Find companies:
Rush University Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

Rush University Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work friendly
Pre.-Registration Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 26, 2014
busy all work must communicate with patients most be very informative in insurance information and aware of changes in patients insurance, My co-workers were friendly and we helped each other team work was very important
The hardest part of the job was when the insurance information didn't match the patients information that they did not receive.
The – more... best part of the job was when the patients excepted the information that you provided and was able to use it for there benefit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I obtained a better understanding of how healthcare insurance/ medical benefits work
Patient Access Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 23, 2014
Pros: understanding of medical claims and coverage
Cons: never a slow moment
On a typical day I would register 50-100 patients for up coming appointments and verify insurance coverage and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family feel
Research assistant (Former Employee), neurology departmentJune 20, 2014
Pros: laid back enivironment
Cons: no opportunity for job growth
My co-workers are wonderful people to work with and a laid back kinda environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support staff are not primary focus
Media Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 19, 2014
Understandably, support staff-basically without medical roles, isn't the primary focus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy office atmosphere and Ok place to work!
Health Information Clerk II (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 13, 2014
Pros: benefits, salary
Cons: parking, certain management
A typical day at work at Rush would yield not too much stress. It was always great to work along side Doctors/Physicians, most were very nice to talk to. My co-workers were most times good to be around, for the most part we all got along and helped one another out to keep the productivity in the office at a standard. Management wasn't too much of a – more... push over either, nor did she micro-manage the team. We understood our day to day roles unless something specific was required. At this particular job I learned more about medical terminology and the most enjoyable part of this job was meeting, talking to and engaging with the nurses, physicians and doctors. It dictated that because our two jobs were different no one looked down on the other based on job, race, religion or back ground. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviornment with fair pay.
Patient Transporter (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 12, 2014
Friendly enviornment. Union based so good pay and benefits. Alot of walking and time spent on your feet, other than that doesnt require too much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to move on. My dept has nopathway for advancement
Clinical Revenue Management Nurse Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 25, 2014
Pros: able to add value and definition to the position
Cons: theposotion is organizationally limited
I was employed into a position that used to have a dept with 4 other staff. These positions were cut before I was hired. The current atmosphere is work friendly. Though management dpends on me for audit, compliance and billing integrity, the organization does not value this position by any organizational recognition. I have done all I can with the position – more... with writing value added policies and procedures. I need to move on in order to have the opportunity to use my background productively. I would be leaving the position having made contributions to both the healthcare finance dept and the contracting dept. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hospital in the Chicagoland area
Volunteer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 23, 2014
At rush, I have transported patients, answered phones, delivered mail, and helped doctors in various projects. The hardest part of the job is dealing with rude patients and the most enjoyable part of volunteering is knowing you helped someone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and supportive work environment
Student Physical Therapist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 16, 2014
RUMC is a great place for innovative therapy. This facility is very team based and encourages new and supported therapy interventions. Management is excellent and really takes into account the perspective of the therapists that are on the floor for the entire day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaberative and driven towards excellence
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 13, 2014
Rush strives to be leader in the academic medical world. They have a great focus on quality and patient safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Life
Administrative Assistant III Section of Neurology (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 23, 2014
A good hospital but very hard to find a job. Once you are in Rush, then its hard to transfer to different departments within the Organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides a better understanding of an patient experience from all aspects.
Patient Relation Intake Coordinator Intern (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 18, 2014
All patient complaints can be linked to a lack of quality in the front and back end within an organization. I assist and escalate complaints and concerns to various dept. I also assist with solving issues from customer service to behavior issues. Handling such a large volume of patient complaints will have to be most challenging,because of time constraints. – more... It's rewarding because you learn where the potholes are in healthcare , yet ironic because we live in one of the most wealthiest nations,yet, lack quality at the basic level sometimes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with. Culturally diverse organization.
Assistant Director of Payer Contracting (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 14, 2014
Fast paced, hardworking environment. Extremely intelligent individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being the middle man between engineering and medical staff
Executive Secretary II/Medical Center Engineering (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 9, 2014
Pros: diversity
Cons: no room for grow opportunities, not challenged in my assignments
Intercepted phone calls filtered throughout the hospital and routed them to appropriate engineers on duty. Entered maintenance requested into computer systems and communicated the needs of the doctors, nurses, patients, etc. through proper channels. I learned how to work and effectively communicate with people on my different levels (senior management, – more... tradesmen, doctors, patients, etc). I would also say that the diversity here is one of the things I enjoy the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good teaching environment// job advancement poor
Clinical Research Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 4, 2014
A good place to use as a stepping stone. Great work environment. No room to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great environment to start my professional career.
Senior Faculty Recruiter (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 25, 2014
Rush has provided me with a great start to my career allowing several opportunities for advancement in the 4 years I have been here. In my current role I enjoy the fast paced environment, daily interactions with our professional and executive staff, and being an integral part of the recruitment process for new physicians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a wonderful learning experience , great job security, and advancement.
FOOD SERVICE ASSISANT 1 (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: all of the above
Cons: some times they would hire managers that really didn't know the job.
I learned alot in the food service industry, about organization, accuracy, puncuality, communication to people that are sick and to be compassionate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PATIENT COME FIRST
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: beautiful place
Cons: in house
NICE COMFORT PLACE, NICE PATIENT LOAD, TEAMWORK, TAKING CARE OF PEOPLE IS A PASSION OF MINES, THIS COMPANY PRIDES ON PUTTING PATIENTS FIRST AND MAKING SURE THEIR PATIENT RATINGS ARE HIGH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to be entry level
SUPPORT ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 13, 2014
Difficult to move around and up in the institution- hiring process is drawn out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rush University Medical Center was a very Productive business and good working environment.
Clinical Coordinator 3 (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: the company provided the best lunches for every scheduled meeting.
Cons: the lunch breaks went too fast!
My most typical day to be honest was every Monday and Thursday it was our most busiest days ever. I say it is our typical work day because I enjoyed my job. I looked forward to going to work every day. And I felt like I was here for a purpose and that purpose was to help my community in every way possible. I learned that there would be good days and – more... bad days, but the most important is being patient. I work at this company for eighteen years and I must say I had the best management team ever, I couldn't ask for a more better group people to work for. My co-workers was remarkable team to work with as well, we had our bad times but we got the job done with no hesitations. Thats typical right? The hardest part of my job was getting to work on real bad weather like days like those snow blizzer where it took you like about two half hour to get to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I was proud to have a Job to come to. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Rush University Medical Center

With its comprehensive health care offerings and multiple facilities, Rush System for Health is in a hurry to get Chicagoans hale – Read more

Rush University Medical Center Photos