Royal Mail Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Revenue protection officer (Current Employee) –  England UKSeptember 19, 2016
Check emails, do paper work, adjusting sales order and sampling wholesale mail.
How to handle difficult customer and solve the problem.
Good support form management to balance home and work life.
Very good team to work with.
sometimes get very busy to clear all work.
when customer thank for helping them to released their mail.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Senior Postman (Former Employee) –  South End at Sea, United KingdomJuly 13, 2016
One of the best place to work with in UK! Excellent benefits and lots of perks.
Management is very supportive, flexible and accommodating to employee needs. As a result they have a very trusted work force.
Very friendly employees and work environment is excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment not enjoyable
Asst. mgr (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 4, 2016
I started as a mail sorter and then front desk agent with little to no training. Very busy and small for all the services offered. Owners was very helpful but had limited time. The job was fun sometimes even in the hard times.
Pros
Free lunch and parking
Cons
No real break and no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible building
Postman (Current Employee) –  HP2 7xxApril 19, 2016
Horrible warehouse to work in would not recommend. Causes asthma attacks.
Poor management structure.
Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting
Manager (Former Employee) –  NewcastleMarch 3, 2016
My colleagues believe that much change is coming about and not for the better. It is a shame that the managers are not treated as well as staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work but no for the corporation
Operational Postal Grade (Former Employee) –  LondonFebruary 9, 2016
The most difficult things in this company is to advance, its almost impossible to move forward within the company.

The new changes that this company is having make the situation difficult for the workers, less hours in the contract and pressure over the upper level management.
Pros
Evening times, over times, benefits
Cons
not advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working outside as your own boss is great
Postal delivery officer (Former Employee) –  Sherburn in Elmet, LEEDS, UKApril 17, 2015
I worked for Royal Mail for over fourteen years as a Postman (mailman) Delivery Officer. This job combined punctuality and good timekeeping, being able to work under pressure and in all weathers and working well with members of the public. I was given the responsibility of delivering recorded and registered items that were of extensive value. I worked well and had a very low sick record. I was always pleasant with members of the public and could guarantee a smile no matter what the weather was. I decided to leave after more than fourteen years, as there were no promotional prospects in such a small office.
Pros
on delivery you were your own boss
Cons
no chance for promotion in our office
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experince to work there
Casual Employee (Former Employee) –  godfrey wayJanuary 30, 2015
It was great experince for me to work in royal mail.My co-workers are very co-operative me if i have any doubt .We have to work continuely by standing.Even if we are standing and working we can forget every thing by apprication.Even if it was shot period of time i have enjoyed my work a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mix of people and skills
Finance Services, Accounts Payable and Receivable. (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, ENGJuly 24, 2014
A lot of my time was spent doing data entry and filing.
I was responsible for the International bank accounts and parcels international compensation accounts processing. Both of these roles had to be completed with accuracy, efficiency and adhering to strict protocols from start to finish.
I learned a great deal during my time at Royal Mail; from the workings of a busy office, the importance of deadlines and adapting to work loads as well as improving my knowledge and people skills.
I was lucky enough to have the privilege of working with some truly wonderful people whom I keep in contact with to this day.
Pros
Amazing people, busy work days and fantastic vacation
Cons
Having to leave them all when I moved
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
postman
postman (Former Employee) –  2 miles from home.July 5, 2014
worked night shift for 10 years.
great ppl to work with.
good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Senior Safety Advisor - West Geography (Current Employee) –  West GeographyMarch 31, 2014
I do not wish to make specific comments about my current employer. I have worked for the orgainsiation for almost 30 years which in itself speaks volumes.
Pros
.
Cons
.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  in warehouseFebruary 19, 2014
job is good, pay is good, managers are friendly. i worked there as christmas casual too, its a nice place to work. but no contract was given to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
post person irlam
Post Person (Former Employee) –  royal mailFebruary 5, 2014
early start - early finish - customer interaction - company transport - free bus rides
Pros
early start - and finish
Cons
winter weather
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i worked for 34 yrs delivering and processing mail and they are very good employer
Postman and Mail Processor (Former Employee) –  teesside mail centreJuly 3, 2013
worked nights for over 20yrs on machines and sorting within a team learnt how to change belts and take figures on computer management were mostly ok and co workers very good hardest part of job on feet for 10hrs and reaching targets most enjoyable was having good teams on machines to get finished on time
Pros
pay was very good
Cons
only 45 mins break in 10hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my yrs at royal mail
POSTMAN (Former Employee) –  chesterfieldApril 2, 2013
royal mail is not for everyone must be physically fit as is a very demanding job physically
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like that job
I'm ex royal mail driver (Former Employee) –  driverFebruary 6, 2013
Its was a great jobs for me I was ccs hgv driver had a airport pass I
Lean a lot in job im try to come back to that job
Cons
45 hours week
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No mental challenge
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  InvernessOctober 18, 2012
matching delivery addresses to boxes,opening mail sacks and sorting.Physically demanding and no thought required.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure work place
driver network and collection (Current Employee) –  royal mailSeptember 30, 2012
typical day on work starts from collecting van keys,route cards, checking vehicle.
start the route on time collecting mail and work from firm,business and offices.take paper work and sign it.drive back to mail centre unload work, report and submit all paper works.
three routes a day.
Pros
government job
Cons
less opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence place for young people to work
Operations Officer (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, NIRApril 25, 2012
Busy days
Operational procedures
not hands on
diverse workforce
Pros
good pension benefits once
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, steady work with good benefits. Hard work.
Postman (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, UKSeptember 2, 2011
I was a postman and it's definitely a physically-demanding job but, if you can handle that, the work is enjoyable though repetitive. I finally left because of an injury and the job was so repetitive I was getting depressed. But I have good memories of it. I particularly enjoyed working with the people I worked with. Everyone's there to do the same job, it's a difficult job and it's like being part of an army.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport

See more Royal Mail reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Mail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,405 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7