Find companies:
Rural King
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

Rural King Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun friendly work enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lebanon, OHSeptember 16, 2014
great group of people, very organized and great customers. management very good, no position overfilled and none are underfilled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment and an enterjetic place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee), Rantoul, ILSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: people, co-workers, management
Cons: not enough hours, 30+ minute drive
My normal day is for me is coming into work about 10 minutes early and visiting co-workers until I clock in. Once I get clocked in i count my register to make sure I have to correct amount of money to start my shirt. While attending to coustmers I also have to answer phone calls and make popcorn. The hardest part would be not being able to leave my – more... register and just standing all day. Yet the most enjoyable part is dealing with all the different people that come through my line all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehh.
Cashier (Former Employee), Wentzville, MOSeptember 10, 2014
Would do if your in need of something fast. All cashiers do is basically stand there all day long. Boring but the co-workers and management werent to bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but rewarding
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Benton, ILSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: the feeling of accomplishment at the end of the day
Cons: having to work indoors and outdoors during the various seasons
very hard work lifting heavy merchandise the management was helpful coworkers were excellent the best part was meeting and helping nice customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to be
associate (Former Employee), NewPhiladelphia OhioSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: monthly bonus for management
Cons: long hours short pay and working 9-10 days straight without time off
If your are management you must work 50 hours and if you are an assistant it is every night and every weekend you work. Manager does not work weekends or nights and if you complain He is very vindictive and works your 9-10 days straight with out a day off. Manager likes young pretty girls and will not give older employees positions that come available. – more... This is a age discrimination company in the stores. Store managers do not work their hours and has office girl change them for him. Long hours, bad paid and a lot of in fighting. Regional and others do not want to hear about the store problems. Allows Managers and employees to date even thought this is against policy and have fired managers for this. Let a manager and office manager get away with it and did not tell home office what was really going on. Manager like office manager and does not like other people complaining about her. This job is not a job for anyone with the long hours, lies and age discrimination is horrible here. No matter how educated you are or the background you have if you are over 21 manager does not want anything to do with you, Stay away from Rural King New Philadelphia ohio – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with different job tasks everyday
Department Manager (Former Employee), Greensburg, IndianaSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: hour lunches, customer interaction, co-workers
Cons: poor pay rate, worked every weekend
A typical day would begin with our meeting where our manager would normally set up tasks we needed to complete daily. Coming in each day there was always something new to be done in my department and I got excited doing something new everyday. Normally, though, after those were completed it was a basic retail job where helping customers was the number – more... 1 priority followed by daily cycle counts and weekly orders of product.

I learned a lot about management at a young age. I was 18 when I got this job and had no managing experience at all and it was a real eye opener for me in regards to management. Some days were harder than others when it came to managers, but we all had the same goal in mind.

I really enjoyed my co-workers the most, they were a big reason as to why I enjoyed coming to work each day. I enjoyed seeing them, working with them, interacting with them, just everything about them made my job more enjoyable and easier.

The hardest part of my job was probably gaining the respect of the employees below me in my department. I had two retired men who were there just to have something to do, and they didn't really like doing the tasks that I had assigned them. I learned that through time they eventually learned to respect me as a boss and didn't see me as just some kid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no life when working over night
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Lake Wales, FLSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
was alright had its and bad was a job..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for anyone who doesn't want or can't get anywhere!
Cashier (Former Employee), Niles, MIAugust 23, 2014
Pros: sometimes the hours are flexible
Cons: there is no compassion for the employees
Management sucks and no one knows what they are doing. They pay hard workers less than the lazy and unreliable employees. Also let go employees when they are injured (requiring surgery) because they cant return that same day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy with lots to do
Department Manager (Current Employee), Vandalia, ILAugust 10, 2014
It is a busy place with lots of public interaction with all types of customers. Co-workers are easy and enjoyable to work with. It is a very physical job that requires heavy lifting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast paced
Floor Associate (Former Employee), Madisonville, KYAugust 9, 2014
My typical day at work was very busy and fast paced. There was never a time to stand still. I helped customers locate what they needed, and restocked merchandise in clothing, toys, and housewares. I made sure all the prices were correct on everything, as well as priced everything. I also zoned those areas and made sure those areas were clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better management
Cashier (Former Employee), Logansport, INAugust 2, 2014
I didn't mind my job, as a job, at Rural King. It was what I expected it to be. Management, however, could have used better management skills in how they dealt with and treated their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Hamilton, OHAugust 2, 2014
Pros: managers
Cons: low pay
I worked at the Hamilton, OH location and the store manager and his team of assistants were wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job working with lot's of nice people however, no chane for advanement.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Spring HillJuly 9, 2014
Pros: work with nice people
Cons: poor management/ no opportunties for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance: 3 Stars

Compensation/Benefits: 1 Star

Job Security/Advancement: 1 Star

Management: 1 Star

Job Culture: 3 Stars

Overall Rating: 1 Star
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees undervalued
Cashier (Current Employee), Kokomo, INJuly 9, 2014
Pros: learn a lot.
Cons: low pay, undervalued
Corporate doesn't care one little bit about anyone working for them. Especially if it's just the minimum wage cashiers or floor associates. They don't care about your ideas or suggestions. They just want you to come to work, be their slave for horrible pay, and then go home. They also don't care that their employees have comfortable working conditions. – more... I have worked at rural king in kokomo as a cashier for a little over 6 months now and I started in December. There was no heating up front where the registers were so the cashiers had to stay bundled up in jackets, coats and layers of clothing just to stay warm. My toes would also go numb from the cold and we were always told that we could not have space heaters despite the fact that we could see our breath in the air... Now in the summer the A/C doesn't work and we are left up front sweating and becoming dizzy from the humid and hot temperatures. Several customers even have complained about the stores temperatures during the winter and the summer. But the managers office has heating in the winter and A/C in the summer so they could care less about fixing the problem for their lowly employees. I'm not just bad mouthing the company either. I use to work at goodwill and I like rural king a lot more than I do goodwill. But that still doesn't mean that rural king cares about or treats it's employees right. I think rural king needs to try and run their business like they keep telling people they run their business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work enviorment, great managment, the regular customers are what kept me loving my job.
Cashier (Former Employee), CarbondaleJune 18, 2014
A typical work day as a cashier involved anything from being moved onto the floor if the store wasn't particularly busy, doing your normal position as a cashier, to doing stockwork. Its flexible and you can learn a lot because they don't have you just simply being a cashier. They also often have you doing stock work, which can be nice as a change of – more... pace. Management was very good, there was variety within the managers as far as personality went which made it so there was always someone that you could find to approach about any situation. I really enjoyed who I worked with, I became close friends with almost everyone who worked there. The only problem was that between some of the employees there would be a lot of "high school" type drama. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), Martin, TNJune 18, 2014
Rural King was probably my favorite place to work. Everyday when I entered Rural King, I had a smile on my face. My managers were very kind, and they treated us more like family than people that worked for them. They were always so understanding, as long as we showed them that we were also. I got along with mostly all of my co-workers. We helped each – more... other when we needed help, and we always made the time pass by briskly. The hardest part of working at Rural King had to be leaving them. I enjoyed every day with my Rural King family. I loved being there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good first job for someone...
Head Cashier (Current Employee), Rural KingJune 11, 2014
Cons: they dont work with you on hours what so ever
Its a good first job for someone, not really a job for someone who is trying to provide for their family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and no personal consideration
Cashier (Former Employee), Tiffin, ohioMay 29, 2014
I was told many different ways to do things, and got conflicting instrucions. The management does not care about anything but getting the day done and if they step on toes they don't care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
CASHIER/CLOTHING DEPARTMENT (Former Employee), Harrisburg, ILMay 28, 2014
Pros: staff partys
Cons: hours
A typical day at work would be helping people either with finding something or checking them out. I learn how to handle large amounts of money and how to deal with different types of people.

The management team was great always willing to help
I got along with my co-workers

Was dealing with lazy people or rude people

The most enjoyable part was meeting – more... new people everyday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Busy atmosphere
DEPARTMENT MANAGER (Current Employee), Circleville, OHMay 18, 2014
Pros: constantly helping people, employee discount
Cons: poor management, drama
The job was fun. Always changing, always moving, always something to do.
Hourly associates know more about daily operations than management. Stressful, unprofessional drama regularly.

1 2 3 4 5