Find companies:
Rural King
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
102 reviews

Rural King Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for anyone who doesn't want or can't get anywhere!
Cashier (Former Employee), Niles, MIAugust 23, 2014
Pros: sometimes the hours are flexible
Cons: there is no compassion for the employees
Management sucks and no one knows what they are doing. They pay hard workers less than the lazy and unreliable employees. Also let go employees when they are injured (requiring surgery) because they cant return that same day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy with lots to do
Department Manager (Current Employee), Vandalia, ILAugust 10, 2014
It is a busy place with lots of public interaction with all types of customers. Co-workers are easy and enjoyable to work with. It is a very physical job that requires heavy lifting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast paced
Floor Associate (Former Employee), Madisonville, KYAugust 9, 2014
My typical day at work was very busy and fast paced. There was never a time to stand still. I helped customers locate what they needed, and restocked merchandise in clothing, toys, and housewares. I made sure all the prices were correct on everything, as well as priced everything. I also zoned those areas and made sure those areas were clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better management
Cashier (Former Employee), Logansport, INAugust 2, 2014
I didn't mind my job, as a job, at Rural King. It was what I expected it to be. Management, however, could have used better management skills in how they dealt with and treated their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Hamilton, OHAugust 2, 2014
Pros: managers
Cons: low pay
I worked at the Hamilton, OH location and the store manager and his team of assistants were wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job working with lot's of nice people however, no chane for advanement.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Spring HillJuly 9, 2014
Pros: work with nice people
Cons: poor management/ no opportunties for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance: 3 Stars

Compensation/Benefits: 1 Star

Job Security/Advancement: 1 Star

Management: 1 Star

Job Culture: 3 Stars

Overall Rating: 1 Star
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees undervalued
Cashier (Current Employee), Kokomo, INJuly 9, 2014
Pros: learn a lot.
Cons: low pay, undervalued
Corporate doesn't care one little bit about anyone working for them. Especially if it's just the minimum wage cashiers or floor associates. They don't care about your ideas or suggestions. They just want you to come to work, be their slave for horrible pay, and then go home. They also don't care that their employees have comfortable working conditions. – more... I have worked at rural king in kokomo as a cashier for a little over 6 months now and I started in December. There was no heating up front where the registers were so the cashiers had to stay bundled up in jackets, coats and layers of clothing just to stay warm. My toes would also go numb from the cold and we were always told that we could not have space heaters despite the fact that we could see our breath in the air... Now in the summer the A/C doesn't work and we are left up front sweating and becoming dizzy from the humid and hot temperatures. Several customers even have complained about the stores temperatures during the winter and the summer. But the managers office has heating in the winter and A/C in the summer so they could care less about fixing the problem for their lowly employees. I'm not just bad mouthing the company either. I use to work at goodwill and I like rural king a lot more than I do goodwill. But that still doesn't mean that rural king cares about or treats it's employees right. I think rural king needs to try and run their business like they keep telling people they run their business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work enviorment, great managment, the regular customers are what kept me loving my job.
Cashier (Former Employee), CarbondaleJune 18, 2014
A typical work day as a cashier involved anything from being moved onto the floor if the store wasn't particularly busy, doing your normal position as a cashier, to doing stockwork. Its flexible and you can learn a lot because they don't have you just simply being a cashier. They also often have you doing stock work, which can be nice as a change of – more... pace. Management was very good, there was variety within the managers as far as personality went which made it so there was always someone that you could find to approach about any situation. I really enjoyed who I worked with, I became close friends with almost everyone who worked there. The only problem was that between some of the employees there would be a lot of "high school" type drama. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), Martin, TNJune 18, 2014
Rural King was probably my favorite place to work. Everyday when I entered Rural King, I had a smile on my face. My managers were very kind, and they treated us more like family than people that worked for them. They were always so understanding, as long as we showed them that we were also. I got along with mostly all of my co-workers. We helped each – more... other when we needed help, and we always made the time pass by briskly. The hardest part of working at Rural King had to be leaving them. I enjoyed every day with my Rural King family. I loved being there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good first job for someone...
Head Cashier (Current Employee), Rural KingJune 11, 2014
Cons: they dont work with you on hours what so ever
Its a good first job for someone, not really a job for someone who is trying to provide for their family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and no personal consideration
Cashier (Former Employee), Tiffin, ohioMay 29, 2014
I was told many different ways to do things, and got conflicting instrucions. The management does not care about anything but getting the day done and if they step on toes they don't care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
CASHIER/CLOTHING DEPARTMENT (Former Employee), Harrisburg, ILMay 28, 2014
Pros: staff partys
Cons: hours
A typical day at work would be helping people either with finding something or checking them out. I learn how to handle large amounts of money and how to deal with different types of people.

The management team was great always willing to help
I got along with my co-workers

Was dealing with lazy people or rude people

The most enjoyable part was meeting – more... new people everyday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Busy atmosphere
DEPARTMENT MANAGER (Current Employee), Circleville, OHMay 18, 2014
Pros: constantly helping people, employee discount
Cons: poor management, drama
The job was fun. Always changing, always moving, always something to do.
Hourly associates know more about daily operations than management. Stressful, unprofessional drama regularly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please read the review - it will only benefit you if you want to work here
Department Manager (Former Employee), Effingham, ILMay 14, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management, temperature, hour lunch
First, I would like to point out that management for this company is the laziest set of management I have ever worked for. For example, if there is any kind of physical labor involved, they won't think about doing it, they try to claim if they do then it will cost somebody else a job. I believe they need to change their thoughts and help the workers – more... out. A typical day could involve pulling freight for several hours a day, even though there is a freight crew there specifically for that purpose, covering loadouts, even if you have 2 or 3 people there for that purpose, and scanning outs in your department, when you have a chance. You can expect to work with 4 or 5 managers on any typical day, which seems like a few too many to me for no bigger than the company is, but they will each give you tasks to complete in a day, plus they will walk your area to make you a list to do within a given time frame, as if you have nothing to do already. You can also have a list from anyone in the corporate level that stops in. Rather than helping the workers accomplish these lists, they management will have a "talk" with you and tell you that you are not being productive enough, yet they can talk as a group about what they have going on for the weekend. I learned that you cannot trust anyone in this company from management on up, they will tell you one thing and change the rules in a matter of hours. Most companies have a handbook and don't add much to it, these guys add to theirs everyday, and they are all stupid rules. My idea of the management crew here is they are just there for the number of hours they have to be to get a paycheck, they do not care about their people, if you bring up a problem in the building, they will tell you there is nothing they can do about it and get mad when multiple people bring up the same points. If they would listen to their people, they wouldn't have such a negative atmosphere and they might improve their business. The co-workers I had were great, they were the only reason I stayed there near as long as I did, you get to know them and they feel like a family. I would like to take the co-workers with me to my next job and leave the store with no help if I had the capability. The hardest part of the job was figuring out what management wanted out of you, if they tell you to pull freight, you have to pick certain freight or they will holler at you to come back and get a different pallet. They label pallets with names as if they are working with a bunch of children, makes you feel good to be in that type of environment. The most enjoyable part of this job for me was when I got to go to the time clock and hit "Out For The Day". I would recommend working for this company if you enjoy working with the heat on in the summer and the air on in the winter, an average day in the store where people shop in the summer is 90 degrees or above, which melts candy pretty quick. They also store the soda in a building with no heat or air, so I would not recommend buying any soda from this company. If it is 90 outside, the building it is stored in is at least 100 degrees, I wouldn't want to have a soda knowing that it came from that environment. This is also a great place to work if you enjoy having headaches on a daily basis, loss of sleep, or enjoy high levels of stress. Other than that, I would not recommend shopping at this company, much less work for them. I would definitely ask the department managers how they like working there, since they are there all the time and know how things operate inside the company. The others can tell you what its like, but they are not around as much to see what all goes on throughout a typical day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, love the team work
Receiving (Current Employee), Muncie, INMay 2, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, relaxed environment, employee relations
Cons: low wage
My typical day at work consists of checking in and receiving merchandise. Doing inventory control. Helping out in other departments of the store if needed. I have learned customer service skills, how to train other employees, proficient knowledge of our computer system, inventory control.
Management is stern, but makes the environment enjoyable to work – more... in.
The hardest part of my job is the physical lifting of some things that are heavy.
The most enjoyable part are the staff, the are a very caring staff that display team support in a sometimes chaotic atmosphere.
I've worked as a Head Cashier, Inventory Control Clerk, Floating Department Head, as well as Receiving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working experenice
store remodel (Former Employee), Mattoon, ILApril 25, 2014
people are very helpful the work was a good learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interact with different people
Cashier (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, INApril 13, 2014
Pros: worked with you if you had issues
Cons: couldn't move up
I worked as cashier and interacted with the public. I stocked products and put products where they belonged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fremont, OHMarch 18, 2014
Pros: i loved most of the employees
Cons: favortism with the store manager and employees
A 12 hour day being a mother of a 2 year old was not fun or easy.
I learned a lot of great things until we got a new store manager.
my co workers were great to be around and work with. They made my day fun and easier!!
The hardest part of the job was dealing with new manager that just didn't understand the way things should have been done! Being a store – more... manager you are supposed to be equal with everyone and not play favorites!!!!
The management group was great AT FIRST! It alllllll changed, and it was no longer fun. I loved my job for a long time. But thankful I got away from it. The pay wasn't enough to deal with the long hours and stress. Bonuses were not near enough either.
Playing favorites gets nowhere with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the most part everyone gets along well.
Department Manager, clothing dept./Cashier (Former Employee), Vincennes, INMarch 4, 2014
Pros: one hour lunches
Cons: not enough hours in the day
Going in at the opening of the store, making sure all signs and displays are current and accurate. Processing and getting up all available stock and ensuring customers are taking care of and satisfied. The hardest part of this job was keeping up with daily chores when there isn't enough helping hands. Satisfaction that a lot was done at the end of the – more... day was the best part of the experience of this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the people I worked with. I enjoyed my job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Van Wert, OHMarch 3, 2014
Pros: easy advancement
Cons: short breaks
I loved working at this place. I had alot of friends and the customers were always so nice.

1 2 3 4 5