Rural King Employee Reviews

Found 335 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place and friendly work place
Receiving Manager (Former Employee) –  Van Wert, OHJuly 19, 2017
I drove forklift unloaded and loaded semi's stacked and unstacked pallets. I had to put in all the invoices into computer. I was in charge of anything that was shipping and receiving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I want to change jobs to improve my pay
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Winchester, KYJuly 18, 2017
My work is extremely physical and my pay is only 8.00 per hour there is not enough help and no team work . I remain positive and so my best work everyday .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural King
Cashier and Clothing Processor (Former Employee) –  Fremont, OHJuly 18, 2017
It's a decent place to work, but don't expect much and expect to do more than just your job. There really isn't room for advancement. Management at the store I worked at was good. Corporate is a joke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, KYJuly 16, 2017
None of the store managers were on the same page
Never a set schedule
Store was disaster very unorganized
Managers were very rude to employees and customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Okay
Cashier and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJuly 13, 2017
The place is overall and okay place to work, but needs some serious improvements when it comes to management. Too many people fighting to be the top gun, and butting heads which effects everyone. Has effected me way too much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Many Task
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Marysville, OHJuly 12, 2017
Labor hours kept to a minimum, so you are working with skeleton crews trying to complete multiple task as well as run the store. I personally received many complaints from customers because they could not find someone to help them in a department. That's because there were only a few employees on the floor at any giving time.
Pros
Cool store/great people
Cons
Too many tasks & not enough labor help
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day as Loader
Loader (Former Employee) –  Zanesville, OHJuly 8, 2017
You go in to work get carts , Help Elderly people put there groceries into there vehicle, and stock feed . Also unload the feed trailers to stock on the floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Parkersbury, WVJuly 6, 2017
Rural King has numerous locations with a lot of different merchandise at good prices. It can fast paced. They give out free popcorn and coffee everyday.
Pros
Free popcorn and coffee
Cons
only part time work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Xenia, OHJuly 5, 2017
very rude and not a typical job that you would want you request days off and they give them to you but when it comes down to it you loose your request day off and get a mark because you didnt show up for work because you didnt know that they changed the schedual
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and stressful. Management worked well to help employees perform comfortably.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint Clairsville, OHJuly 4, 2017
Rural King is very popular and always has a lot of customers. You have to rush around to do your job and that makes it harder to get the work done properly. Management does help in any way they can to work with you on your comfort zone and performance.
Pros
15% employee discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Hours and bad pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hartland, MIJuly 2, 2017
I work hard and don't get the pay or hours I need and deserve to support a family. The Other employers are nice. Would be perfect for a collage student or summer job but nothing to support anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Crystal River, FLJune 26, 2017
A good place to work. Fair treatment of employees, good discounts. Typical sales environment. Fast paced at times, slow at other times. Good work environment with good teamwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved seeing the behind the scenes of the Apparel world and learning what goes into getting things ready to be on the sales floor
Apparel Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Plano, ILJune 22, 2017
Enjoyed the work I did and learned so much about the Apparel world on my own since the managers didn't really help much but when you work in an environment like that place it's too much drama like high school and the managers played favorites which is unfair to all employees
Pros
The knowledge I walked away with
Cons
The upper management staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shannons Review
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Coshocton, OHJune 20, 2017
I loved working at Rural king! it was fun but serious! great team of people! I would love to be a part of the rural king team again! hoping to get back on there!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural King
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill, FLJune 20, 2017
A great company to work for a lot of room for moving up. Only down fall is it can get a little hot inside but other than that I have nothing bad to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive and horrible service
Seasonal Associate (Former Employee) –  Winchester, KYJune 19, 2017
Very busy everyday, never had any help and had to do everything on my own. The management was very awful and are very lazy and all co-workers agree. The worst part of my job was I had to do everything because no one else would do it and the best part was meeting new people.
Pros
Discount
Cons
short breaks, management, lazy workers, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good management
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 19, 2017
The people here are amazing. Management is also very good. Downfall is the pay is very low and not a lot of room for advancement. Hours are cut and schedules are changed without notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and Fast Paced Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mattoon, ILJune 17, 2017
I had great co-workers that made my day go by fast. The customers were always fun and interesting to converse with. I learned how to move fast, multitask like a beast, and get it done like a boss!
Pros
Customers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Fairlawn, VAJune 16, 2017
Has a good co-workers, they are very organized in their pricing. Not very understanding about scheduling, won't work with you unlike most companies. Does have very good pricing.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work due to management
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Saint Clairsville, OHJune 12, 2017
If management were better they would strive a lot better. They don't listen to the employees at all they really don't care to much about your well being.
Pros
The people
Cons
They work you like a dog and treat you like garbage
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rural King. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 336 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9