RR Donnelley

519 reviews

RR Donnelley Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with Management Flaws
Sales Professional (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 30, 2015
Pros: The company has a great sense of production, esp in the manufacturing divisions.
Cons: Management
Company interms of production is great, second to none. Management leaves something to be desired, as blame is passed without any second thought.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and friendly to employees
Insert Operator (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIMay 30, 2015
Loved working there, but had to move on. They treat their employees very well but can demand their employees to work long weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Account Integration Specialist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 29, 2015
Working for RR Donnelley taught me everything I know about how to handle intense situations, challenging deadlines, and working with a team open to bouncing around new ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just not a nice place
Skilled labor (Former Employee), Thurmont, MDMay 20, 2015
Pros: Pay is good
Cons: Poor management
This used to be a good place to work. Now it is not I would tell anybody I know not to go there. They will make you work lots of OT without ever a thank you. The turnover is getting crazy. They can not keep anybody or get anybody new to stay. Then when they get new worker they put them on there own and then the screw up work. It is sad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Human Resources Coordinator/Generalist (Current Employee), Antioch, TNMay 19, 2015
Assist Management and employees, contractors, and visitors.
Fast Paced
Great connections with management and other employees.
Challenging work load at times.
Enjoyed assisting employees with FMLA inquiries as well as assisting management.
Security Management
Coordinated Travel
Coordinated Job Fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, RR Donnelley is a good company.
Sales Professional (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 18, 2015
Pros: Provides stability
Cons: Could do a better job with employee appreciation.
RR Donnelley is a Fortune 500 Company. I learned a great deal about business and Corporate America during my time there. The management team had great expectations and were driven by results.

I – more... issued detailed, timely instructions on a daily basis. This is key in a highly stressful, fast paced environment . Managing several high profile weekly accounts and magazines was difficult, but rewarding. Successfully managing the start-up of two nationally known weekly accounts was a highlight in my career. I also developed great working relationships with my customers.

Everyday didn't always run as smoothly as planned, which made for some really stressful times. Delivering unpleasant news to customers was always challenging, but necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no financial support for 401k for 2 of the 3yrs working there
2nd pressman (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 14, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: old equipped that we were not allowed to maintain properly.
Working at RRD was a learning experience. I was constantly reminded having the job was not my priviledge, but theirs. I watched one of the biggest turnarounds I have ever seen for the position of 2nd – more... pressman. During my first year there felt threatened to hold my position constantly. I only received a 1% raise the entire time I was there. With the exception being when I was hired. I was extremely underpaid and felt left out of the corp group of original employees. I firmly believe I was seperated from the company because of my belief in speaking the truth about the job polcies and management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable work environment
Servicing (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 13, 2015
Fairly good company to work for, but unstable environment. Would like to see more on site training... it would really help with the lack of efficiency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is tense
Press operator (Current Employee), Wilson, NCMay 13, 2015
Typical day at work would be coming in, setting up the press or to continue running the press, and finish the job. I learned how to run many different presses. Co-workers are easy to talk to. Theres not really anything difficult about this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dying business that cannot attract quality candidates
JOB ACCOUNTANT III (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAMay 5, 2015
turnover is rampant, most employees have experience from 25+ years or less than 5 years, going in you will never make the salaries of the 25+ year group even though the younger generation is more efficient with use of technology and the older group are too set in their ways to change
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Full Time Employment (Current Employee), Monroe, WIMay 5, 2015
NA...I dont really have anything to say, my ratings should explain it all. Training is the worst ever, if you even get any training. They do not fire people for anything, so you are stuck working with people that you can not rely on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not well run operation
Shipping (Current Employee), Florence, KYMay 2, 2015
Pros: no uniforms
Cons: bad benifits, poor division of labor
Always understaffed and if you do a good job they give you the work of the others that just show up. You don,t get anymore compensation than the ones that don,t do a good job either. They expect you to – more... come in on the weekend and work but don,t give you any notice during the week that they will need coverage. Management for the most part just wants you to figure problems out on your own so if something goes wrong they can blame you and they don,t get in trouble. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RR Donnelley
Digital Print Operator (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNApril 29, 2015
Pros: Works with my school schedule.
Cons: Long drive time.
I work at RR Donnelley processing and print all our client's forms. Performing work in the Bindery such as: Making pads, GBC binding, drilling, cutting, and folding and NCR padding as well as billing – more... and catalog services. Design documents and forms for our clients. Perform repair and preventative maintenance on Docutechs and bindery equipment. It is a good company to work for and they offer good benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RR Donnelley review
Bindery Operator (Current Employee), Durham, NCApril 29, 2015
Pros: Very good company to work for
Cons: Not very employee friendly
I have been working at donnelley for 7 years now, and i have to say that my overall experience has been pretty good. I love my co workers and people all around the plant. Just last year we had a huge management – more... change and after that things havent been going so great. A lot of changes were made that the employees are not happy about, thus the morale has dropped drastically. Sometimes i dont even feel like im in the place as before. We just recently had a lay off and the work is coming in very slowly. Donnelley has been very good to me but i think its time for me to move on and explore my other options. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAApril 27, 2015
Pros: Laid back environment
Cons: short breaks
Entered order data for sales representative. Occasionally got to accompany rep on they're sales calls. Keeping up with the filing was a challenge because of the volume.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've been there many years. Not a bad place to work. It's just hard to get your hours at this present time.
Hired January 1993 as a temp (Current Employee), Strasburg, VAApril 22, 2015
Pros: Good pay. people
Cons: Healthcare. But I think most healthcare is about the same as everywhere else.
I come in and talk with the current operator and see whats going on. I check the quality of the magazines. I fill out my checklists. Then I get on with the day. I makeready, run, and maintain the machine. – more... Fixing anything that breaks. I have learned a lot of mechanical skills while there. I have learned more about computers also. I have learned how to learned how to manage a 4+ man crew. The management there is questionable. The people are great for the most part. The job at my level can be stressful at times. The hardest part of the job is the physical aspect. Not everyone can stand for 12 hours on concrete. The best part is the people and the pay is a little above average. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall RR Donnelley is a decent job but definately not a carreer.
Warehouse/Ticketer (Current Employee), Aurora, ILApril 21, 2015
A typical day at RR Donnelley is usually slow starting off. I begin by checking all the mail sorting machines to see what type of mail they are running and if they need tickets. Once enough mail has been – more... sorting the Supervisor then analyses the mail and creates groups to sort. I then print and pass out tickets for those groups. For the rest of the shift i make sure every bin of mail has tickets. I have learned how to operate a mail sorting system. The RR Donnelley management isn't the best but they get the job done. The co-workers are a bit slow and don't take orders very well. The hardest part of the job would be keeping up with all the mail on the sorting machines. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to learn something everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, changing, interesting and growing
Assistant Controller and Controller (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 19, 2015
Pros: Working with numbers, people I work with
I love being an accountant, with a variety of people to work with and a variety of job duties. I have never been bored for there is always something to do and I can use all the skills and knowledge I have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work, great team members.
Inventory/Customer Service Lead (Current Employee), Aurora, ILApril 16, 2015
Pros: Very easy to work with, puts family first.
Cons: No positions to advance to.
A typical day consists of arriving at 5:45 am to unlock the door, deactivate the alarm, and run the cyce count sheets and reports. After the cycle counts are completed, I will proceed to print all the – more... orders that need to ship and give to warehouse. All throughout the day,I will monitor emails and respond accordingly. Any inventory moves, receipts, and shipments run through my desk first and last to make sure that they been processed correctly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very impersonal management at this plant.
Hand assembly of medical kits, pack (Former Employee), Plover, WIApril 16, 2015
The management for this company shows no compassion or respect for their employees. They see them as just another piece of machinery and show no compassion towards an individual who is having problems or has special needs while at work.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Chicago, Illinois
Revenue
more than $10B (USD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
    Links
    RR Donnelley website