Rural Metro Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emt
Director of Marketing & Public Relations (Former Employee) –  Ladson, SCJanuary 2, 2018
When I started with Rural Metro, the director hired me as an EMT. After looking at my background, I started helping with marketing as the new company (American Heritage) was being developed and became part of the acquisition. I remained on with the new company as Sales and Marketing Director. The company, to this day, remains a part of my life and I still assist with marketing and sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely Recommend
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Milton, FLDecember 16, 2017
I enjoyed my time here as I gained knowledge and experience in emergency medicine during my employment. Everyone worked as a team to make sure duties were preformed in a quick but professional manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and unforgiving
EMT-B (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZDecember 5, 2017
Stressful and unforgiving job...pushed to your limits. Company does not care about its emplyees health, long hours. You work with some great caring people.
Pros
Something different every call, work with good people
Cons
Company does not care about employees health....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Fire Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 1, 2017
Performed emergency calls to help the citizens of san diego. very great company to work for, management was great and the environment was great as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
EMD/dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNDecember 1, 2017
If under different management, it would be the perfect job. I loved my position there, but, there was alot of favoring to the senior employees and what they were allowed to get away with, The new person would get in trouble for doing the same thing a Senior Employee had trained them to do. The Senior Employee would not get in trouble for anything. Very fast paced and stressful job. Must be able to multi-task and handle stressful situations in a calm manor. Basically you answered 911 phone calls, dispatched appropriate EMS units, and dispatched appropriate Fire Dept to emergency scenes. Loved my Job, Hated the management. Very unfair
Pros
off every other weekend
Cons
may not always get break and lunch on time, if at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural Metro of San Diego
EMT-B (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 16, 2017
Was a great place to work, especially back in the day. Co workers are the hardest working EMT's and Medic's in the business. The citizens of San Diego are wonderful
Pros
The People you work with
Cons
The managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural/Metro
Firefighter/EMT (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WASeptember 13, 2017
Great company to work for. Love the employment opportunities the company provides. Can apply for many different jobs in various locations across the U.S.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Supervisor / Manager /Critical Care Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 3, 2017
If you do your job, there will be no problems. I would do daily schedules, Attend to needs of the employees, I would attend administrative meetings, I would take care of any concerns from facilities for customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun company to work for
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAAugust 18, 2017
check in paperwork daily. data entry each pcr for example, demographics, diagnosis the patients, add patients insurances. Filing in storage. scanning and emailing to manager on daily productivity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAJuly 27, 2017
This review is before they changed and were sold. Back then they didn't care about employees, couldnt staff correctly, would hold everyone over and send them to the middle of nowhere right before they were suppose to be off. Things have changed so i dont know anymore
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Support Supply Coordinator Southwest Ambulance (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 6, 2017
I started with this company and I absolutely loved it. I didn't love when it was bought out by AMR and they eliminated so many jobs and demoted a lot of people. AMR cares only about the money they make and not about the employees who work there. I quit before my job was eliminated with the use of scanners for inventory.
Pros
Great manager and co-workers
Cons
Big Corp. attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fire and ems serving rural areas not covered by municipalities
Firefighter/Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 11, 2017
great place to get experience. often used as a steeping stone to get onto municipal departments, joined local firefighter unions and working standards and training improved
Pros
advancement, experience
Cons
no municipal benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard EMS job
Transport Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Roswell, GAFebruary 20, 2017
Depending on your truck and assignment can be great. It is your average EMS job. Work the 911 side and you are good. All of the departments you serve are great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
DIESEL MECHANIC / PARAMEDIC (Current Employee) –  Erlanger KYJanuary 2, 2017
Depending on the position that you hold within the company will determine your daily work routine. As with all jobs, the amount of effort that you put into your position will determine the amount of satisfaction that an individual can receive form this job. This company will do their best try to find the most applicable position for you that they have available at that time.
Pros
Nation wide company that will let you transfer
Cons
Size of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WADecember 12, 2016
Great place to work and learned a lot from coworkers. I enjoy what I do and really working in healthcare. I helped RN's and Paramedics with taking vital signs, patient care, admits, discharges, and transfers
Pros
people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look else where to work
EMT (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 9, 2016
Steer clear of this company. They have people in charge that are not even trained as a first responder, who are directing field medics. Dispatchers are a bunch of hot heads who have no authority what's so ever, but have an attitude and an ego as if they were supervisors. Cliquey coworkers who spread gossip which make the work place even more toxic
Pros
Gain experience
Cons
Read above
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 30, 2016
Non emergency and emergency calls coming in. Dispatching to the most urgent ones first. It was a very self assuring job to help those in need.
Pros
Sharpens Listening skills
Cons
You may get 3 emergency calls at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work
Emergency Medial Technician (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 30, 2016
Lots of work and good management when i worked there, cannot speak of the place now. I know all new leadership has been vamped in this company and I know nothing about it anymore!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural Metro
Event Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 12, 2016
Company no longer working the Indianapolis area due to bankruptcy back in 2015. Enjoyed working for them. Good management team.
Pros
Good management
Cons
no longer in business here in the indy area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity/ place to work
Fleet Technician (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 8, 2016
always looked forward to coming to work, realized fairly quickly there was not much room for advancement within the company. Management went through a few big changes in the short time i was there. co-workers were always there to lend a helping hand if needed and show me a trick or two.
Pros
great co-workers/ line of work
Cons
incompetent management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rural Metro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 102 reviews
516
431
331
214
110

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture