RWJBarnabas Health Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
university based hospital
Clinical Documentation Specialist (Current Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJJanuary 20, 2018
Learning Clinical Documentation guidelines for Medicare patient population.
The hardest part of the current job is that I do not have any interaction with patients and their families
Pros
Flexibility of work hours, great manager
Cons
working in front of the computer with little interactions with anybody except physicians only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees work hard....management not so much
Perioperative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, NJJanuary 18, 2018
too much emphasis on management...they need to do more to make hospital good again. Less concern about how things look on paper. Great staff...management needs to back them more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional hospital to work for
Coordinator, Radiation Oncology (Former Employee) –  Belleville, NJJanuary 18, 2018
All the staff at RWJ are helpful and fully committed to help you not only gain knowledge but also to push you towards advancement within your specified or interested field (s)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you like Rutgers U.
Medical Technologist, Generalist (Former Employee) –  Long Branch, NJJanuary 18, 2018
If your Caucasian, no need to apply. Foreign workers with visa's preferred. Poor parking access, and expensive. Expect to encounter heroin addicts and homeless while walking from city parking lots to hospital
Pros
Pay, close proximity to NYC
Cons
Working in New Jersey
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking to go back!
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, NJJanuary 17, 2018
They were fair and have a great group of staff to learn from. Management worked hard to keep patients safe and employees healthy. The benefit package took care of all of my needs with a fair cost.
Pros
great community of staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job, with lots of challenges
PMHNP-BC (Current Employee) –  Toms River, NJJanuary 14, 2018
Works in an inpatient psych unit, manages patient from admission to discharge
Day to day assignment starts with patient case presentation/run down by nurses, interdisciplinary treatment team for scheduled patient and follow up care for each assignment patient for medication review. Workup/complete psychiatric assessment for any new intake, discharges and prescription.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OT fieldwork
Student (Former Employee) –  Gibsonia, PAJanuary 13, 2018
This was a great and challenging opportunity as a student. I learned what to look forward to in my new career choice. This was a wonderful experience for OTA student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Pediatric Care Technician (Current Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJJanuary 13, 2018
I am currently employed in the emergency room of RWJBH. It is fast paced and it can be hard work at times. However, I love the team I work with. The workplace culture is all about teamwork and kindness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to be a part of.
HR Genralist/Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Long Branch, NJJanuary 9, 2018
Fabulous employees.
Team work exceptional.
Great work environment.
Exceptional patient care.
Safe, quality environment for patients and employees.
Excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching institution
Resident (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJanuary 9, 2018
Excellent for a resident to learn and hone skills.
Colleagues are all enthusiastic about their work.
HR is well organized.
Managers are great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Much Turnover
Marketing (Current Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJJanuary 8, 2018
There is way to much turn over and unrest at RWJBH. There is constant changes in upper management causing several issues throughout the organization. There are a lot of good people there though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Regional Practice Manager (Former Employee) –  West Orange, NJJanuary 6, 2018
Very fast paced job. Not enough time in day to complete all task. Everyone worked well together and helped each other out. I enjoyed helping the patients and staff out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but stressful
Diet Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJJanuary 5, 2018
The environment is as expected, fast-paced, but the stress comes in with management that doesn't particularly care about their employees. There is a high turnover rate. It's a great place to work to gain experience and then leave.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Support
Nurse Manager (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJanuary 4, 2018
Organization makes it extremely hard to support the staff. One sided focus on patient satisfaction and losing sight on their employees. Unable to support my staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasure working at St Barnabas
Certified Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJJanuary 4, 2018
I enjoyed working their for the patients to see a smile on their face when its cold asked the patient would you like another warm blanket or ask are you ok any thing else I can assist you with customer come first.
Pros
going the extra mile for the patients
Cons
everybody working together
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place to work
Home Care Nurse (Current Employee) –  West Orange, NJJanuary 4, 2018
this is my second family. everyone is very pleasant and helpful. the ability to make my own hours helps to manage work with family time. i have learned so much working in home care especially the role of nurses in decreasing the risk of rehospitalization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like to work there
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJJanuary 4, 2018
i started my healthcare career there, i love working there, the benefits were great but the pay was very low if you're not part of management.

i learned a lot there i was able to work full time and earned my degree while i was working there. management was very helpful and flexible when it comes to my school schedules.

i only left because i was moving
Pros
good healthcare benefits, very fexible
Cons
low pay rate and lack of career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay
Switchboard Operator (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 4, 2018
loved this job had to move but great pay great co workers, relaxed work place and great management. would definitely work there again. great breaks also
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in a day's work
LPN (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJanuary 4, 2018
How do I begin. Well I must say I enjoy working there. The workload is not bad. Managers and supervisors are great! There are so many opportunities to grow and transfer within. I love it!
Pros
yes free lunch and flexibility
Cons
pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Corporate Hospital
Pediatric ICU Nurse (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJJanuary 3, 2018
Definitely not a bad place to work: pay is decent but not great compared to other hospitals within the RWJ Barnabas system, "Nurses Eat Their Young" is a very prominent part of much of the staff culture, and understaffing is a major concern.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RWJBarnabas Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 891 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8