Find companies:
Rutgers University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

Rutgers University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Piscataway, NJAugust 12, 2014
nice people, nice working environment
many interesting projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for internships
Intern Curator (Former Employee), New Brunswick, NJAugust 12, 2014
Great place for internships with excellent guidance from proctors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable place to work
Facilities Coordinator (Current Employee), New Brunswick, NJAugust 5, 2014
Great place to work
Great place to learn
Can earn another degree while working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Associate Director (Current Employee), Piscataway, NJAugust 1, 2014
Excellent place to work. Same like other reviews for Rutgers University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and environment.
Research Assistant NIJ RTM Project Grant (Current Employee), Newark, NJJuly 29, 2014
Pros: informative meetings, great hours, interesting work
Great team to work with, I enjoy learning with every new step towards the research project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting research topic I was glad to help contribute to the understanding of with my undergraduate backgraound
Head of Project Development and Literature Review (Former Employee), New Brunswick, New JerseyJuly 18, 2014
Great experience in which I would have weekly meetings with the head adviser Tobiah Horton and helped to brainstorm the experiments to be produced and the understanding of chemical reactions that occurred for the research topic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed this position
Para Transit Driver (Former Employee), New Brunswick, NJJuly 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no room for advancement, and due to the hours, was not able to work a supplemental job
I coordinated, executed, and recorded in an excel spreadsheet results of daily pick ups and drop offs of students and teachers with special needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first experience working in the lab
Student Lab Assistant (Former Employee), New Jersey, USAJuly 4, 2014
Was greatly helped by my supervisor in improving my skills. Great first scienc job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work environments
Service Worker B/ Cashier (Current Employee), Camden, NJJune 30, 2014
Pros: get to create and learn about different foods and recipes
Cons: meals are deducted out of your check for the kitchen staff and people, personalities can be difficult but manageable, can be hard to get full-time hours
Depending on who you work your day can be productive and fun or long not so productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Clerical Worker/Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), New Brunswick, NJJune 30, 2014
Working in the Student Affairs office was great. There was an opportunity to learn about the student leader process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Event Staff, Student Life - Cook Campus Center (Former Employee), New Brunswick, NJJune 25, 2014
Rutgers is a fantastic university. I learned time management, organizational skills and how to behave in a professional environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced food cafe and family oriented environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), piscataway,njJune 24, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
A typical day consists of mostly customer service. For example, taking food orders,organize and stock food product, and cashier.Everyone is nice and helpful to customers. The environment is crowded but inviting. Management is flexible with students who go to class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In spite of positives, cannot recommend because of bureaucracy and under-qualified supervisory personnel.
Director, Rutgers Food Innovation Center (Former Employee), Bridgeton NJJune 23, 2014
Pros: rewarding contribution to the advancement of the food industry
Cons: inept management
Great opportunity to operate at the leading edge of food technology and innovation. Eclectic clients, processes, categories. Great exposure to the university's faculty with a wealth of scientific insights. Smart and motivated co-workers. Strong learning environment. Work that is both financially and sociologically significant to clients. Extremely bureaucratic. – more... Some senior supervisors are obstacles in their need for power and cluelessness about business best practices and how to lead, resulting in an otherwise unnecessary environment of mixed signals, survival tactics, and CYA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Academic Atmosphere with excellent benefits
Laboratory Researcher III (Former Employee), Piscataway, NJJune 20, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, excellent benefits, great co-workers
Working for a State University had certainly had it's benefits. As an employee of the University I had many perks including a profession yet fun atmosphere along with fantastic health benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Researcher (Current Employee), Piscataway, NJJune 20, 2014
It is a great university. I recommend it. Great research deparments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work- Study Job
Office Secretary (Former Employee), Camden, NJJune 13, 2014
Loved the people I worked with. I got to meet a lot of other people from various departments of Rutgers University. Learned how to better my secretarial skills. Best part was sending out acceptance letters to income freshman and transfer students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Rutgers
Rutgers Dining Services- Student Manager (Former Employee), Piscataway, NJJune 7, 2014
Rutgers University is THAT school and I enjoyed working there for 2 years, I learned a lot in management skills when I was able to work as a student manager in the dining hall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rutgers University
Lecturer, Adjunct Professor: Literatures, Writing (Former Employee), Camden, NJJune 4, 2014
Pros: expanding others' thinking as well as my own
Cons: variable schedules, poor pay
I loved teaching -- not a job for the timid! I learned every day from my students. The greatest challenge has been adapting to and, eventually, mastering new technologies, particularly as the technologies went through developmental stages. A typical day could run from 6 A. M. to 10 P.M, due to offsite teaching at the joint base or split hours. The most – more... difficult part of the job was the changing hours from semester to semester, with early morning and late night classes, due to part time status. The most enjoyable part of teaching is the moment where the theater or classroom hushes, where eye contact, or smiles, or head nods show that students are fully engaged in the learning experience -- the Eureka Moment that says, "I get it," Management is really enacted by the professor, with little to no contact with university management. We are assigned a course and it's up to us to make sure that there is a road map to learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, productive, and fulfilling (plus, fun)
Writing Assistant (Current Employee), Camden, NJJune 3, 2014
Pros: free food, flexible schedule
Cons: no overtime
A typical day includes one-on-one tutoring sessions with undergraduate students in person, and online. I learned how to communicate with many different kinds of students, from many different backgrounds. Writing abilities varied immensely, but I learned to adapt and help students to the best of my abilities. My supervisors were happy to assist students – more... when their needs extended beyond my abilities. Everyone on staff is incredibly talented -- just great to be around. The hardest part of my job is working with students who are learning English for the first time. Probably my greatest moment was when I helped a student get into a very competitive education program in Germany. Together, we wrote an excellent proposal! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer for adjuncts
Part-time lecturer (Former Employee), New Brunswick, NJMay 28, 2014
Life as an adjunct professor is notoriously stressful and unpredictable, but Rutgers is definitely one of the better employers for this kind of work. Pay is competitive and full-time faculty make an effort to communicate with you and provide feedback on performance. Students are high-quality and enjoyable to teach. Drawbacks are lack of benefits and – more... job security, although the university is currently taking measures to improve on both fronts, e.g. providing retirement accounts and health insurance. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Rutgers University

With major campuses in northern, central, and southern New Jersey and extension offices and activities in all twenty-one counties, – Read more

Rutgers University Photos