Find companies:
Ryder
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
369 reviews

Ryder Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Diesel Technician (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNApril 7, 2014
not a bad place to work over all competitive benefits and pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the Ryder Center of Saginaw Valley State University was a unique experience that I really enjoyed and learned a lot from.
Building Supervisor (Former Employee), University Center, MIApril 7, 2014
At the Ryder Center I typically walked the facility at least 4 times an hour to check on rooms and patrons, greeted patrons and assisted them with any of their needs, also communicating with the custodial/maintenance staff and the desk workers frequently. As a college student, this job allowed me to learn to have more initiative and be more assertive – more... in leadership positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not communicate with employees
Accounting (Current Employee), Miami, FLApril 2, 2014
This company does not seem to understand that employees are its best asset. Everything happens behind closed doors and there is no communication. While the company is doing well, they are not sharing it with their employees, with the exception of top level executives who get stock options and fat bonuses. There are no raises, so there is no incentive – more... to perform well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good corporate culture
Finance Manager (Former Employee), Novi, MIApril 1, 2014
Treats employees fairly, like family, friendly work atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a team effort environment
Senior Application Analyst/Management (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 29, 2014
A place for advancement and opportunity, but very political in nature
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment
Outbound Billing, Yard Manager Reconciliation (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXMarch 28, 2014
Checking on both inbound and outbound shipments. This was a temp position and the company closed it's doors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 100 company to work for with excellent on board training
Account Manager (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: fantastic management support
Great company to work for. Unfortunately, I made the decision to leave the state of Georgia rapidly with my family to return back to my naive California home permanently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience of professional career!
Management (Current Employee), Carol StreamMarch 28, 2014
Pros: veteran affairs
Cons: hr support, pay, recruiting, accountability
As with many 3pl, much is based on the account you would be working with / in. Before you accept a position with Ryder at a specific site do as much research on the client Ryder is supporting at that location and the customers involvement.

Ryder is huge on training (or creating the perception), from a legal perspective and also being publicly traded – more... they do ensure to protect themselves by using a program called Stars and Protread (webinar based training) many of the subject matter lacks substance but it covers their needs.

My location ... I will simply say this was by far the worst experience of my managerial career; employees are allowed to continually underachieve with little to no recourse, errors, unprofessional behavior are common place. Ryder is deathly afraid of lawsuits, so they require above and beyound documentation which is not all bad to a degree but the customer expects for accountability and local leadership often times find itself in the middle and attempting to walk a very fine line.

There is no local Human Resource and that does often propose a problem as our HR Generalist resides in another state and supports multiple accounts across the country at one time.

As all of Ryder locations are obviously satellite facilties, as previously stated do as much research about the individual location you are applying too. The relationships within facility as well as with customer, as that will be key to your ultimate success and happiness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Refrigeration Technician / building maintenance (Former Employee), Mount Sterling, OHMarch 26, 2014
Pros: ryder care about there employes
Cons: they run on contracts
RYDER WAS A GREAT PLACE TO WORK ALL THE MANAGEMENT WAS GREAT TO WORK WITH I LEARNED ALOT ABOUT RERIGERATION AND FORKLIFT REPAIR T HE HARDEST PART THERE WAS RUNNING THE WHOLE PLACE BY MYSELF KEEPING UP WITH EVERYTHING AND THE BEST I LIKED IS WHEN MANAGEMENT CAME UP TO ME THANKING ME WHAT AOUTSTANDING JOB I WAS DOING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful place to work
Senior Rental Representative (Current Employee), Hebron, KYMarch 25, 2014
good company to work for, however the job it self is stressful and dissatisfying
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok first job for a diesel mechanic
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), springdale, arMarch 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches once a month for safety
Cons: your never doing good in the companies eyes
I worked on night shift it started at 3 pm and normally ended at 11:30 pm. As soon as I got there usually work that day shift did not want to do was left for night shift. I learned an incredible amount there because anything that was some what complicated or if a drive up came in the boss would come to me with answers after only a few months of being – more... there and remember this was my first diesel mechanic job there was a lot I did not know at the time but Ryder does not have a dead line so if one comes in and it has a major issue get ready to dive into it bc ryder does not keep alot of rentals for sub units especially at the shop I was at I mean we had about 450 units but mostly full service leases and level one which means ryder does not own the truck someone just pays us to fix it and level ones that they want you to fix usually have about 750,000 miles on them lol. So need less to say I learned more than my little mind could handle we had 12 diesel mechanics and 3 fuel/ truck washers but I would also fuel when no one was there or when they were at lunch. I learned how to replace AC systems,transmissions, wheel seals and bearings, drive lines, turbo's, EGR valves and coolers, water pumps, radiators, oil and transmission coolers, fuel injectors, truck seats, power window motors, door locks, ignitions, 5th wheels, coolant reservoirs, and any wiring on a truck that you can imagine I had my hands on it. I learned all that with ryder and much more there is just to much to list about what I learned and I was a T2 making 14.25 hr to start and 2 and a half years later I was making 14.78 hr. I really liked Ryder as a whole they started back like in the 1940's and if they had paid me more I would have stayed with them. My co workers were pretty cool they smoked a little to much but they taught me what I know today. The most difficult part of the job was knowing that you should be making a lot more money than some of the other people there and the best part of the job was that if your a good diesel mechanic for them you have got job security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks
smc (Current Employee), novi, miMarch 24, 2014
Pros: learn a lot about working with others
Cons: too many to write
The accounts are not difficult its management and your peers that makes it challenging. You can't trust anyone and everyone is out for self and doesn't know how to be fair or treat others with respect. If you are part of the in click you get what you want but if you are working hard and don't complain you get walked on and never privy to anything.

Management – more... is a joke. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance and fun team
Sr. Pricing Analyst (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 20, 2014
Always easy to coordinate with family, Managers are very respectful. Job/Responsibilities were not very challenging and pay was lower than average.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company
District Lease Secretary (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 18, 2014
Pros: training, global company
Cons: none i can think of
Everything I learned about working, I learned at Ryder. They were big on education and never denied sending me to any training I wanted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, growth and cross functional training is valued highly
Finance Manager II (Former Employee), Novi, MIMarch 18, 2014
The finance organization at Ryder is solid, with potential for personal and professional growth, a team oriented culture, and supportive management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for power hungry managers
Audit Coordinator (Former Employee), Novi, MIMarch 16, 2014
Pros: short time job
Cons: everything
Every manager at this company is a power hungry moron. This is mainly at the Novi, MI branch.
STAY AWAY. It's great if you want Ryder to make you a Temp employee and then exploit you for how cheap you are in labor. Mostly all of the Freight Bill audit department is now in Nanjing, China and growing. You have little to no job security here. Customers – more... and clients are always changing, so that doesn't help. I've never worked for such incompetent managers and even worse "co-workers". Lean techniques are exercised here, but they are backwards and unreliable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work in
DRIVER (Current Employee), Lumberton, NJMarch 16, 2014
Would recommend any current Commercial driver to obtain a job with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the best job I've had This made me aware of the environmental awareness
merchandise handler/forklift operator (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 16, 2014
Pros: a great environment
Cons: great supervisor
This job I work in for 1 years, this job gave me the ability to be more aware of what it take to be aware of the dangers on the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job
Team Leader (Current Employee), Statham, GAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: free satisfactory gifts
Cons: excellent health benefits
Productive and fun workplace we're you can experience the challenge of it's individuals, and meet daily goals in order to satisfy their means but overall satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast paced
Automotive and Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), PortlandMarch 12, 2014
Pros: room for advancement
Cons: location
Fair company with fair benefits. Managers, and co workers were easy to get along with.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ryder

Ryder System, Inc. is a FORTUNE® 500 provider of leading-edge transportation, logistics and supply chain management solutions. – Read more