Find companies:
rue21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
189 reviews

rue21 Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviroment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Richmond, VaJuly 11, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: breaks
A typical day at work includes helping customers with any questions or needs, selling fragrance and keeping the store clean.
I've learned that no matter how hard you try, your only judged by your results shown not the effort put in.
Management is OK.
My co-workers are fun and easy going.
The hardest part about my job is convincing customers to purchase our fragrances.
The most enjoyable part of my job is when I meet or go beyond my fragrance bottle goals; that makes my managers and I happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Porterville, CAJuly 9, 2014
Supervising store employees. In charge of opening or closing the store. Offer exceptional customer service and maintain great customer relationships. The most enjoyable part is being able to help customers find what they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work ever!!
Asst. Manager (Former Employee), ilJuly 7, 2014
Pros: i loved learening new things
Cons: lost my family and job
A typical day for a high volume store: one person open until 11 or 12.
Trying to keep up with markdowns, sale, kpi's , shirk, stock and merchandising and dealing with employees who don't want to work and upper management (D.M.)who want help. You have to give over 55 hrs a week. sometimes more when you have to take work home. It coasted me my family and my job. Other managers got away with being SLOW or not doing there job and even leaving safe open with XXXXX amount of $$ in it and not turning alarm on and never got fired, Dm told me to get reed of 5 people and I was the one she ended up firing,(NOT my store manager) 3 write ups in one week. I never have been written up in my life been with one company for 10 year and serviced in the Army.
So please be ever cautious, i have seen 2 store managers quite and 2 key holders quite and 2 key holders fired in he 7 months I was there. This district can NOT run this store as it should be ran.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a team work environment
Assistant Full-time Manager (Former Employee), Nampa, IDJuly 3, 2014
Cons: no coverage for management when your sick
not an understanding management team, do not work together as a team to accomplish goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections
SALE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJune 26, 2014
Make outgoing collections calls, review customer receivables and coordinate payment resolution.
Provide excellent customer service to customers and internal business units regarding collection issues
Reduce the delinquency for assigned accounts
Enlist the efforts of management when necessary to accelerate the collection process
Responsible for monitoring and maintaining assigned accounts.
Communicate and follow up effectively with the billing department regarding customer accounts on a timely basis
Establish and maintain effective and cooperative working relationships with client
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Laurens, SCJune 23, 2014
Great place to work and shop! You get to meet people from all different walks of life! Makes you feel good to help customers dress up and feel better about themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company with a variety of styles for a variety of ages and personalities.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Grand Forks, NDJune 15, 2014
rue21 is a young company that is still trying to develop itself in the fashion market. Our customers are very loyal to our brand because we provide great products at a competitive price. I am responsible for all of the operational aspects of the store including scheduling, inventory management, human resources, visual presentations, and marketing objectives.
I strive to achieve a fun and enjoyable work place for my employees. We have friendly competitions, try on parties for our associate appreciation days, pizza parties, and community promotional events including coupon handouts.
I am young to the management profession and am still developing my management style. The people I hire and choose to have around me definitely impact that. The hardest and most enjoyable part of my job is learning what kind of manager I am and what I kind of manager I want to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY HECTIC WORKPLACE
Co. Manager (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FLJune 11, 2014
2009-2014 Rue 21 Kissimmee, Fl
Co. Manager
 Analyze sales figures and forecasting future sales volumes to maximize profits;
 Manage and motivated team to increase sales and insure efficiency.
 Staff hiring, supervising, scheduling, training, payroll, attendance and conduct.
 Floor setting and maintaining organization of the stores appearance.
 Responsible for running store in the absent of store manager.
 Responsible for opening and closing process.
 Implemented and lead all sales and training initiatives
 Managed and oversaw operations; phone orders, customer request and special orders for customers needs.
 Manage personnel development including hiring, regular training performance evaluations, and turnover.
 Controlled aspects of shipping and receiving
 Provided great customer service to each and every customer. This included interacting with both children and adults.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company..makes my stomach turn
Store manager (Former Employee), undisclosedJune 7, 2014
Pros: the style and product was decent.
Cons: everything
Stear CLEAR of this place. they expect wayyy to much out of you, especially what they pay you. they have extremely unrealistic expectations. they will use and abuse you until you burn out. they do no set you up for success what so ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
married to job
sales (Former Employee), CharlestonMay 29, 2014
High demands, little reward. Work life balance? For management, all work, no life. Be prepared to work any and all hours with little notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rue21
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calhoun, GAMay 29, 2014
Cons: bad discounts, short breaks, bad customers
you clock in and go in watch the floor then work with customers and then fold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Monroe, NYMay 7, 2014
Pros: great discounts and friendly people
Cons: no cons
Great environment to be in, the managers were nice especially with my family situation that happened and were there for me. i learned how to do visuals and different aspects of a business. The most enjoyable part of the job was being around my co-workers and the customers that came in the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Place to Work
Store Manager (Former Employee), PAMay 6, 2014
I worked here for 8 years and it was awful! If you have kids forget about working here. They hate people who have families. No work/life balance. Working for them is your life and they excpect nothing less!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fashion at a value price
Store Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 1, 2014
At rue21 as a Store Manager you are always busy. In a typical day you come in to open the store, print out all paperwork, get your sales plan broken down by segment, and assign goals. Complete any task while giving great customer service. Manage your associates and coach in the moment. Close the store by preparing the nightly deposit and recovering the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great sucked as you got higher up
Part Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Orem, Sandy, Midvale UTApril 23, 2014
Pros: discounts, perople you work with, customer connection
Cons: pay, time off, work load, un regulated management
I used to love working here but as I accepted higher positions my level of treatment declined. I was no longer happy working there. I did not receive my year raise that I was offered 4 out of the 5 years I have worked for this company. I got paid better as a associate. The Store Manager New Hires were a piece of work and broke more policies and rules than I have ever seen in my 6 years of retail experience. the most enjoyable part of this job was the few managers that had the same work ethic as I did as well the regular costumers who would travel the extra few miles just to have me help them with their wardrobe. many have told me that they no longer shop at rue 21 because I no longer work there. the upper management changes made things a lot harder and there were a lot of unethical decisions being made. I won't go back to rue 21. not even to shop my work experience has ruined the shopping experience in their stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fan
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Apex, NCApril 21, 2014
Pros: employee discount, colorful environment, (mostly) upbeat music
Cons: perfume, shop lifters, felt like i couldn't ever call in sick
At first, rue21 was a fun place to work then they introduced the perfume line. I hated pushing perfume and cologne on customers to try to meet the percentage of sales goal. As someone who doesn't wear perfume because my mother was allergic, I felt bad spraying them all the time.
Extended hours during the holidays sucked as well as losing Thanksgiving and Easter as of lately..
I worked in 3 locations, it really varied how enjoyable your co-workers were.
Loss prevention sucked and made me view customers as potential shop lifters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hagerstown, MDApril 8, 2014
Rue21 is a great place to work for customer interaction and it will definitely keep you busy. I had so much fun working there and met some wonderful people. It requires team work but that just makes you closer with your co workers. It teaches you a lot but in a more laid back fun kind of way. I worked there for a couple years and am so glad I did. I learned a lot from this job that I am able to apply to other place in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an enjoyable
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Osage Beach, MOApril 5, 2014
Pros: got 25% off on clothes and 50% once a month and the promotions.
I love how I can wear my regular clothes coming in to work and not having to worry about dress code. The only things we couldn't wear was sweat pants, logos from other stores, and short shorts. Kinda like a school dress code. I have learned how to close down registers, the store, and dealing with customers situations. The co-workers were great to work with. The hardest part of the job is working on Black Friday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and enjoyable place to work.
Full-time Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Pikeville, KYMarch 27, 2014
While I enjoy working at Rue21 of Pikeville, KY, I do not intend on staying with the company after graduation. The company has an excessive amount of foot traffic and requires many hours to be put in. While I have no problem putting in many hours and creating a clean and exciting workplace, the company within itself is quite unorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Racine, WIMarch 24, 2014
Pros: awesome manager!
Cons: only being there part-time
I love my manager and co-workers. They are very helpful and fun! We have a great time while being at work, we don't let the day drag on we make it interesting. Full of fun and laughter!

About rue21

rue comes from the French word for street while 21 embodies the age that everyone wants to be! Inspired by the spirit and style – Read more

rue21 Photos