Find companies:
Ryder
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
439 reviews

Ryder Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Material Manager (Former Employee), Streetsboro, OHSeptember 12, 2014
Great people and good environment to work. As all warehouse jobs go, the company still needs to implement further changes to boost productivity instead of making mandatory overtime. Management is very helpful along with the other associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Work Place
Billing/Accounting Team Lead (Former Employee), Alpharetta GaSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: on site workout facility, cateferia
Cons: traffic during my drive to work
During a typical work day you would process anywhere from 50-100 invoices for billing. Mentor other associates. Verify billing for quality assurance. Effectively communicate with Ryder shops and management to ensure quality billing to the customer.

Ryder has a wonderful open door policy throughout their management team. My co-workers were like a little – more... family even within other departments.

The hardest part of my day was at times handling new hire training and mentoring of current associates all while maintaining a full account workload. For me this to made this enjoyable as well. There are no to 2 days alike. I enjoyed the diversity both with my job, co-workers, and management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethical and reliable company
Ryder employee (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: tuition reimbursement, benefits, learning and cross training
Cons: travel requirements for career growth
Ryder is a strong and reliable company, there are many long term employees. There is a strong sense of ethics with this company. Some difficulties involve IT infrastructure and manual processes, career growth requires a lot of travel. There are opportunities for growth and personal learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Company
Systems Administrator/Analyst (Current Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: culture and flexibility.
Cons: not much room for growth and low pay.
Ryder is a great company to work for. They just need to review their salary against other companies and allow room for growth for high performing employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to plan retirement with.
Service manager (Former Employee), Waco, TXSeptember 2, 2014
I loved the daily customer interactions, Maintaining 2 shops , 15 employees and Maintaining 368 commerecial vehicles was a proud responsability. focusing on bringing drivers home and customer retention
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for fast pace and fun.
Customer Logistics Manager (Former Employee), Laredo, TXAugust 29, 2014
Pros: health insurance, 401k, lunch once a month on our safety meeting
My typical day was managing operation by checking in with my supervisors and their concerns and need. Then focus on implementation or adjustments of new routes and or procedures. I learned to follow process and generate procedures for upcoming operations as well as teaching my employees the importance of following them. The hardest par of the job was – more... the fast pace, but I still managed to keep a relaxed work place and keep all my employees and customer happy. In my 13 years with the company there was not a dull moment and all my 13 year were enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive and never happy
Lead technician (Current Employee), Lebanon, ILAugust 28, 2014
Pros: payed vacation days and sick days
Cons: hard to deal with custmer
A typical work day for me is I come in and work list that is laid out for me. That have to be done by the end of the day. But have a hard time getting thing done right the first time do to the customer drivers always wanting me to fix something at the last second when they depart and getting back to what I was working on and start all over.Then have – more... the customer always asking when will the truck be done every few minutes. I have learned a lot form getting my hand dirty and figure out how think run. My coworker are fun to work with not bad to deal wither ether. The hardest part about my job is pleasing the customer and everyone else around trying to make everyone happy don't always pan out very good. The most enjoyable about my job is getting to use my brain like on wiring of truck that some people just cant figure out – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a ok job
Dispatch Clerk (Current Employee), tupelo msAugust 26, 2014
its a great place to work. fun environment. wouldnt mind working for this company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance departmant representative
Insurance Department Representative (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GeorgiaAugust 25, 2014
Pros: learning computer skills
Cons: difficulty sitting at a desk all day
I arrived at my desk 20 minutes before 8:00 and I remained there until 4:30. I was responsible for client insurance verification and setting up new customer files. I learned computer skills. Management was not always available. My co-workers were in cubicles. Sitting at my computer was the most difficult part of this job. The most enjoyable part was – more... knowing I learned computer skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and a fun family enviornment
CSC2 (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work was filled answering phones and a lot of data entry, I learned very useful computer skills how to effectively multitask and type multiple words per minute, Management was awesome I have nothing negative to say about management they were understanding and very patient and generous and my coworkers were like not co workers at all – more... they were like my family, the hardest part of the job was the multitasking, and the most enjoyable part was the people and management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A GOOD PLACE TO WORK AND A GOOD BENEFITS
Driver (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 18, 2014
Pros: a good place to work
Cons: healthcare
A typical start at 3:30 pm and end at 3:30 am. I learn that you had to keep up or you stood the chance of the load being late and every load after would be late also. the management on night shifts was excellent and the crew on nights were good as well. The hardest part of the job is when you first start on the job learning the location of each dealer – more... and where the door is to deliver the parts to. The hardest part of the yard work was learning were each trailer had to go and learning the routes and the times required for each trailer. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you were ahead. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Maintenance Associate (Former Employee), Hebron, kyAugust 14, 2014
The best part of the company is people. This is the only company that people became that honest worker and mature about their actions at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Slip Sheet Operator (Former Employee), Morris, ILAugust 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Unload trailer and stage in open aisle. I Learned how to drive a slipsheet truck very well. Worked well management and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucking Industry
Account Representative (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 12, 2014
Pros: it was a newly created position for me in omaha
Cons: healthcare coverage
I met with several clients weekly to discuss their needs and upcoming needs. I would draw up new lease agreements on trucking equipment or completely build a new unit through our computer system and working hand in hand with Freightliner. I always made it a point to touch base with them so they knew that I was truly there for them. I would handle questions – more... regarding billing all the way to settling a dispute on a maintenance issue. Some of my clients were not in Nebraska so I did some overnight travel to them. I really enjoyed the client service that I was able to perform with this position. I believe the product is why they may have tried your company the first time but its the client service they receive afterwards is what makes them loyal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: day shift
Cons: management
Awsome work ares and co-workers .as soon as we finifhed are work our boos would send us home early.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast-paced enviornment.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Rochelle, ILAugust 7, 2014
The work environment is very fast paced. You are pressured to make and maintain rate with very little ramp-up time. You are expected to be at 80% your 2nd week on shift, which is not nearly enough time to learn the system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are ok company to work for
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: learn something from day to day
Over all its a good place to work. I think they need to be more tuff on s.o.p for drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitable Environment
Driver/Delivery Associate (Current Employee), Inglewood, CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: ryder is a reputable company
Cons: no room for growth at the present time
Great comraderie amongst fellow drivers, constant change in rules and regulations, recurring monthly training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Parts Professional/Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Portland, MEAugust 4, 2014
Very little training, poor management, poor retention rate.
After only a month i can already tell why there is a rapid turnover for my position. The average length of employment for my position is about a year. I spend my days trying to keep up with the tasks i am paid to do but have not been trained to do while trying to catch up from the disaster – more... that I was handed due to the poor job my predecessor was doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Contracts Analyst (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: great company
The culture at this Ryder is great. This is an excellent employer.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ryder

Ryder System, Inc. is a FORTUNE® 500 provider of leading-edge transportation, logistics and supply chain management solutions. – Read more