Rural Metro Employee Reviews

Found 88 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard EMS job
Transport Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Roswell, GAFebruary 20, 2017
Depending on your truck and assignment can be great. It is your average EMS job. Work the 911 side and you are good. All of the departments you serve are great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
DIESEL MECHANIC / PARAMEDIC (Current Employee) –  Erlanger KYJanuary 2, 2017
Depending on the position that you hold within the company will determine your daily work routine. As with all jobs, the amount of effort that you put into your position will determine the amount of satisfaction that an individual can receive form this job. This company will do their best try to find the most applicable position for you that they have available at that time.
Pros
Nation wide company that will let you transfer
Cons
Size of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WADecember 12, 2016
Great place to work and learned a lot from coworkers. I enjoy what I do and really working in healthcare. I helped RN's and Paramedics with taking vital signs, patient care, admits, discharges, and transfers
Pros
people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look else where to work
EMT (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 9, 2016
Steer clear of this company. They have people in charge that are not even trained as a first responder, who are directing field medics. Dispatchers are a bunch of hot heads who have no authority what's so ever, but have an attitude and an ego as if they were supervisors. Cliquey coworkers who spread gossip which make the work place even more toxic
Pros
Gain experience
Cons
Read above
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 30, 2016
Non emergency and emergency calls coming in. Dispatching to the most urgent ones first. It was a very self assuring job to help those in need.
Pros
Sharpens Listening skills
Cons
You may get 3 emergency calls at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work
Emergency Medial Technician (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 30, 2016
Lots of work and good management when i worked there, cannot speak of the place now. I know all new leadership has been vamped in this company and I know nothing about it anymore!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural Metro
Event Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 12, 2016
Company no longer working the Indianapolis area due to bankruptcy back in 2015. Enjoyed working for them. Good management team.
Pros
Good management
Cons
no longer in business here in the indy area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity/ place to work
Fleet Technician (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 8, 2016
always looked forward to coming to work, realized fairly quickly there was not much room for advancement within the company. Management went through a few big changes in the short time i was there. co-workers were always there to lend a helping hand if needed and show me a trick or two.
Pros
great co-workers/ line of work
Cons
incompetent management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Rural Metro
EMT-B (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 8, 2016
Its a great company to work for and the people you work with are great as well. but with that being said the pay does not equal out to the actual work we do day in and day out.
Pros
Great experience
Cons
Salary/pay is low for what we do
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed in indiana
EMT-B (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 21, 2016
This was the worst transport company i ever worked for. Management had favorites and then the equipment was never fully functioning. Ambulances were in poor shape. hints why they are sitting in a junk yard after closing.
Pros
Knowledgeable Paramedics who were willing to teach newbies (some)
Cons
Non working equipment, no call no shows, always changing partners
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn around was high
Post Billing Representative (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMarch 12, 2016
Company had filed for bankruptcy and reorganized and personnel did not have the correct training for their job titles and managing the people under them
Cons
inadequite training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The potential is there.
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Roswell, GAMarch 6, 2016
I worked for this company for enough time to get a real good understanding of how the machine works. My assessment is not going to be a good one. The powers that be in the company have no interest in you, the little worker bee, other than making them money. They take their vacations whenever they choose, and for us, only one paramedic can be off on any given day. There is no regard when it's a holiday, meaning you are on a truck but rarely get rewarded and no gratitude for doing so. Basically you are a doormat for upper management. It's very difficult to move up from within the company. Any education is on your own with no assistance from the company, including time off for school. If you can deal with the bs, the pay is decent considering. Dispatch is a bunch of morons that don't know the area and send what the computer thinks is the closest truck. Getting the wrong address on a critical call is frequent. I could go on and on, you get the idea by now I'm sure.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Poor, underqualufied management. Terrible dispatchers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Office/Claims Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 13, 2016
I enjoyed the volume of the job it was a busy office in the beginning but not so towards the end. I was able to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best jobs i had
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Bessemer, ALJanuary 7, 2016
great coworkers good equipment to work with well maintain trucks. Good benefits . Learned a lot about Emergency Medical Service. fair management hardest part 24 hrs shifts
Pros
not stuck inside office all day
Cons
24 hrs shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours but veery satisfying work overall
Fire battalion chief (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZDecember 7, 2015
good management hard workers and trust among fellow firefighters. all personnel followed rules an worked very hard to be professional at all times
Pros
great people
Cons
shortahe of manpower and equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for them
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 27, 2015
To me this was the best job I had ever had. The company cared about their workers and helps them if they needed it. They were never short on hours even till the end.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a cog in the machine
UNKNOWN (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CANovember 2, 2015
With an exception of a few great lower management employees, this place is ran very poorly. No culture, pride or employee empowerment. The people who could make the workplace great do not have the power to do so and must transfer the decision making to the higher ups. The higher ups only care about one thing...$$$$
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in Trouble
paramedic (Current Employee) –  Arvada, CO and Bushnell, FLOctober 27, 2015
Good company to start as a fresh out of school paramedic. Get your feet wet and learn to be street smart as a paramedic. Use the company for what it is, a job and learning experience.
Pros
Learning
Cons
Not a place to stay, no advancement offered by the company inside or through higher education, no tuition reembursment or working with school schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save yourself the headaches look elsewhere.
PARAMEDIC (Former Employee) –  Payson, AZOctober 19, 2015
Rural Metro & PMT has the most unresponsive and incompetent management.

Worst in EMS.

For profit, not employees or customers.

Old & outdated equipment.
Pros
helping ill/injured, some good coworkers, regular pay
Cons
management, low pay, poor benefits, low morale, bad employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be so much better
Critical Care Paramedic (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 15, 2015
Trying to maintain system status with not enough employees is hard enough, but when you have management that just cannot seem to grasp and positively affect the issues makes it even worse. Many employees have left for lower paying jobs that they must drive further to reach just to find better working conditions. Field personnel are routinely held over (more than 50% of scheduled shifts), dispatchers frequently mid-handle trucks and posting, and most field supervisors are infrequently helpful. Another example is that trucks are routinely deficient regarding required supplies and equipment, and stock doesn't have "a key" to get some of the items, and we are frequently just out of something or another. How difficult is it to manage inventory? It should be so much better, if only management would engage the field staff and work as a team.
Pros
High volume, diversity of cases, local trauma, cardiac, and stroke centers
Cons
Too numerous to list
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rural Metro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 89 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1