Entry (Former Employee), Guelph, ONJuly 18, 2013
I enjoyed working in this field, enjoyed doing data entry,data processing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anti Money Laundering typical day.
Administration officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 16, 2013
Pros: when someone is greatful for you help and send a nice email of thanks makes my day
Cons: my contract is coming to an end
Provide support to other staff members on an ongoing basis. Review and process documents checking for accuracy and return to sender when needed. Answer department telephone help line and provide guidance to callers.
Totally enjoy this positions as it it very rewarding when you can help someone learn and be able to respond to their requests. The people – more... in the department are all great to work with and we all work well as a team to get the tasks completed on time. While the job is very challenging I don't reall y find any of it hard except maybe when you can't come up with a solutions for a difficult client. Sometime you have to be creative and think outside the box to get things resolved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management always had birthday cakes for the birthday person
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJuly 1, 2013
Pros: getting along with co-workers
Cons: dirty money
Go through bullet proof doors to an office without windows. Open night deposit bags. Count money and put on deposit slips. The hardest part of job was to handle all the dirty money. The most enjoyable was walking around with $30,000 in your hand at one time.
Management and co-workers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast paced environment.Each day was a new problem to investigate and solve to the satisfaction of clients and the company.
Audit and Control Clerk (Former Employee), 483 Bay Street , TorontoJune 8, 2013
Pros: very good benefit program
Cons: really can`t think of any..
We were all encouraged to build skills to enable advancement. Good salary and benefits. Management willing to listen to ideas and implement new procedures after consideration,
The most enjoyable part of my job was interaction with co-workers, store merchants and contractors. We, individually assessed the issue and found the best and economical solution.
The – more... hardest part of the job was having to leave it when the position was transitioned to India.
Loved being with RBC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
OPERATOR/ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT OFFICER (Former Employee), 180 Wellington St. Toronto, Ont.May 3, 2013
Pros: free lunch, raffles.
Cons: only during year end before taxation.
A typical day at work was producing and finishing entries to transmit.

Learned about payroll process.

Management gives encouragement to learn and excel in one's task.

Co-workers are mostly professionals.

Hardest part of the job was during year end period.

Most enjoyable part of the job was when tasks are completed without any glitches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, both the mangers and coworkers were wonderful.
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Langley, BCApril 11, 2013
Pros: great coworkers and work environment
Cons: change in hours.
This job gave me an opportunity to interact with clients, and to be a part of an amazing team of people who were both supportive as well as encouraging. My managers were outstanding leaders who set the tone for our cohesive work environment.
Being the part of a team that worked so well together and interacting with clients daily was the most enjoyable – more... part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Companies Size
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 25, 2013
I never really liked working for a bank, but I got to meet a ton of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my position to gain exposure to the back office of the banking system
Investigations Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: a great place to work, 485 co-workers that were mostly friendly, when a question needed to be answered i had many places to find the proper way to complete the task, the building was located in the downtown financial sector of toronto.
Cons: rush hour traffic was always difficult to deal with on a daily basis
-My duties were to investigate and recoup money that was written using false cheque's that were not written properly and retrieve the money that was not properly negotiated by branches
-I learned the importance of completely understanding the proper ways to utilize debits and credits
-the management was fair in all aspects of the back office
-I really – more... enjoyed working in a team setting in such a large office
-The hardest part was being able to find in formation out by using a multiple amount of sources you gain with years of experience
-There were always things going on within the Bank to keep up the moral with the workers, my favorite was the potluck lunches. – less