Find companies:
Rue La La
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Rue La La Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about you.
Associate (Former Employee), Shepherdsville, KYApril 28, 2014
Pros: free coffee...
Cons: everything else.
Oh they say they do. Lies. They make it sound like it's the best place to work when you first get there but it doesn't take long to figure out that the only thing they care about is money and production numbers. Whoever that crazy lady is that runs the inventory department needs to go. She's condescending and like to throw her own people under the bus – more... to make herself look good. With her bad management/people skills and a general lack of common courtesy, it's no wonder no one likes or wanted to work in her department (even the people in her own department.)
Also, they like to force the idea that they're doing everyone a favor by letting them work there. Lame hours, the lowest pay out of all the warehouses in the area and a general lack of compassion isn't doing anyone any favors. I expect their entire company to fail in the next 2 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't have much to say
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Shepherdsville, KYApril 2, 2014
Other then working with great people. Learning new ways on how to use the RF gun. Enjoy working on stand up lifts and cherry pickers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Bad Management
Feature Writer (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: beer days, good culture, work benefits
Cons: bad pay empty promises
If I worked in a different department, I'm sure I would've enjoyed my time with Rue a lot better. I got along with everyone, all the departments were friendly, company had great benefits, but I had a TERRIBLE manager. He made us do his job tasks and monitoring over the weekend. Just a typical bad boss.

I was also paid via temp agency, who took a cut – more... of my money without knowing, but I'm honestly not sure how much I would've gotten paid otherwise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Team Member (Former Employee), Shepherdsville, KYJanuary 16, 2014
Terrible pay, carts are to heavy. 1st shift people are not morning people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will not last
Assistant Buyer (Former Employee), Boston, MANovember 16, 2013
Pros: free soda
Cons: managment, training, "what they expect from you"
Rue will not stand the test of time. They do not train, they don't care who you are, and what your needs are. management is shaky, and in the outdoor/ active department they are unable to hit their small goals. they just buy old inventory from 3+ years ago and will be unable to sell it. Bottom of the totem pole when it comes to vendors working with – more... them. Benefits are what you would expect, but the culture sucks. I was there for a small period of time and left as soon as I had something better which was not hard to find.

Rue is a slow motion car crash. Hard to not watch – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Assistant Event Producer (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 14, 2013
Love the people that I work with but don't have the tools necessary to do my job. Not enough voice from upper management to represent lower levels on a day to day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced work environment
Assistant Buyer (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 23, 2013
Very fast paced, but very fun. Everyone is extremely supportive and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun team to work with
Stylist (Current Employee), Shepherdsville, KYJuly 10, 2013
Rue is a fun place to work and has a great team under it's belt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rue La Bla
Advanced Retoucher (Former Employee), Boston, MassachusettsMarch 20, 2013
Pros: coffee
Cons: management issues. no leadership. does not promote within. high turnover.
Do not work for this company. They over work you and under pay...plus make you sign lucrative contracts with no benefits & they can fire you at any time for any reason. This place has some serious management issues. They have a new CEO about 9 times a year. The managers are comparable to Michael Scott. The CFO reminds me of a rave kid from the 90's. – more... This company has free coffee and chips....that's it. Seriously, do not work for Rue La Bla. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
Outbound Resolutions (Former Employee), Shepherdsville, KYJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: hard to advance, no work recognition
Rue La La provides many jobs to the local area. There was always something to do, although i belive that managment wasnt operating at its best. On several occasions we ran into problems where leadership didn't have appropriate responses. Also i felt that supervisiors had a problem playing favorites and advancing only those they considered friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable stingy management and high-turnover rates
Analytics (Former Employee), BostonDecember 29, 2012
Pros: free food/drink, modern atmosphere, sample sales
Cons: little interaction with employees, seemingly deceitful management
I was hired as a temp for a month and was told it'd be full time and then part time by the end of the month. I bought a $230 monthly T ticket to get me there and along with the rest of the temps, our contracts were cut almost three weeks short. Waste of money, but mostly a waste of time. Great coworkers who were willing to help but little interaction – more... with management who clearly had a plan to use us during the busy season until there was magically "no work left." I don't recommend taking any temp jobs as I hear this happens almost always at RLL. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Turnover
Feature Writer (Former Employee), Boston, MANovember 16, 2012
Pros: sample sales, snacks room
Cons: limited interactions with other departments/employees, little room for advancement
I worked here as a temp through referral from Atrium Staffing. Rue La La appears to be a fantastic company to work at, but having worked there for a month, I was rather disappointed. The department I was a part of deals with technical writing, so the job can be boring but busy. It's basically straight eight hours of entering data. Limited contact with – more... other employees. According to current and past employees, there is a fast turnover, meaning they let go of people fast. Not an ideal place for secure employment. It is not a working environment I had expected. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work
Creative Team Member (Former Employee), BostonJune 20, 2012
Pros: it is a job
Cons: constant threat of layoffs
This company started by getting great people with ideas, talent, and a "we're all in this" attitude. Now the company is all about the money. Recently they cut over 65 jobs including two pregnant women. Now, only a couple months later, some of those cut jobs are open positions. But for how long? They have no respect for the long hours and hard work individuals – more... do and have slowly reduced benefits, perks, compensation, etc. This business model used to be unique and exciting. With the economy changing and dozens of similar companies popping up, now this company and its profit margins are in desperation. There are better jobs out there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, young company--awesome culture and work environment but as in most start ups---no real job security
Sales (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 28, 2012
Pros: culture
Cons: job security
RLL is a great place to work, young , fun energetic culture. However as a "start up" there is very little job security which is unfortunate. Need to make same managerial changes at "the top" to become a better place for training etc.... I do not recommend it as company for long term growth but a good fit for someone looking for an entry level job , – more... in a young company with interest in fashion and e-commerce -as there are very few of these in Boston area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast-paced
EVENT COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Boston, MAApril 2, 2012
Working at Rue has been a great experience. Everyone here is extremely hardworking and focused, yet friendly and inviting.

About Rue La La

STYLE. DELIVERED DAILY. Rue La La is the destination for the most desired brands at Members-only prices. Each day, we curate Boutiques – Read more