Rural/Metro Corporation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fun place to work
Vehicle supply tech (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 4, 2016
Rural metro for starters is now AMR but is still Rural metro at heart, a big company that feels small because everyone knows everyone, and it makes for a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural/Metro
EMT-B (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COJanuary 25, 2016
Fine place to work, good management team, plenty of overtime available.

At the end of the day this is was a business and not a city's, first responder position. Attention was focused on quantity of work vs quality of work
Pros
Advancement, overtime, co-workers
Cons
pay, hours, standing 24's
Was this review helpful?Yes20No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'd be better off at McDonalds even if they don't get $15 hr
paramedic (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNNovember 17, 2015
I've worked for Rural Metro on and off over 15 years in 3 states. They are THE worst EMS. At least at a mom and pop ambulance service you know who is screwing you. At Rural Metro you're just getting screwed by a corporation. I've worked for the best and the worst. Rural Metro is the worst.
Pros
Jobs availible several parts of the country.
Cons
Managed by idiots.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
data entry (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 24, 2015
It was an okay place, if you are starting out. I've learned a lot about working in an office environment: the people, the tasks, and the culture (everyday work life). from working there, I know that some people there from a short time to a long time.
Cons
Office Gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural/Metro is a good company
Compliance & Privacy Specialist (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 13, 2015
The company is good, overall. Executives have the employees' best interest at heart, whether they realize it or not. They're going through a merger with their largest competitor, which makes things a little stressful, but it's for the betterment of everyone.
Pros
A mission worth fighting for - safety and rescue
Cons
the benefits could be better - 2 wks vacation, even for mid-senior level staff
Was this review helpful?Yes6No27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural/Metro & PMT are the worst employers that Ive ever worked for, each time. Poor managers.
EMT-Paramedic (Former Employee) –  AZ Payson, Mesa & PHX. Metro, Sdale, Tempe, PinalSeptember 27, 2015
I started with RMFD in 2000 as a Reserve FF/EMT in Maricopa County, and left in 2001 bc of low pay and poor management.
I worked for Comtrans & American Lifestar 2002 - 2004, PMT Part time 2004-2005, & then FT @ SWA 2005-2007 as a Medic. I left both bc of low pay and poor management.
I worked for RM PMT & American Lifestar 2014-2015, and just quit again bc of Very Poor Management and extremely low pay for saving peeps lives every day.

My advice is that you go work anywhere but here unless youre wanting experience or enjoy low pay, unsafe apparatus, and work drama, no support, low morale, extremely poor & unsupportive/unresponsive Management.

Dont trust HR, or the "Company Union"
Pros
24 hour shifts. some good people. sometimes get paid to rest/ sleep.
Cons
Too many to list, It all starts at the Top & goes downhill from there, managers suck beyond compare, Stations & Ambulances without AC all summer, polyester shirts, broken or missing equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes38No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!
AEMT (Former Employee) –  Knoxville,TNMay 6, 2015
I've worked at rural/metro on and off for the last few years and I can by far say it is the worst company I've ever worked for! They don't value their employees at all. All you are is a warm body with a license. They can't even keep enough people around to fill a full shift of trucks, because they treat everyone so poorly! Anyone with any sense at all will run as fast and as far away from r/m as they can! Unfortunately, our citizens are the ones who pay the ultimate price of the selfishness and greed of this company. This place used to be seen as a great stepping stone for beginners in ems, but now it's just a dangerous place to work. It's not even worth the experience, because you won't find anything positive here.
Pros
The few good coworkers left
Cons
Too much to name.
Was this review helpful?Yes68No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Receive Experience
Paramedic (Current Employee) –  Sioux FallsMay 3, 2015
Overall, R/M is a place where you going to earn your experience before moving on to the next rung in your career ladder. Having the opportunity to work in a busy EMS system and having the opportunity to develop relationships with others in the community is a priceless experience. However, the operational aspect of this company is down right laughable and has only declined since they declared bankruptcy. From consistently missing response times to lackluster equipment, R/M is not the long term solution for your employment future.
Pros
lenient Scheduling, Overtime, Decent Benefits, Stations
Cons
Pay, Equipment, Lack of Leadership, Attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes33No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run like heil
Security officer (Former Employee) –  Port columbus airportSeptember 19, 2015
Bad pay, bad management. Very shady business practices that are lawsuit-worthy. Current class action suit in progress.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Everything and anything
Was this review helpful?Yes28No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
apply to AMR rural metro grossly under pays and has terrible management. don't work here! 9.60 an hr for an emt b at pmt it's 12.50 at amr
emt (Former Employee) –  Mesa azMarch 31, 2015
Broken down and out dated ambulances. Poor management poor pay. Just a terrible work environment. Worked here for a few years becuase it was the only game in town. But with amr coming to town I applied and have been working there since. I can tell you from experience if you want to be treated with respect and be able to make a living go anywhere but rural metro. I could've made more money working at Walmart.
Was this review helpful?Yes60No7Report

Want to know more about Rural/Metro Corporation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work for
Pre bill (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 18, 2014
I was recently part of large group that was just laid off in the billing department to supposed outsourcing and now ads are being posted for seeking employees!? So rediculous! They don't care about their employees, about 40 people we're let go with no warning no nothing! HR came in and were were all out of the building by 12pm! Very poorly handled in their part!
Pros
ok work environment
Cons
benefits not the greatest
Was this review helpful?Yes80No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous
Medic (Former Employee) –  Cuyahoga HtsDecember 30, 2013
Steer clear of this one people. First off the management is clearly a joke, you have a bunch of "kids" running" the place, medics with no real experience, dispatchers are a joke, no medical background, make deals they cannot keep with ER, yet never tell the crews. Always trying to get medics to upgrade the trips, trucks that are so close to the junk yard, yet they patch them together to make "one last trip" having total disregard for crew safety. If you complain, they write you up. The internal drama is nothing shirt if ridiculous, even going as far as parties of management having affairs with "much" younger co-workers, if you want Young and Restless, you have it here folks.
Cons
management, pay, everything
Was this review helpful?Yes94No25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a large amount of internal problems.
Paramedic (Current Employee) –  TennesseeNovember 21, 2013
This company has taken a turn for the worst, over the past few years. Our corporate leadership is consistantly dishonest and doesn't support their employees very well. They have zero appreciation for the local operations and have absolutely no clue what it takes to complete our job well. I have lost a significant amount of respect for the company, over the years, and would not recommend it as an employment option, until they can get their act together. Their money management skills are quite lacking as well. They happen to be in Chapter 11 currently, and things aren't improving at all.
Pros
local coworker support
Cons
employee support and appreciation, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes60No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place is a joke...
Emt (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis,InMay 26, 2013
Rural Metro is a joke.. you get paid less than woring at mcdonlads to save ppls lives.. Dispatch plays favorites and sends the ones they dont like to hell and back.. Ambulances are in horrible condition something is always breaking in them. I had one where the lights shorted out on an emergent run. The proper equipment isnt on the ambulances. When there is a problem that needs to be addressed its passed on to like four ppl before you hear anything. And as for ppl who work there , some are really cool and others are rude and will start drama anyway they can. You also will get held over almost every shift.. atleast an hour or two.
Pros
meeting new ppl
Cons
rude dispatchers, poor pay, being held over
Was this review helpful?Yes55No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Place
Patient Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZOctober 29, 2013
Working here, Monday thru Friday, from 7 to 4. I learned many things while here. I learned how to use two systems I had never heard of before, AS400 and Onbase. I work 8 hours on a computer, working an insurance payer called Kaiser. Checking eligibility, and rebilling to Kaiser correctly. The co-worker's I work with, some are awesome, we can laugh and make work fun. But there are some people who are rude and stuck up.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Louisville kyJune 18, 2013
This place is a joke!! If they don't like you they will find a way to remove you. The supervisors are all idiots. The hr manager is terrible. Good luck trying to get forms filled out. She won't like you unless you walk the line like Jesus!! The scheduler is a walking sexual harassment case waiting to happen. Heaven forbid you are good at your job and you make your superiors look dumb they will trump up things to fire you!
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes82No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!
Current (Current Employee) –  ArizonaJanuary 29, 2013
If you like to work 10+ hour shifts 6-7 days a week then this is for you! The pay sucks the office smells and the management is a joke! They don't care if you have a life, kids, family, school, church etc you better be at work or it's an occurrence. Get enough and you'll get written up. I thought we were adults but here they treat you like a kid and a slave!
Pros
benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes58No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get what you can out of this company then run like hell!
Former employee (Former Employee) –  USAMay 13, 2013
Do what you got to do in these hard economic times but don't count on a career at Rural Metro! They are a corporation that couldn't care less about their employees or the people they serve. All they care about is stroking their contract holders and they are losing them as well! Forget about training. Your job is to beat the clock in order to keep the contract holders happy, period! Favoritism runs rampant. When the workforce tried to organize, they took pains to union bust then gloated over the union losing (but by only 15 votes!). If you are a medic or EMT, be prepared to be held over. Remember, contracts first! Better keep your certifications up whether the company gives you time to recertify or not. Otherwise, you are yanked off of the schedule and lose pay! This company sucks on so many levels!
Pros
it's a paycheck....sometimes
Cons
everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes58No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Post Bill Account rep
Post-Bill Patient Account Rep (Former Employee) –  544 W Onondaga StreetApril 23, 2014
Customer service and complete appeals
How to talk to different insurance company on my own
Management was not intune what was going on

Great co-workers

the hardest part of the job was the appeals

The best part of the job was having lunch with my co-workers
Pros
learning the appeal on my own
Cons
no proper training
Was this review helpful?Yes28No36Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job in the world........
Had None (Former Employee) –  Granite ReefMarch 10, 2013
There is nobody available for training. Supervisors don't have a clue. Actually nobody in the building has a clue .... Nobody has a job description, people are rude and stand offish. Nobody has a name. Everyone smokes. Sweat shop atmosphere, Old equiptment,disorganized, unprofessionable, embarrassment....
Cons
all of the above plus much much more
Was this review helpful?Yes48No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rural/Metro Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.1
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.0
Compensation/Benefits
1.8
Job Security/Advancement
1.7
Management
2.0
Culture
2.1

Rural/Metro Corporation Reviews by Location