Royal mail sorting office Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely boring
Sorter (Former Employee) –  HP3March 10, 2016
Worst place i could ever think of working, you'd be working away doing one job, then moved on to another without any instructions, so in one day you could of been active on 5 jobs and not actually completed anything.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual Staff
assistant (Former Employee) –  EdinburghJanuary 19, 2016
I really enjoyed my time here. Unfortunately it was only for a month too help with the busy period. The job was not difficult in anyway but it was hard getting used too night-shifts as I have never done this before but after a few days my body clock got used too it
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place
Christmas Casual Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  BristolOctober 10, 2015
Long hours, Hard work, very busy. nice people to work with. good rate of pay. hardest part of the job is the heavy lifting and large workload. enjoyable part of this job is you get to work with lots of different people and are continously doing something different.
Pros
free stamps
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work environment
3 week temp work (Former Employee) –  Maidstone, ENGJuly 3, 2015
i woke up at 4:30 and got to the royal mail at about 6:30 i travelled on train transport and when i got to work i signed in and then we listened to our co-workers on what jobs had to be done through out the rest of the day as the day went on i was sorting out the parcels putting them into the postmans bags and at what addresses that they go to after a while i got used to the addresses of where the posts was sent i enjoyed working for the royal mail i found that the hardest part of the job was the letters but after a while i was getting used to the postal letters and picked up on the job roles the most enjoyable part was feeling that we succesfully completed jobs on time i learned where the postal packages and letters had to be placed and enjoyed myself
Pros
breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and provided me with the means to grow in the work place
Sorting office assistant (Former Employee) –  Ilford, ENGJuly 24, 2015
Working in the royal mail sorting office was a great experience because it allowed me to learn how to communicate with customers and work in a more efficient manor.
Pros
Helpful co-workers, short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Front counter attendant (Former Employee) –  Enfield, ENGMarch 17, 2015
I started work at 5am - 2pm. Wasn't a very hard job you just needed to know how to talk and respond to customers, whilst making sure you listened to them and allowed them to talk and not to cut them short. I really improved on my social skills, my organisation and my motivation to work hard and get the job done. The hardest part of the of the job was making sure you were fast and didn't slack off because the queue would just grow and become very long. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to talk to the people and getting to talk to the different characters that would come to the desk
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Workplace
PPI Operative (Former Employee) –  StroodJanuary 26, 2015
In my time working a the Sorting Office, I found the days seemed never-ending at first but they got better as I began talking to other workers and temps. The employees at Royal Mail are all approachable and helpful, they are all really easy to talk to.
The managers on the floor were all 'down to earth' and helpful, not at all rude or unappreciative (even if we we're only temps)! The hardest part of the job for me was standing for that amount of time day after day, however that being said it was also one of the more enjoyable aspects of the job as there was always something to be done while talking to the people around you.

In conclusion, I though that Royal Mail are a solid company to work for even if there are some slight downsides.
Pros
meeting all kinds of new people and learning new skills.
Cons
left to walk down a dimly lit industrial road due to the carpark being closed to temps!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Swindon, ENGJanuary 6, 2015
As a general worker ('casual') I am required to work in different areas of the sorting office, as required. However, upon induction, myself and a co-worker were allocated a specific section apart from other workers to sort 're-directed mail'. Letters are contained in trays and stored in Yorks. It is my duty to sort these letters and move them to the correct area for further direction in other areas. The job is fairly monotonous and so it is necessary to adopt a rhythm of work to kept productivity and motivation. This specific job is very independent, and so I am responsible for myself and am required to be proactive. When taken onto other areas such as 'tipping' or sorting letters into postcodes, I must adapt quickly to the pace of people trained on this area. I have learned to be highly efficient, a quick-learner and communicative with colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
royal mail
Royal Mail Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  londonApril 7, 2014
Recording of both incoming and outgoing post
Physical activity such as lifting of delivery sacks
Data input of recorded delivery outgoing mail
Distribution and collection of mail and parcels within Royal Mail depots via Royal Mail delivery van
High level of face to face interaction with customers and clients
Pros
working out doors face to face with customers working for a well know company
Cons
working in the snow
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
illogical unproductive and depressing
processing (Former Employee) –  bristolApril 17, 2013
repetative and isolated with no oppurtunity for advancement due to nepotism and favourtism. a blinkered attitude to change. management un willing or unable to take responsibility for failure. co-workers generally going through the motions no interest or commitment. hardest part of job was turning up. the actual process of job could be interesting at times but morale and unprofessional attitudes made the whole experience abhorent
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorter
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Owens Baglan Industreal estateJanuary 8, 2013
My day in the Royal Mail would involve making up cages and lining them with cardboard for the sorter to take to place mail in. I learned about the different areas of the sorting office about the way they sort the mail into different groups. the management was very fair and good to the employees.the people there were very helpful and friendly.the hardest part of the job was being on your feet for 8 hour and it could be a bit boring.The best part of the job was meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working There
PHG (Former Employee) –  Western Docks SouthamptonDecember 12, 2012
A typical Day was working mainly Night shift
While I was there I learned All Postal Sorting aspects and progressed to PHG ( postman higher grade)
The Management team I worked with were very fair & approachable
All My fellow workmates work a good laugh & probably new most (over 700 staff)
The Hardest Part of my job was if I had to cover early shift & getting up was a problem.
The best Part of the Job was I met my Wife there & we have been Married for 18 years.
Pros
meeting a great bunch of people.
Cons
having to leave through injury.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job to do
catering assistant (Former Employee) –  suttonJune 17, 2013
There was only 2 of us working in the kitchen.
My typical day was making post/persons breakfast, making tea ,
coffee and then cleaning up after everyone had finished.
I also worked the till and did the cashing up at the end of the day.
Banking was done at the end of the week and stock taking once a week. I filled the vending machines and emptied the cash out of them once a week, the ordering of stock was done once a week
Pros
very enjoyable job
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
sorting mail out (Former Employee) –  middlesbroughMay 31, 2012
Wait for the post to come in then sort them out to go back out in the right order.
Got learned better how to work well in a team and good communication.
The management was good but had better from my other jobs.
The staff who I worked with were excellent.
The hardest part was working over-time but I had to be done.
Was when you finished the task you have been giving.
Pros
bring your own lunch
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
royal mail good job
ware house (Former Employee) –  warehouseJuly 5, 2012
a typical day at work was sorting mail/packages,nights i learned alot of being fast and successful . My managdfwas amazing and co-workers were good hard working team players and the hardest job -there was not because it was easy and the most enjoyable part was the smile when we had the success was when
Pros
good pay
Cons
hurting hands
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Parcel/Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  swanseaFebruary 6, 2015
good relax place to work day or night sorted out parcels and post for local areas and all over Britain i learnt to work together as a team and time keeping
Pros
excellent pay
Cons
too many managers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
christmas casual staff
Casual Christmas staff (Former Employee) –  chesterJanuary 5, 2015
sorting out parcels and letters into correct delivery containers

working as a team or working independently

were able to choose shifts
Pros
good team work
Cons
only temporary work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't a bad place to work
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  LangleyJuly 26, 2012
It was a fun working at Royal Mail but then they had some of the boring and hard jobs which I had to do at times. Such as stacking letters on the shelves in alphabetical orders.
I made a lot of friends there so it would make the work easier.
Pros
good hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Christmas Temp (Former Employee) –  plymouth, ENGFebruary 4, 2015
Only worked here briefly. Treated well management was helpful and the staff where brilliant. Pay was of a good rate and the hours were also good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Christmas Casual (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, ENGJanuary 5, 2015
Excellent company to work for with great benefits. Management gave great training to enable me to do my job correctly and in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
3.8