Find companies:
Rural Metro Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Rural Metro Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service experience, inner dept. to dept. training opportunity.
Senior collector team leader III (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZOctober 29, 2014
Work day answering phone calls from 22 different states regarding billing and insurance questions and collecting patients balance. I went from collector to Sr. leader III, helping Management and Supervisors with customer complaints, helped manage a 44 collector/customer service co-workers team on a daily bases with questions regarding billing patient, – more... insurance and inner department discounts. Satisfy customers was most enjoyable as well as being just as hard to notify patients of the outstanding balances being their responsibility. Through this I learned to have patients, I learned about medical billing, insurance, Medicare and Medicaid and most of all empathy and compassion for the caller on the end of the phone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LACK GOOD MANGEMENT , POOR JOB ENVIRONMENT
Post Billing Rep (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: benefits
NO ADVANCEMENT OPPORTUNITY, POOR MANANGEMENT , UNSafe work environment ,outdated systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided great opportunities
General Manager (Current Employee), Erlanger, KYSeptember 15, 2014
Provided great opportunities over time but it may just be time to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun fast paced environment
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 4, 2014
Pros: work flexability, team players
Cons: corporate management had high turn around so things was always changing.
I was here for 4 years and enjoyed it the whole time. My supervisor was great to work with as was my co workers. I was always learning new things. I didn't have proficient training but I always caught on to everything fast. The company was a little unorganized and with it being nation wide I feel we were treated as a number and not as individuals, but – more... the billing office here in Indianapolis was like a family. We always stuck together and helped each other out.
They company is based out of Arizona and has decided to down size and hire a company to do the billing and accounting, so they can put all there energy on patient care. They have laid off through out the US over 400 employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with exceptional people that taught me so much about medical billing .
Team Lead (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZAugust 4, 2014
When I started with Rural Metro 9 years ago I knew nothing about Ambulance Ins Billing. After those 9 years I was promoted twice and placed in a position of being responsible for other employees training and auditing . If there is anything I can look back on with this company it would be the knowledge they instilled and the wonderful friends I made. – more... The positions I held were numerous Shared Services Team Lead, Claims Status Leader, Auditor, Trainer, Claims Representative – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Manager, Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 23, 2014
R/M is a good company to work for unless they are looking to cut costs which at that point your job will be eliminated until they figure they need someone else and then will hire then term hire then term
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambulance Company
Lead Billing Coordinator (Current Employee), san diego caApril 9, 2014
love working with people , i learn new things on a day to day basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer ever
Paramedic (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: everything
Management have no idea what they are doing.
Cant manage a 911 system.
They say open door policy but all offices are empty because they terminate staff every day ( 4th GM IN 2 YEARS ).
Hostile work environment.
Id rather be unemployed living in the streets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security lots of good friends
Commercial Billing Department Team Lead (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZDecember 2, 2013
Pros: awesome co-workers
Cons: under paid for the reposibility and the amount of work you are assigned
Right now rural metro is a very difficult place to work at, due to the bankruptcy they are going thru.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Place to Work
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), ScottsdaleNovember 27, 2013
This place sucks the life out of you. Mgmt has no regard, respect, or care for their employees. Forced OT at the last minute, cancelled promises of days off, promises of raises that never comes, high turnover, predatory managers. Company in bankruptcy & my guess will be laying off Billers in the near future after implementation of new Billing System. – more... Day prison. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Prebill Data Entry Representative (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZOctober 15, 2013
Throughout my time at the company I gained a lot of knowledge of working with insurance companies, such as Medicare, Medicaid, and other Private Companies. I verified insurance for patients, as well as entered their demographics then moved the accounts onward to the invoicing department. After a year I decided to move into invoicing; where I learned – more... the challenges of working with Medicare. Also how to write narratives.

I met some great and not so great people along my time there. But I took it all as a learning experience.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to do something that I loved, that I was great at.

The hardest part about the job at times was the amount of time I would spend there trying to keep up with the incoming accounts. I spent a lot of time away from my child, which was honestly the extremely hardest part about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has management issues that does not provide a good work environment for employees
Post Bill Representative (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZJuly 30, 2013
This is not a company I would recommend, they have leadership and management issues, the pay is not worth the drive of 30 miles and there is no advancement in the medical billing. This company does
very little to provide encentives to remain on staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment.
Paramedic / 911 Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 17, 2013
Pros: good benefits and ample overtime available.
Cons: none noted
A very good place to work. They have competative pay and benefits. An excellent working environment with good moral and employee comrade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZFebruary 1, 2013
Good job, worked with great people. Had to move on to a better opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management at Rural Metro, there only concerned about making money not the employee
Vent Trained Paramedic (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHNovember 6, 2012
Would never work for them again.This company didn't care about employees only the dollar, I understand companies are trying to always make a profit but they showed no compassion to employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT
EMT (Former Employee), AlabamaOctober 7, 2012
Pros: a paycheck...thats about it..
Cons: poor equipment, poor pay, no advancement, no down time
They have shift trucks and day trucks. Day trucks get slammed with dialysis and hospital transfers. Shift trucks treated lil better since most of them are firefighters primarily and the company doesn't want to make fire departments mad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid Headquarters
Unlisted due to fear of retaliation (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 31, 2012
Cons: hostile working environment, unstable corporate structure
Corporate restructuring being led by inexperienced CEO and CFO. Senior leaders have few if any ethics or values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Handles all assignments with care.
File Clerk (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 23, 2012
Went to work emptied boxes and ups packets to seperate and file all important paper work. The management were real friendly. All coworkers are team players. There is nothing really hard about this job. the enjoyable part of this job is being able to enhance clerical skills.