Find companies:
Ruan Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

Ruan Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation Supervisor
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee), texasSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: everything else. no bonuses, no support, no home life.
You basically loose your home life. Management never helps even thought I was a supervisor, we didn't get any support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was prejudice towards women.
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee), Amsterdam, NYSeptember 2, 2014
As a supply chain master performing an integrated program management plan, to addresses the approach for all phases of the agenda. The plan concentrates on the synchronized effort of all organizations taking part in the curriculum. Be brilliant in creating an idea to have it quickly shot down, for in a couple weeks, your idea is the management’s fantastic – more... idea. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Lead Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), tolleson azAugust 20, 2014
this company has the best benefits i have ever had. It is a union shop with great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck rental equipment
Rental Coordinator (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 12, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: my position was elimanted due to sell off of company
I never knew what I was going to face that day and it made it exciting. I would be in charge of renting out units and be able to account for all units at my terminal and other terminals of state. I would also perform the mileage billing for 13 terminals which meant collecting mileage from clients and various maintenance shops. With billing, I also had – more... a list of overdue accounts that I would call on and make arrangements for payments. I worked independently but worked closely with my other people within Ruan. I also was in charge of ordering office supplies and keeping a record of inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), salem vaJuly 12, 2014
its a decent place to work, great pay, union, and awesome benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ruan is a great company to work for !!!!!!!!!!!
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee), Richmond, CAJuly 8, 2014
Working along side the Whole Foods Market family was an awesome experience. They really make you feel great about the work you are doing .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of opportunity for upward mobility.
Terminal Manager (Former Employee), Geneva, ILJuly 7, 2014
Pros: upward moblity
Cons: extremely high expectations
Great company to work for, a lot of opportunity for upward mobility, but must be willing to relocate. Decent salary, but very high expectations from upper management. High paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to Deal With Very Toxic Customers
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee), Midlothian, TXJuly 6, 2014
Cons: insufficient training, team building is non-existent, toxic customer
I was at the terminal in Midlothian Texas. The customer, Target is very toxic. The management is very uncooperative and the training is lackluster. You're largely on your own there and it feels like an every man for himself operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always watching you back, unconsistant discpline, left in the dark
Driver (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAJuly 4, 2014
Pros: dedicated accounts, paycheck always there
Cons: never explained the full extent of your job, because they dont know what it is, changing staff, not important
I'm been with Ruan for over eight years, and in those eight years the terminals has been through 3 managers, and numberous dispatchers. The old adage here the keys and if you back it back in one piece you have a job. Where the terminal manager or dispatcher tell you about the position is very LITTLE, and generally assume it will be double the work that – more... they tell you. Also Ruan is really BIG on safety, and harp on it all the time, but there no support and backing to the empty words, The terminal manager would rather toss you under the truck than take a stand and support his drivers. I have ask my terminal manger if "He had a minute to talk" and his reply was "No not really" The discipline is all over the board, if you put a scratch on a truck or trailer, you may get a 6 month to year probation, but, if you deliver the wrong product to a customer or damage customer equipment or property and costing them thousands of dollars, you will still have a job, and maybe get a wrist slap. Also you can NEVER get a straight answer on a question, it generally "I don't know", or" I'll get back to you", good luck on the latter, because it won't happen, you have to stay on them until you get the answer, maybe even then you will still get the runaround, "I'm still checking into yet" Ruan has burnt the Des Moines area driver pool so bad over the years that now they have to go outside of the Metro area and offer hiring bonus for you to work for them,

Closing, If you want a job that you need to watch your back, treated like a 2 year old, and made to feel unimportant, and dispose as easy a bag of trash, deal with people who have never driven a truck or what it takes to get the job done, Ruan is the place for you.

Drivers have a little bit of dignity for yourselves and find somewhere else to driver for, You are professionals who are in high demand right now, so you can be picky and can choose for who you drive for.

So be safe, and good luck on your adventures – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 27, 2014
Operartions Manager - Atlanta Terminal is great- Company over good. based out of town so manger changes a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader in dedicated transportation
Terminal Manager T337, T341, & T346 (Current Employee), Fontana, Lakeview, Perris, CAJune 5, 2014
Pros: strong cost analysis, statistical matrix, providing customer up to date kpi's
Cons: to many operating systems to utilize to complete daily operating duties
Ruan has offered transportation services for over 75 years, Great company to work for with a strong upper management leadership team. A leader in dedicated transportation services, Ruan offers their customer's efficient, cost effective transportation solutions, with sound cost analysis insuring Ruan customer's maximum R.O.I. Remaining focus on servicing – more... Ruan customer transportation needs in both an efficient and timely manner, Keeping a strong commitment to safety and following D.O.T. regulations through Ruan's Mega 7 Safe training procedures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ruan Transportation
Terminal Manager/ Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 15, 2014
3pl Transportation Company where I worked for 2 years and managed a 3pl terminal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Wilton, NYMay 15, 2014
good place to work, if you had a proplem finding one of the stores all you had to do was call another driver and he gave u very good directions to it and back home safely
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 28, 2014
Pros: decent pay, weekends off, home everynight
Cons: management, bye-weekly pay, expensive benefits
Deliver to customers on dedicated route
Learned alot on load securement
Management does not care about you
Good co-workers
physically tough with tarping loads
Weekends off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drive around all day fueling trailers.
fueler (Former Employee), Tolleson, AZMarch 19, 2014
Pros: at least 40hrs a week
Cons: the heat
i loved this job if they paid more I would go back in a heartbeat. the job was easy. you see a trailer low on fuel fill it up. the bad side of the job was the heat, it would be 117 out side and ur standing under the refer motor getting the engine heat blown on you at the same time. its a union job great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proper balance
Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: work out of small teminals where your not a number.
Cons: the daily challenges are easily overcome and mundane.
Enjoyable atmosphere with a home-time/work balance I had ben searching for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level and lack of work
Terminal Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: geat people, great hours.
Cons: lack of productive work available, no advancement potential.
Inventory, order parts, answer telephones, file, manage all correspondence, work with vendors on warranties, locate repair facilities country-wide to assist stranded drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and funplace
Delivery Truck Driver (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: honest
Cons: part time
very productive work place, good management, and safety orient
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Local Job
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fair Oaks, INJanuary 10, 2014
Ruan Is GREAT Company. Problems With Mantainence And Management In The Fair Oaks Terminal. They Run CNG Tractors That Are Going Through Exparamental Process And The Maintance Is Kept Up By Another Company. Not To Mention The Loads Are Giving To Us From Another Contrctor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management Issues
Scapegoat (Former Employee), SomewhereDecember 13, 2013
Pros: family time
Cons: upper management took a turn for the worse
Upper Management had turned in an opposite direction. They see things on way and one way only. They believe what their customers say about employees and not care the employee has to say. Turned into a one sided atmosphere company. In the beginning they were great, but over the years, upper management did not care about their direct reports. They failed – more... to listen to any sort of reasoning in hearing what their employees had to say. Things have definitely changed and they then turned out to not care about their people and a lot of finger pointing and what happened to them going forward. – less

February 18, 2014

I agree. All upper management does is worry about themselves and not the people that work for them. Upper management needs to be put in their place and realize that the people that work for them, are the ones that are making the company successful and should treat their direct reports better and listen to what they have to say and not say "NO" to them all of the time. They are the ones running their operations and knows what is best for their assigned locations. All upper management looks at and cares about are the bottom line numbers and could care less how cuts effect each terminal.

March 10, 2014

Upper management needs to straighten up or they will loose "ALOT" of professional individuals. They all need to see the big picture.


1 2 3

About Ruan Transportation

When it comes to trucking, sometimes you have to walk before you can Ruan. Ruan (pronounced RUE-on) Transportation Management – Read more