Find companies:
rue21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
181 reviews

rue21 Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding work environment
District Manager (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 27, 2014
Pros: employee discount and growth opportunity
Cons: must have strong skill set in time management, due to fast growth some processes are unnecessary
Competency focused, room for growth in a fast pace work environment. Strong focus on people development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rue21 does not give enough tools for any store to be successful.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILAugust 21, 2014
Pros: good discount
Cons: see above review.
Because our store drove so much business, we were able to expand into a new RueGuy prototype store. This will be the death of all Rue stores. The company is expanding too rapidly and creating too many stores to keep up with the sales. Our RueGuy store was up to last year every single day, and usually up to our plan projected sales. During our expansion – more... we went through one store manager that simply could not handle the traffic and left. We were not given a new store manager another two months. This should have been the first on the company’s priority list, but they did not think it was that important.
All of our issues boiled down to the company being so cheap. Our store was comping LY and plan, however, we were never given enough hours to completely run our store. We stayed until midnight every night (I am not exaggerating one bit) to clean up the store. If we were given more hours to have more associates during both the day and night shifts, the store would not become so messy. Rue is a big chain now but they still have the mindset of a tiny factory store. They need to update their ways of thinking. The greats and the big corporate chains (Kohl’s, Target, JC Penney) work because they give the time, money, and effort into their stores that it takes to be a big super company. Rue does not. Rue21 does not care one big about the little guys in the stores. The upper management simply makes decisions based on what is better for their own fiscal pockets than what makes sense for the company as a whole. If these big corporate employees spent one day actually working (not visiting our stores and criticizing our work ethics, but themselves actually working and folding and ringing up customers) they would understand the struggles we face each day. Of course they would never do that because they put themselves on such a high pedestal, but something needs to be done. Rue21 needs to start thinking like a big company or it will completely fail. The RueGuy system will be the end to all Rue stores.
You are given no work/life balance at Rue. If you have an important corporate visit you bet your butt you will be working day in and day out (yes, open to close shifts) that entire week to perfect that store.
The one benefit I can say to the store is the people you meet along your journey. Whether you stay for a month or a few years, you will see people come and go in Rue, and some of them can become friends. I have no other positive comments about the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment
eCommerce Technology Manager (Former Employee), Warrendale, PAAugust 21, 2014
I worked for rue21. I left.
Great people. Poor management. Too much bureaucracy for such a small company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly, productive, motivating environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAAugust 20, 2014
What I enjoyed the most about Rue21 was my co-workers and love my manager. Very cooperative, being part of a winning team was very fortunate; working together to become that winning team. Selling fragrance was quite competitive and fun. Helping customers find outfits and jewelry. Interacting, it's good for your social life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and comfortable Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Farmington, NMAugust 20, 2014
Pros: got to have first pick sometimes
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at Rue21 was a joy and I have always looked forward to the next day at work. I learned a lot while working at rue21. I learned how to work the cash register and how to handle a full house. I also learned how to multitask and help customers. my management was an A+. Never had a problem with them or with the rules and policy's. I Believe – more... the hardest part on the job was tagging each product to be set out to the sales floor. I always poked my fingers every now and then when I wasn't pay close attention. other than that I enjoyed my position at Rue21. I looked forward opening the store and getting ready to see the first customer to walk in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to Work for
Managment (Former Employee), Central UtahAugust 18, 2014
Pros: 50% discount weekend roughly every month. some cute clothes
Cons: sizing is all messed up, dm's never do what they say they will, dm's will throw their stores to the wolves to save their own hyde, the company does not care about their employees
Typically you'd spend your day filling out opening paperwork, chatting in your associates, doing pulls/markdowns, rearranging product, receiving shipment, training new employees, setting/changing promotions....just to name a few and you don't receive any additional payroll!!! If you're planned to do $40,000 in a week and you're trending to do $50,000 – more... you do NOT get any extra payroll but you're supposed to cut 3 hours for every $1000 you are down from plan. Most stores are expected to run on less than 200 hours. There's no loyalty within the company, everyone is ready to throw you under the bus if it can further them in any way. Including District Managers, and Regional Managers. They are the most unstructured company I've ever worked for. They expect a perfect store that is never sitting on product but don't give you the hours needed to complete anything. They expect you to drop everything in your store to go help another store, and aren't happy if you express the need to stay in your store. All in all this was the WORST career move I have made!!! The company is not worth your time, I give them 5 years max before they start closing stores because of over saturating the market. I'd be amazed if rue21 is even still around in 10 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way too much expected of you..
Store manager (Current Employee), AnonymousAugust 9, 2014
Pros: clothes are adorable ..
Cons: discount, 43 hr work weeks required, too much product in stores.
This company is doing it all wrong !!! They send way too much product everyday. Shipment is impossible to keep up with. Then on top of that they want you to do anywhere between 300-1100 markdowns every week. Oh hey then change your tables and put the 600 shirts we sent you Today on them. Oh then make sure you sell fragrance,make sales, train new hires – more... ( that you are not given payroll for) , make your store perfect, protect the merchandise from thieves,ring people up, get fitting rooms and put go backs away.. And they pay very low for their management. Also DMs have favorites and that's who they promote and give new stores to. I could go on and on .. Just steer clear! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting work environment
Assistant Manager Full-time (Former Employee), Lapeer, MIJuly 30, 2014
A typical day consisted of store opening procedures, which included maintaining the cleanliness of the store in all ways, checking emails and staying in direct communication with DM about anything that was to be completed or any questions that came up, as well as making sure the current promotions were set to standard. Completing all required shift – more... tasks during business hours in-between helping customers. Selling and adding on and creating a relationship with each individual customer by offering that one-on-one experience.

I learned time management skills that were needed in order to run a successful store in a demanding environment. Maintaining a fun and friendly store setting ensured that each employee was happy to come to work and complete each task that was delegated to them.

Hardest part of the job was, during peak times and busy store days, keeping up with the company's expectations of tasks that should be completed. Also, keeping up with heavy loads of shipment without taking away from attention to customers and their needs.

Most enjoyable would be maintaining a fun environment for customers and co-workers. Keeping the store alive and happy, ensured that customers would receive friendly and genuine service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of acknowledgement
Part-Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Owensboro, KYJuly 29, 2014
Pros: coworkers, enviornment, discounts.
Cons: management, paperwork, expectations
management was horrible and expected too much. getting in contact with hire-ups were next to impossible. no one would do anything they said they were going to do. I liked that I was able to advance when the paperwork was actually done. it was impossible to get a straight answer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, creative, ability to explore your own personal style
Store Manager (Former Employee), South Boston, VAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: being fashion forward
Cons: fragrance bottle requirements
A typical day at work involved interaction with customers, upselling, and promoting sales.

I learned you can change a person day through a little conversation and supreme customer service.

Management was always there to encourage the employees to up sale and be interactive.

Overall, my co-workers were friendly and enjoyable.

The hardest part of – more... the job was selling fragrance.

The most enjoyable part of the job were the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning fun experince for a first time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Baytown, TXJuly 19, 2014
Friendly professional environment to work in; helping costumers find any outfits that met their needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Company to work for
STORE MANAGER/TRAINER (Former Employee), Smithfield, NCJuly 17, 2014
Good Company. Bad District Manager. Different store/area would have been a better situation in my experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviroment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Richmond, VaJuly 11, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: breaks
A typical day at work includes helping customers with any questions or needs, selling fragrance and keeping the store clean.
I've learned that no matter how hard you try, your only judged by your results shown not the effort put in.
Management is OK.
My co-workers are fun and easy going.
The hardest part about my job is convincing customers to purchase – more... our fragrances.
The most enjoyable part of my job is when I meet or go beyond my fragrance bottle goals; that makes my managers and I happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Porterville, CAJuly 9, 2014
Supervising store employees. In charge of opening or closing the store. Offer exceptional customer service and maintain great customer relationships. The most enjoyable part is being able to help customers find what they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work ever!!
Asst. Manager (Former Employee), ilJuly 7, 2014
Pros: i loved learening new things
Cons: lost my family and job
A typical day for a high volume store: one person open until 11 or 12.
Trying to keep up with markdowns, sale, kpi's , shirk, stock and merchandising and dealing with employees who don't want to work and upper management (D.M.)who want help. You have to give over 55 hrs a week. sometimes more when you have to take work home. It coasted me my family – more... and my job. Other managers got away with being SLOW or not doing there job and even leaving safe open with XXXXX amount of $$ in it and not turning alarm on and never got fired, Dm told me to get reed of 5 people and I was the one she ended up firing,(NOT my store manager) 3 write ups in one week. I never have been written up in my life been with one company for 10 year and serviced in the Army.
So please be ever cautious, i have seen 2 store managers quite and 2 key holders quite and 2 key holders fired in he 7 months I was there. This district can NOT run this store as it should be ran. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a team work environment
Assistant Full-time Manager (Former Employee), Nampa, IDJuly 3, 2014
Cons: no coverage for management when your sick
not an understanding management team, do not work together as a team to accomplish goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections
SALE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJune 26, 2014
Make outgoing collections calls, review customer receivables and coordinate payment resolution.
Provide excellent customer service to customers and internal business units regarding collection issues
Reduce the delinquency for assigned accounts
Enlist the efforts of management when necessary to accelerate the collection process
Responsible for monitoring – more... and maintaining assigned accounts.
Communicate and follow up effectively with the billing department regarding customer accounts on a timely basis
Establish and maintain effective and cooperative working relationships with client – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Laurens, SCJune 23, 2014
Great place to work and shop! You get to meet people from all different walks of life! Makes you feel good to help customers dress up and feel better about themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company with a variety of styles for a variety of ages and personalities.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Grand Forks, NDJune 15, 2014
rue21 is a young company that is still trying to develop itself in the fashion market. Our customers are very loyal to our brand because we provide great products at a competitive price. I am responsible for all of the operational aspects of the store including scheduling, inventory management, human resources, visual presentations, and marketing objectives.
I – more... strive to achieve a fun and enjoyable work place for my employees. We have friendly competitions, try on parties for our associate appreciation days, pizza parties, and community promotional events including coupon handouts.
I am young to the management profession and am still developing my management style. The people I hire and choose to have around me definitely impact that. The hardest and most enjoyable part of my job is learning what kind of manager I am and what I kind of manager I want to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY HECTIC WORKPLACE
Co. Manager (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FLJune 11, 2014
2009-2014 Rue 21 Kissimmee, Fl
Co. Manager
 Analyze sales figures and forecasting future sales volumes to maximize profits;
 Manage and motivated team to increase sales and insure efficiency.
 Staff hiring, supervising, scheduling, training, payroll, attendance and conduct.
 Floor setting and maintaining organization of the stores appearance.
 – more... Responsible for running store in the absent of store manager.
 Responsible for opening and closing process.
 Implemented and lead all sales and training initiatives
 Managed and oversaw operations; phone orders, customer request and special orders for customers needs.
 Manage personnel development including hiring, regular training performance evaluations, and turnover.
 Controlled aspects of shipping and receiving
 Provided great customer service to each and every customer. This included interacting with both children and adults. – less

About rue21

rue21 is one of the fastest growing specialty retailers in the country. We offer a broad assortment of the newest fashion trends – Read more

rue21 Photos