Find companies:
rue21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
160 reviews

rue21 Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
married to job
sales (Former Employee), CharlestonMay 29, 2014
High demands, little reward. Work life balance? For management, all work, no life. Be prepared to work any and all hours with little notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rue21
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calhoun, GAMay 29, 2014
Cons: bad discounts, short breaks, bad customers
you clock in and go in watch the floor then work with customers and then fold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Monroe, NYMay 7, 2014
Pros: great discounts and friendly people
Cons: no cons
Great environment to be in, the managers were nice especially with my family situation that happened and were there for me. i learned how to do visuals and different aspects of a business. The most enjoyable part of the job was being around my co-workers and the customers that came in the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Place to Work
Store Manager (Former Employee), PAMay 6, 2014
I worked here for 8 years and it was awful! If you have kids forget about working here. They hate people who have families. No work/life balance. Working for them is your life and they excpect nothing less!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fashion at a value price
Store Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 1, 2014
At rue21 as a Store Manager you are always busy. In a typical day you come in to open the store, print out all paperwork, get your sales plan broken down by segment, and assign goals. Complete any task while giving great customer service. Manage your associates and coach in the moment. Close the store by preparing the nightly deposit and recovering – more... the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great sucked as you got higher up
Part Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Orem, Sandy, Midvale UTApril 23, 2014
Pros: discounts, perople you work with, customer connection
Cons: pay, time off, work load, un regulated management
I used to love working here but as I accepted higher positions my level of treatment declined. I was no longer happy working there. I did not receive my year raise that I was offered 4 out of the 5 years I have worked for this company. I got paid better as a associate. The Store Manager New Hires were a piece of work and broke more policies and rules – more... than I have ever seen in my 6 years of retail experience. the most enjoyable part of this job was the few managers that had the same work ethic as I did as well the regular costumers who would travel the extra few miles just to have me help them with their wardrobe. many have told me that they no longer shop at rue 21 because I no longer work there. the upper management changes made things a lot harder and there were a lot of unethical decisions being made. I won't go back to rue 21. not even to shop my work experience has ruined the shopping experience in their stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fan
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Apex, NCApril 21, 2014
Pros: employee discount, colorful environment, (mostly) upbeat music
Cons: perfume, shop lifters, felt like i couldn't ever call in sick
At first, rue21 was a fun place to work then they introduced the perfume line. I hated pushing perfume and cologne on customers to try to meet the percentage of sales goal. As someone who doesn't wear perfume because my mother was allergic, I felt bad spraying them all the time.
Extended hours during the holidays sucked as well as losing Thanksgiving – more... and Easter as of lately..
I worked in 3 locations, it really varied how enjoyable your co-workers were.
Loss prevention sucked and made me view customers as potential shop lifters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hagerstown, MDApril 8, 2014
Rue21 is a great place to work for customer interaction and it will definitely keep you busy. I had so much fun working there and met some wonderful people. It requires team work but that just makes you closer with your co workers. It teaches you a lot but in a more laid back fun kind of way. I worked there for a couple years and am so glad I did. I – more... learned a lot from this job that I am able to apply to other place in life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an enjoyable
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Osage Beach, MOApril 5, 2014
Pros: got 25% off on clothes and 50% once a month and the promotions.
I love how I can wear my regular clothes coming in to work and not having to worry about dress code. The only things we couldn't wear was sweat pants, logos from other stores, and short shorts. Kinda like a school dress code. I have learned how to close down registers, the store, and dealing with customers situations. The co-workers were great to work – more... with. The hardest part of the job is working on Black Friday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and enjoyable place to work.
Full-time Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Pikeville, KYMarch 27, 2014
While I enjoy working at Rue21 of Pikeville, KY, I do not intend on staying with the company after graduation. The company has an excessive amount of foot traffic and requires many hours to be put in. While I have no problem putting in many hours and creating a clean and exciting workplace, the company within itself is quite unorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Racine, WIMarch 24, 2014
Pros: awesome manager!
Cons: only being there part-time
I love my manager and co-workers. They are very helpful and fun! We have a great time while being at work, we don't let the day drag on we make it interesting. Full of fun and laughter!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work to gain experience
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Longview, TXMarch 23, 2014
rue21 is a good place to work to gain experience and it's a growing company and easy to be promoted in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growing and learning
assistant manager (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLMarch 21, 2014
As a young women i feel like i have acomlished alot, in my opinion its not the job that makes a person but the knowledge,quality and workmenship. its about having the right mindset to never quit and strive to do better and learn from your mistake and that is what i have learned. Not only have i learned to be better but i learned to put them to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work place and always fun to work with the customers and employees.
Part Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Peachtree City, GAMarch 20, 2014
I learned a lot from working at Rue21. I learned how to work with customers on a personal level. Always making sure they knew I was there to help them. My co-workers were always great to work with and we were all such hard workers. I became a manager at Rue21 within my first year of working there. I put a lot of time into working my way up. And I worked – more... hard to get there. The hardest part of my work day was probably organizing everything at the end of the night. Working in a clothing store was great, but finding clothes shoved in walls and under racks, or really in places where theft can happen was always really hard because not being sure if anything was stolen always got frustrating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better days
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Southaven, MSMarch 20, 2014
when I first began to work for rue it was an amazing place to work but when management was switched it became a slightly unpleasant place to be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT as wonderful as you may think.
Full Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Walker, MIMarch 18, 2014
Pros: you know where all the $3 stuff is.
Cons: could list for awhile...
You may be led to believe you are apart of a TEAM but that is NOT the case, especially for the Walker store. The store manager has little to no respect for anyone including regular customers. Selling people $9.99 bottles of fragrance is the ONLY type of praise you will get from any form of management . If you don't, it's considered "embarrassing" and – more... you obviously are not doing your job.) Things may go for cheap in this store and I'm all for a good deal but THERE IS WAY TOO MUCH MERCHANDISE IN ALL RUE21 STORES. Good luck with the 25 boxes of stock you will receive everyday, then markdowns every other week or so. Also and lastly, have a FANASTIC TIME protecting all of this cheap merchandise, work your butt off to keep it safe, but at the end of your night find a hundred sensors in the bottom of a shoe or boot. Maybe you got ripped off while you were working all alone all day trying to do 25 boxes of stock, ring, make sales, SELL FRAGRANCE, do put backs, and make sure this store looks "perfect". A perfect hot mess. BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY!!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FASHION IS ALWAYS A DEMAND
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 8, 2014
LOVED WORKING HERE, FASHION AND CLOTHES SHOES ACCESORIES IS WHAT I ENJOY BEING AROUND AND DEALING WITH.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MIFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: fun environment when i had the right coworkers
Cons: bad management, disrespectful, unreliable.
I was hired as a part time assistant manager then hired in as full time because the full time assistant manager never showed up. The store was going great until the store manager decided to leave. I managed the store for several months with no added benefit. I asked if I could be the store manager and the district manager told me no because the store – more... shrink was to high and I wasn't eligible for the position. They eventually found a store manager. She hated me and pretty much every employee. She walked in like she knew everything and that the employees who have been there since the store open knew nothing. She wanted to change everything. I told the district manager that she didn't do anything in the store just sat in the stock room and ate or was on the phone (personal calls), would leave the store for hours while being on the clock. I also suspected that she was stealing from the company and mentioned it to the DM & loss prevention team. No one cared! I left the company and shrink results came out well they were much better and they said the the new store manager had brought it down (which is not true... I was the one that brought it down). The following year shrink sky rocketed.

I cannot believe that the company I worked for did not take me seriously. It was/is disappointing. I refuse to shop there now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but hectic and overwhelming environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Savannah, GAFebruary 25, 2014
I currently work for Rue21 and contrary to one's belief this there is nothing glamorous about this retail job. All management is concerned with is selling fragrance. The only people who are rewarded of their job performance are the sales associates and store managers. The assistant managers really do not get compensated for anything. The store has so – more... much merchandise, that it is impossible to maintain a high traffic store and make it shopable for the customers. Plus there is not stability in the stores, most stores are target stores with high theft within the staff. The pay and workload is not worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, very productive live upbeat customer friendly
Part-Time Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 24, 2014
Sign in, find out what the days goals were great customers, assist customers, cashier, cleaning.
Co-workers are amazing they are all from different backgrounds and add to the job experience as far as being able to get along with different people.
There is no hardest part of this job I love everything about working here. Challenges occur but being able – more... to figure out what needs to be done and accomplishing them is the best feeling.
I love everything about my job; the customers my management team, my associates, as well as the tasks we have to complete daily. – less

About rue21

rue21 is one of the fastest growing specialty retailers in the country. We offer a broad assortment of the newest fashion trends – Read more

rue21 Photos