Rubio's Coastal Grill Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldnt recommend
Cook Line 1 (Former Employee) –  Poway, CAOctober 23, 2017
management was honestly just so unorganized and the schedules would come out at the last second and no one knew when there shift was. wouldn't recommend working here, especially the one in Poway.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAOctober 22, 2017
Rubios was a place where I gained a lot of experience in a fast paced restaurant. I was also able to learn how to work a register and my co workers made working at Rubios a fun and friendly working space. A typical day at Rubio's was really intense lunch shifts and peaceful closing shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Downey, CAOctober 3, 2017
The store is full of drama and the GM let's it slide. Also a lot of favoritism towards certain workers. Wouldn't recommend working here, it's very much like high school.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at Rubios
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Poway, CAOctober 2, 2017
once clocked in, there is no communication between leaving team and starting team. no one talks to managers, or to crew members. There is a big divide between BOH and FOH mainly due to language barrier
Pros
free lunch
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, fun environment
Cashier and Head Cook (Former Employee) –  Temecula, CASeptember 15, 2017
Good place to work, very fast paced, good food. When it come to raises verify you get what you are promised. All food is made and preped in house fresh everyday.
Pros
Good food, awesoem atmosphere
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Ventura, CASeptember 12, 2017
Fast pace work tipycal day none stop busy place ,whitch is good time goes faster learn something new every day.good place to work as a part time job..
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 3, 2017
team members are great management is awesome they care about their team members as if they were family delicious food i would recommend thia place of employment for a student that needs employment to further their career
Pros
great place to work
Cons
no benefits until you hit the five year mark
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend working for this business
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CAAugust 31, 2017
Within my experience at Rubios, i wasn't treated well or respectfully by management. They didn't provide proper training, it was a very negative environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift-leader
Shift-Leader (Former Employee) –  Highlands, CAAugust 30, 2017
I only worked at Rubio's for maybe two weeks before they promoted me to shift-leader. I got to say getting a promotion after being on the job for two weeks felt great. The manager training program they have is really great, also they take care of all employees. Weather its food, gas, or transportation needs they take care of every employee for its important to them to have the same employees working there for however long they want. Rubio's believes in not only success of the company but everyone that runs it.
Pros
Great opportunities
Cons
different shifts each week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard to follow
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 25, 2017
Extremely understaffed and unorganized, coworkers and management were friendly, though. Would be better at another location with a good amount of people to work.
Pros
discounts, free drinks
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job to have
Manger Anthony ( Tony ) (Former Employee) –  Casa Grande, AZAugust 24, 2017
If you intend to make a career out of Rubio's that might be a little hard to do, but it is a great company to work for non the less. They truly care about their employees and I will forever be grateful that I had the chance to work for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it mostly sucks
General Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAAugust 22, 2017
I really would not recommend Rubio's to anyone. Management is ok but customers are the worst and the job is not fun at all. the environment is not so great
Pros
50% off food
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Walnut, CAAugust 21, 2017
Rubios worked well with my hours and respected my requests for time off, since I am a full time student I really appreciated it! Loved my coworkers and management! Such a great place!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy going work place with an unorganized management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAAugust 20, 2017
It was a really easy job that was quick to learn. It was all good until it started taking over my life. I'm a 17 year guy still in high school and was working 8 hour shifts almost everyday and it began to be too much at the time. The pay is low for the amount of clientele you deal with because almost the entire time the line is out the out the door and your working your tail off. Besides those negatives it was pretty decent place to work.
Pros
Good food
Cons
unorganized management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
Cashier, Customer Service, Server, Line cook (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CAAugust 14, 2017
Its okay it could be worse. Managers will treat you well and make sure you stay. If you want a lot of hours and opportunity for a job mobility with in this organization, you will love it.
Pros
Good managers.
Cons
Bad employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and layed back workplace.
Head Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZAugust 14, 2017
Easy going but productive workplace with great bosses and peers. Actually liked going to work there and meet new people and provide a good service to others.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubios
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 7, 2017
Busy mornings with preparing food
Communication with guests and guest service
Management not up to par
Workplace easy and efficient
Most enjoyable part is working with others in a team effort
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is not worth the amount of work
Cashier/ Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAAugust 3, 2017
Flexible hours is a lie. You HAVE to work weekends and if you're new you have to work past 12am every Friday and Saturday. I lost my weekends for half a year and wasn't compensated for the amount of labor put into this job.
Pros
Good food
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo tranquilo
Cocinera (Former Employee) –  Tierra del reyJuly 27, 2017
Personal capacitado, seguro, tranquilo, mucha capacitaciĆ³n para los empleados para evitar accidentes.
Pros
Seguro
Cons
Pocas horas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced friendly enviroment
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 24, 2017
Welcoming and accurately taking guests orders. Making sure everything is prepared and stocked. Balancing multiple tasks. Delivering orders to the guests with a friendly and positive attitude.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
No meal during break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rubio's Coastal Grill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 194 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5