Rural King Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management crazy
associate (Former Employee) –  Connellsville, PANovember 19, 2017
the store manager and especially the District Managers need to take a beginners course on customer service and how to treat employees. leaving was the best thing I did, what a waste of my time!
Pros
co workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Associate (Current Employee) –  OhioNovember 15, 2017
ok company
family work balance,not there yet, for executives yes and office absolutely.
There is never a typical work day
Training new associates in a timely manner
learned the farm store business
Too many walmart people work for this company
Most enjoyable part ,changing associates lives ,seeing them advance and grow.
Building a great team takes time you cannot rush in order to get great results,the company rushes and expects immediate rsults,not every store is the same,sometimes you have very quick results and then sometimes you do not.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with a few parties in the break room
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Connellsville, PANovember 13, 2017
a fast pace working environment where everyone is friendly and willing to help one another out. meeting the customer needs and helping them find what they came for and have a pleasant visit
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok, just not enough hours
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Paducah, KYNovember 13, 2017
It was ok, just not enough hours, the managers were alright, hardly anyone got along though and we’d always be busy with 20+ people in every line so you had to get used to a fast moving pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Loader and sales floor (Former Employee) –  Monticello, INNovember 10, 2017
Working at Rural King was a very good experience. I worked there while I was in high school. It was my first real world job. I did my job well and everyone knee that they could depend on me to get whatever was asked of me done to the best of my ability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childish, Disruptive and Sexist
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILNovember 6, 2017
If you are a white male your career here will be fine and set in stone. For females however you will be constantly criticized, passed over, and spoken of off turn and in a demeaning way.

No, I do not believe this would occur at every location however the fact that this was allowed to happened drives me to believe that this is not a respectable establishment.
Pros
Advances your level of tolerance
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLNovember 5, 2017
The co-workers were great, very cohesive work environment, friendly atmosphere, helpful associates, homey atmosphere as well as a overall helpful and caring team.
Pros
discount, bonuses, growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice and cool people. Good place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INNovember 5, 2017
I liked it. It was a good place to work people were very nice and it had very very good pay. Also the benefits are nice because you have 15% discount off of all things that you want to buy and you get up to $3,000 if you catch a thief in the store
Pros
15% discount also reward for catching theft
Cons
I don't have anything really to say bad about it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Gun Sales (Former Employee) –  Coshocton, OHNovember 4, 2017
i enjoyed my job at Rural King, Its pretty chill. i sold Guns and that was my joy and actually the best part to me. management was kind and co workers was helpful and truly believe in a team mentally.
Pros
the environment
Cons
pay and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Loader/Unloader (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILNovember 3, 2017
It’s a nice place to work but the hours suck the managers can be rude at times but the rest of the employees are really nice to work with over all it’s a great place to work
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report

Want to know more about Rural King?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  2300 e morgan aveOctober 30, 2017
Loved working there. Is a great environment with great people who were very friendly. I wish I would have stayed longer but unfortunately some personal issues came up and i couldnt
Pros
Discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
such is retail
Manager/ Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Wooster, OHOctober 27, 2017
the management needs to change.this is a fast paced job, where workers are always tryng to be a boss because the management is so bad. its retail so theres alot of backstabbing.its a job that requires muscle,
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for low benifits
Loader (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNOctober 25, 2017
This job was a stepping stone for me to be able to provide essentials to my family and myself l. This job fought me how to pace time and activities and also the joy you can have by helping others.
Pros
Fun people to work with
Cons
Not good pay and not alot of benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INOctober 25, 2017
New environment for me and I learned a lot. I enjoyed the customers and learning new jobs. I met new people as a result of this job and enjoy long lasting friendships.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced and highly physicaly demandinding
Loader (Former Employee) –  Bluefield, WVOctober 25, 2017
this place started out being a really great place to work then started going downhill. The management team was not a very good one except a select few, there was some that would cuss at the employees and get away with it I left because I was making better money at other job and less stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Loader/Unloader janitor (Former Employee) –  Madisonville, KYOctober 22, 2017
It was a good job. Met lots of people and learn new things. Help people and kept store clean. I liked working in all areas of store. Helping where ever I was need
Pros
Good job
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Command and Control from Mattoon, Illinois
Full-time Firearms Counter Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Clairsville, OHOctober 22, 2017
Maybe the business culture of Rural King has changed since I worked there, but overall it was in interesting place to work beyond so much of the management's hands were being tied by Mattoon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with a lot of nice coworkers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Morganton, NCOctober 19, 2017
I was hired by Rural King before the opening of the new store. I did training and videos at first then was placed on the floor to help finish setting up before the grand opening. It is a very nice store. Great location and worked with a lot of great people. I was offered an office manager position with another company before the store opened for business so I worked a week notice for Rural King before leaving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
OTR DEDICATED (Former Employee) –  Waverly, OHOctober 17, 2017
Not a bad place to work as a driver, company going through major changes,transportation manager knows nothing of trucking and likes you to spend your 34 off in truck stop. Getting equipment fixed is a problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Morganton, NCOctober 13, 2017
I Loved it there. There is a great staff, Great managers, Just a joy to work there. Very easy to catch on. Everyone there is very easy to work with and very understanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rural King. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 401 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9