Rust-Oleum Employee Reviews

Showing all 52 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WINovember 27, 2016
the place was not very employee oriented. they treated you like a number and the management was replaced just about every year. once management was replaced they cleaned house. your job is not secure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here, great environment
Process Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILOctober 24, 2016
awesome place
great people
management always involved
great benefits and working on making office as enjoyable as possible.
sometimes things can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Shipping and Receiving Lead/order picker (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIAugust 23, 2016
Bad environment, bad pay terrible leadership 12 hr shifts inability to Move up in the company bad raises. Production machines broken down barely able to run and put out product
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the amount of products that are there
Warehouse Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVAugust 15, 2016
My job was to pick orders and prepare for shipping. How many paint products they handle. I learned how to drive pallet jack, forklift and stand up forklift. Leads were extremely helpful and understanding.
Co workers were willing to assist and friendly. The hardest part of the job was working weekends. The most enjoyable part was meeting new people.
Pros
friendly people and helpful management
Cons
working weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Associate Corporate Buyer (Current Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILMay 23, 2016
Rust-Oleum is a great place to work. RO provides unlimited opportunity for continue education. Management and co- workers are wonderful. It can be stressful, demanding, and fast paced.
Rust-Oleum is constantly providing fun activities for employees to engage in.
Pros
Summer Hours, paid volunteer day
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace. Good people & good company
Skid-loader Driver, Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Racine, WIFebruary 18, 2016
Long work days that flew by fast, learned how to drive a skid-loader & more things about shipping & receiving, management was great, co-workers were great, hardest part of the job was working 3rd shift, & the whole job was enjoyable.
Pros
2 breaks, 1 lunch, great benefits
Cons
3rd shift
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Category Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILDecember 21, 2015
This Is just a great place, people are great and management staff is very approachable and friendly. Pay is good. Great word hour and they are very flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Filler Operator (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIDecember 1, 2015
Rotaing shifts make for long nights but also creates a flexible schedule.1 of the better paying jobs in the area and lots of friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health conditions are bad micro management
maintenance (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIOctober 26, 2015
Company didn't treat everyone the same upper management didn't have a clue of any of the production jobs. Only the brown noses got treated good very bad breathing and micro management.
Pros
some good people I have ever worked with paint makers set up receiving departments
Cons
bad management all around
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILSeptember 21, 2015
this was a great company to work for, the management is fair.
they strive for excellance, and do not treat you like a number. they were very understanding with health issues and family
Pros
money
Cons
drive
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co Workers
Creative Service Traffic Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Somerset, NJSeptember 8, 2015
I had a great experience with my coworkers from this company. Management made sure the staff was trained to our fullest potential to succeed at our jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun plus rewarding environment
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL.August 25, 2015
Great Management team that encourages hard work and new ideas by example! Goals were realistic but a challenge to meet. Greater rewards for exceeding goals.
Pros
Great atmosphere including our coffee bar similar to Starbucks!
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard to work with someone who is very negative.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILAugust 10, 2015
Ideas that i would bring to the table were never noticed by my supervisor. negative vibes most of the days. not happy working in the coffee bar with someone who i cant get along with. over all the company is amazing and all the people are great.
Pros
benefits, brakes, and 401k
Cons
working with negative people
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The few make it bad for the many
Traffic coordinator (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVJuly 26, 2015
Bad attitudes and rude behavior of a few key personnel make it difficult to feel like part of the team. The lack of training and support makes it hard to be successful.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, safety a high on the list
material Handler Forklift driver (Current Employee) –  Riverside CAJune 22, 2015
In the two years I’ve been with RustOleum, I started out as a project temp. Placing labels on deficted product. Once the project was completed they sasked me to learn auditing and then picking via voice activtion. I have been in the top three proformers in picking and accurcy.
Management is very big in cross training and getting everyone a shot at different task.
Pros
Co- workers and management all work as team.
Cons
Temp for over two years and need benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with new products every year.
Area Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill,SCJune 14, 2015
I get out into the territory to help my customers grow their business. Every day is a little different depending on their needs. I focus on the new programs and products to help them build their business.
Pros
The freedom to get my job done.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced friendly working environment
Material handler (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIApril 23, 2015
Received out-going orders for UPS and FedEx with product information to pick from the warehouse, pick the product, palletize and shrink wrap pallet and attach proper shipping labels. Load the out-going semi for further distribution.
I learned the computer system, warehouse safety, international shipping procedures and operation of different machinery.
Co-workers were very helpful and informative.
Hardest part of my job was putting together last minute rush orders.
Working with others in cooperation to get the rush orders out.
Pros
Bonuses for production acheivement and safety
Cons
Working very hard as a temp and not getting hired in
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Paint Maker (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, MDApril 6, 2015
Rustoleum was a great place to work. It was unfortunate that I was only there as a contract worker. I would've loved to work there long-term.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers were great. Good place to work if you don't mind overtime.
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIFebruary 28, 2015
Benefits are very good.

Occasional free lunches and Holiday lunches.

Quarterly bonuses.

Some heavy lifting.

A lot of overtime in busy season.
Pros
Paid holidays, occasional free dinners. quarterly bonuses
Cons
Mandatory overtime and sometime Holidays, Heavy lifting for pickers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
picker packer (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIDecember 21, 2014
Everyday I had to pick orders. I drove a electric pallet jack or forklift.
I learned how to safely operate the vehicles and make my daily quota. I got along with all my co-workers and management. The hardest part of my job was changing the batteries in and out of the forklift, but I did get the hang of it. I most enjoyed having fun at work , meeting new people, and working hard.
Pros
free lunches on weekends
Cons
the bathrooms were not very sanitary
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 52 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7